Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One life hero

by komjaur - Compo Entry

Hello this is my second ludum dare.


This is infinity mini dungeon game.


Story:
Character likes potatos.



Use the arrows to move your character and hit enemies.


PLEASE READ BEFORE PLAYING
*best experience u get with .exe version
*.exe have zoomed version
*web player may be laggy.
*like i see in comments that in Chorme it doesnt work
*if web player doesnt work then try .exe or different browser

generator gif.
http://cdn.makeagif.com/media/12-07-2014/EcFk1h.gif

my facebook page https://www.facebook.com/luminapood
and my blog http://lumina123.blogspot.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#498Audio2.82
#518Graphics3.14
#620Mood2.87
#626Humor2.39
#660Fun2.99
#696Overall3.07
#925Innovation2.55
#1005Theme3.13

Comments

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:15am

I'm just getting a blank page on the web link.

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16am

Might just be Google Chrome but your web game will not run and AVG will not allow me to download the game without saying it is a threat to my computer.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

Is the game screen supposed to be tiny? I couldn't work out what was going on

Cody Ward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

I'm just getting a blank page on the web link aswell

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Great dungeon crawler! It reminds me of Dragons Quest that I played as a kid. The music is a little abrasive though. Still, great game!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Web Player is borked, Downloaded the exe and all was good. Had fun playing the game, I think the art is fantastic and the concept is great. Not my pick for combat systems but thats what made it different. Good Work!

ViliX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

For some reason, It won't play on Linux x64, Google Chrome. What's wrong? :/
(on Twitter: @ViliX64)

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

Ahah, the second time I played i ended up locked in a small 5x1 corridor !

Good job however, the game is kind of fun, even if the fog of war is too narrow for me. I liked the music

iMer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

Web worked fine for me.

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

Fun game! Nice atmosphere! A bit tiny in the web player (and I can't run the exe). How do you pick up the health potions (I am assuming they are health potions?).

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

Working in Firefox, not in chrome

fachexot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22am

I really love this game. It is kind of easy. The hardest one was to find the second key [SPOILER] because of the text overlay[/SPOILER] but it was okay. With progress on the right side the game hang up for a second or two when opening a door. And sometimes it gets very slow for a few seconds. But overall a really nice game :)

Mincemeat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:23am

Art was really small, couldn't easily tell what was going on. Other than that, it was awesome.

madhoe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

Had to run it on Mozilla Firefox. I think the game was too small for me: it strained my eyes.

MrSun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

Pretty good! I like the music! The game's pretty repetitive but I think you could make something interesting if you took it further.

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

Liked the visuals! There was this weird part in the beginning where my character was moving by themselves, but that might have just been my bad computer. Also, like the lighting system. Nice!

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

Nice music! First time I died pretty fast. Second time I tried to avoid hitting enemies and got to the fifth area -- I like how it wraps around! Nice lighting.

scias says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29am

The Web version doesn't work, but the Download EXE does.
Anyways, I see one major flaw with this game, and that is that it's super zoomed out, which only makes it hard for me to see what I'm doing, and it seems like a waste when your featured screenshot looks so nice. This could easily have been avoided by simply increasing the resolution.
I personally dislike talking about bugs in reviews, but if you're not aware of it, it needs to be said. I was walking around for a couple of minutes trying to find my way around before i realized the world was randomly generated. There was a seed where i was locked in, unable to fully explore the map. I like the over all feel of this game, kind of reminds me of dwarf fortress, and the music was really great. Good job over all, and good luck!

Fnkee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32am

I'm glad I read your warning about lagging while playing in browser, because that was unbearable! Once I downloaded the exe, on the other hand, it went way better!
Lovely dungeon crawler with a clever looping system (reminds me of the infinity train from Adventure Time). Glad those potions appeared every now and then, or I wouldn't have lasted 3 loops.
I laughed a lot while playing this game. Some of the monsters have really interesting names (euw is better than eune skeleton), and when I loved the last sentence when I died. Nice music as well. Great game!!

glaze_96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Love the the soundtrack!
Great game to play after two days of blindly staring code. Kudos for making a nice level gen! It's awesome that you can use it for future projects.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40am

Web didn't work, so I downloaded. Making that dungeon infinite and also on the same screen was very mindscrewy. Great job with that. Other than that, it was a nice polished roguelike RPG. Could it have used a few more features? Yes. Did it need them? No. All in all, it was a fun game, and I must have played it for at least fifteen minutes. Great audio BTW!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51am

I got an advert...?
Weird.
But hey, the Link works, and the game is great!

OpenGL says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:29am

This is a really big screen !!

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54am

Doesn't work in chrome

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04am

Fun to play and nice sprites.

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33am

wow, roguelike game :D Great generation and graphics, but need more chalenge to player ;]
good job!

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47am

Did get any audio although some people seem to be commenting it's good. Like the gfx, wish they were a bit bigger so I could see them better :-)

ArthurMaker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:22am

Fun!!!

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:40am

Didn't work at chrome, firefox is ok. Infinity dungeon drive me crazy, but I love your pixel art. :P

besieger1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:57am

Clever use of the theme with each section, fun game indeed.

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:33am

Nice! I almost went this route but glad I didn't because mine would have sucked compared to yours. Nice job yo!

dannyhodge says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Web player worked for me. Really enjoyed it, good game :D

gre says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Uncaught TypeError: undefined is not a function

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I'm unable to play it, not working on Google Chrome on Mac OS X

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Greate game, cool grafics, interesting mechanics!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Nice little roguelike game. I like the lighting system and the graphics. The enemy AI could use some work though, they seem to just run into walls sometimes. Overall, good work though.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Got stuck in a black square hole... and when I am in the bottom left of the screen, text is over my playing area... but nice take on the theme !
Music is pretty nice.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Interesting game and concept~ Never ending dungeon... Backtracking would be odd, though

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice artstyle

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Neat music :)

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Good music, cool lighting.

No indication of when ive been hit, or why ive been hit. No real difficulty because you just hold a button until something drops a potion. If I die it has nothing to do with how I played, only how often potions dropped.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Vampire weekend cover! You rock!

karol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13am

A great submission. Reminds me of nethack. I love the dynamic lighting, the pixel art, and gameplay. It's simple, yet very enjoyable. Too bad sound doesn't work in the browser. Also I'm pretty sure it's "hit" and not "hitted".

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:28am

Very nice game, i love random generation

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31am

Liked the audio a lot. It's not common to have such good music in a 48h submission. What did you use to make it?

Coconut Mage says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:10am

Instructions not clear got D*** caught in ceiling fan

egos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:38am

good Dungeon crawler
Not really challenging but the realisation is good
Special mention for the procedural generation in 48H

Omer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:39am

Oh wow I really liked this game! Loved the music too great job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47am

It is amazing that you make it in 48 hours! I like the music and graphics. The random generated map is interesting. If the UI is more polished, it will be a good indie game.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:53am

I agree with everyone else, this is a really cool game. Definitely increase the size of the game. Other than that this ones a keeper!

cyrixd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:36am

Not sure what I'm suppose to be doing in game...

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:18am

Really cool game!

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:40am

Great graphics and concept ! I found it really addictive!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:31am

This was very amusing game. Good job!

mrhill says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:46pm

If you download it for windows it works great, its hard to se if you can or cannot attack something, I walked into 20 guys and won each time without any damage to me. Then I tried the same thing on a skeleton ( I had killed skeletons before by walking into them) and I died. Felt weird to me. Liked the graphics and the audio though :D

brokenbeach says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Interesting take on the theme. I thought it was very cool how the next dungeon would be generated in the dark.

Cute graphics, nice sound, and funny prompts in the corner. Nice entry!

JNyknn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57pm

The game is entertaining, but a bit simple.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Didn't work with FireFox too :(

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:40pm

dont work in Chrome :/

psydack says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Here audio and chrome is working (mac/osx)
Interesting level way.

Odefus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Nice little dungeon crawler. Could use more things to do. Random dungeon generation is cool.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Nice little roguelike. Oh, I've just checked your generator gif and I had to do Innovation++; Really cool idea which is not really obvious when there is fog of war ;) Good job.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I've always been a sucker for games with a good combat log - I loved that part. Would've loved to see some sort of leveling system to make the experience more rewarding!

sirival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Good job there:) Love the retro feeling

recursor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:48pm

The graphics are good but a bit small. Add some more content and this could be a pretty fun game.

elliottd says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:43am

nice work, seems to have a high degree of completeness, though i think the map that was generated for me had no connection to the door the key was for.

yosh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:02am

Simple and efficient! I really enjoyed it!
It's umbelievable how long this game is given the fact it only fits on... one screen.
Good job!

The Jahn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:58am

This was pretty fun. I've got a huge soft-spot for roguelikes. :p

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:41am

I like the tiny artwork! easy to play and quite a welcoming soundtrack. Great job!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:49am

Nice game

Frump says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:30am

72 hours seems like enough time to write out "you" and "your" properly.

komjaur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:55pm

it was 18 hours for me and i went straight making it

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Cool game, lovely graphics and music. I hope you finish it someday!

cyrus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Well made, simple game. But I got stuck after the second level, didn't find the door (even though I got a key).

Verz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:43pm

I liked the hero character hehe, also the shadowing effect of the map. Good job :)

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Nice submission. I like the sound and simple graphics, but found is a bit easy overall. I also wasn't sure what my goal was so after a few minutes of wandering got a bit bored. Solid entry.

Rupert says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:11pm

I liked it. But sometimes the doors seems to spawn behind the wall, is it a bug or can you go through them someway?

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:02am

I like vampire weekend.

2Bit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:43am

Nice game with a cool theme.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:29am

I had fun with this, just barely surviving and hoping the next enemy would drop a health potion. It seems a little easy to walk right by enemies sometimes, without having to engage them, but the relaxing feel was also really nice. Good job!

ssheep says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Great game i loved every bit of it but since it was so good i need to point something bad out and i think many you could lower the potions and maybe it will make it a bit harder

Aniscool9 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:03am

had fun.....but the things are so small on my lappy.........

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:06pm

nice...

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:28pm

lovely game, cool graphics and nice music, well done

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:22am

Nice rogue like game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:15am

awesome - one of my favorite entries - great job

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:34am

Love the pixel art, good sense of dungeon despair.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:53pm

nice start

hoyt hoy says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:41pm

You force the theme, but it's a nice game,
I like this "like-rougue-like" :P
The pixel art is good.

Ossi says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:16am

Very cool game! I really like the randomized layout and the vision restriction to make you feel a little lost in the dungeon. Really simple and effect game, well done!

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Pretty cool. It was nice, the graphics are okay and the music is funny.

I've encountered a wall surrounded door one time (And "lost") xD Maybe a little random generating mess. Not a big deal.

Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]