Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Worlds

by Techblogogy - Compo Entry

The Gaming Worlds have collapsed. You must save them my collecting part of the core of the harmony. Enjoy!

This is quite a weird game.

If you have any issues please tell me right away. I will fix them ASAP.
BTW. GNU/Linux version coming soon...

Mac Os X Users MUST allow to run apps download from everywhere
Do to that: Go to Settings -> Security&Privacy -> Allow Apps Downloaded From: Anywhere

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#593Audio2.64
#658Humor2.35
#710Innovation2.92
#846Mood2.59
#975Overall2.76
#996Theme3.15
#1025Graphics2.33
#1071Fun2.38

Comments

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:15am

Can't try it.
I've got a error message saying miss "MSVCP120D.dll"

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:49am

Works here on Windows 8.1.

Platforming felt a bit wonky and there were some glitches here and there and a crash in one of the mazes, but great idea to present all the game on one screen as a selection. Great job.

cutandreil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:16am

It's launching now!
But I've got a crash ingame.
In the 2nd 3D level
While moving, I've got into a wall and then the game crash.

dekkuran says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:12pm

I can't run the app. It has a big no entry sign over it ;(

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Good old early 90s 3D...

Platforming is a bit too floaty for my taste but I like the mix of gameplay styles.

dekkuran says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Hey. I was on mac. I'll give it a try on windows as well!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Man .. you dont know how long im waiting for this weird style of game xD!Also check our project :)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:27pm

I like this quite a bit but there are parts that are unforgiving and a little broken. First thing I was start a level that I couldn't complete and then couldn't leave. Started again tho and had more fun :)

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Mac User: "“LostWorlds” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash."

Tinimations says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Nice idea, though the playability didn't feel as tight as it could have.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Interesting interpretation of the theme! Platforming was a little too floaty, and it would've been nice if I didn't have to switch between WASD and arrow keys.

LexGear says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I tried what you suggested but it still didn't like it.. I have yosemite 10.10 if that means anything?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Good gameplay. I keep seeing artefacts on the screen. Otherwise great job.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:52pm

I got this error message: "Lost Worlds is damaged and cannot be run".

system: OSX 10.10.1

Also, Mac users don't have to change their security settings, you can right-click (ctrl-click) on the App, and then choose open, that'll bypass the security.

dallonf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57pm

I was really impressed by the non-obvious interpretation of the theme, and the combination of the different genres.

Unfortunately, my first impression of the game was with the platforming segments, which are totally broken. I say that not just because of the insanely floaty physics that make it virtually impossible to land on a platform where the enemy is WALKING faster than you can fall, but also the annoying graphical glitch lines that flash between tiles as you move.

The maze game was much better executed, but there wasn't much gameplay to be had there.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:17pm

After the fix it works now for mac :)

Very cool concept, smart use of the theme.

The jumping is way too floaty, sometimes it's pure luck if you'll land on an enemy or not.

alyphen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:47pm

This was quite the unusual game.
OS X version works flawlessly, by the way.
The graphics were a little sub-par - things like edges where they shouldn't be (enemy walk right animation) and images that were drawn in a hurry in MS paint. There were also some odd UX decisions made, and a lot of things (menu navigation, can I destroy the enemies? etc) were not quite as obvious as they should be. It took a while to notice the theme interpretation, but once I did, I was quite impressed - putting all of the levels on the main screen is quite an neat idea. Some of the jumps were pretty tricky, although often it felt like the fault of the floaty gravity, and not of me (the player). Where this really picked up was some of the music: there were some pretty nice beats in here, especially for 48 hours. The menu theme in particular was very impressive.
The Transitioning between platforming and maze mechanics wasn't seamless, but you managed to (just about) pull it off, so well done for that.
This is a pretty decent attempt, and I'll look forward to seeing where you go next Dare.

christopf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16am

The big plus was the mood/music for me. Very catchy and if this wouldn't been i left the game way earlier. The plattforming felt sometimes very hard but also somehow challenging. Connection to the theme is feels like you tried to avoid it but didn't search too long.

But in the end atmosphere is the most important part of a game for me and here you did a good job on this. Keep it up!

christopf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:19am

And i nearly forgot: Man, after this whole adventure of endlessly try again plattforming we get no reward?! :D Something like a little text saying: "The harmony is restored, thanks!" would have make me happy^^

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Overall a good idea, interesting interpretation of the theme. The jumping mechanic is quite annoying though ;)

Jaenis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nice game, playability would have been a bit smoother.
Also I am not a platformer so those were really tricky for me :)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Nice gamplay and level design... Well done^^

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49pm

I really liked the first-person mazes. Reminded me of this old windows 95 screensaver :)

The jump and run levels were hard - especially because of the moon physics.

Nice mix of concepts

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:15pm

I've got an error message saying I'm missing MSVCP120D.dll which I think are some C++ distributables. Do you have a web version?

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Interesting approach on the theme. For the platforming though, the physics might need to be redone, haha. I was floating all over the place :D

HER∆CEK says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Great job. Two games in one. ;)

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Very cool interpretation of "Entire Game on One Screen". Well executed. Cool idea with the combination of a 2D platformer and 3D maze. Hit boxes of the enemies in 2D seem a bit too large and unforgiving. Bit weird that the control scheme changed from arrows to WASD in the 3D sections.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:54pm

works great on 10.10.1. pretty funny and quirky. the 2d levels are very hard.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:15am

Nice overall experience. Can be improved. Thank you for your comment about my game ++

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Love this concept! I Included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/08ofw2klihI

Teesquared says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:27am

Theme was great. For me, the two most frustrating elements of arcade games is lost in maze and wonky platform jumping and your game had both. But I still kept trying. A way to go back to main screen would be nice so that you can try a different a level then come back later.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:29pm

nice use of platforming and 3d.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]