Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Simple Geometry

by olligobber - Compo Entry

WASD to move. Click to shoot.

The entire game is on the screen right from the beginning. As you destroy your enemy's geometric sides, more enemies emerge from the background.

There is a known bug on Windows where after dying or winning, enemies in the background do not render.

The game can be modded by altering the "levels" file under resources. The first number is the number of levels, for each level write the number of enemies, and for each enemy write the number of sides (1,3,4), color(r,g,b), initial position(x,y), patrol poitions(xa, ya, xb, yb) and speed (0-4 is best).

This is the first game I've made and distributed. Hope to do more!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#491Audio2.83
#604Theme3.57
#696Graphics2.86
#735Innovation2.89
#777Mood2.67
#834Fun2.79
#915Humor1.69
#1025Overall2.68
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

Znurre says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:31am

Seems like a nice idea, unfortunately I don't get past the fourth level as I cannot completely destroy 2 of the objects.
See screenshot: http://znurre.com/~znurre/uploaded/sg_bug.png
Is there a trick to it? :)

olligobber says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:27am

@znurre Try moving around a little bit ;)

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:49am

didnt notice i could shoot at first, was confused why ramming the smaller objects didnt absorb them into me. Sometimes things spawn under you when you clear a level and instakill you too, somewhat annoying when that happens. music was kinda grating, probably would have been better without or with just ambience.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:04pm

I can't play the game! Windows port doesn't work, even if I download the correct dlls!

jepster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Damn, no web or mac :(

Wampus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:40am

Not bad for a first game.

uberscientist says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:19am

Sort of reminded me of Osmos at first, darn shapes spawned into me an killed me good :(

Hempuli says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:45am

Couldn't get it to work :( Windows 7, 32-bit.

Crushenator says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:00am

Cool. Port seemed to work just fine for me.

olligobber says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:02am

Re: Crushenator: its a miracle! I got graphical memory leaks!

olligobber says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:03am

Re: Hempuli: Probably compiled for 64 bit only. Sorry.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:09am

Good idea, addictive :P

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:38am

Worked for me on windows 7, 64 bit. I might have all kinds of weird dev stuff installed though, visual studio, python etc, etc.

I liked the game. I played a few times, I eventually died on the level with the row of squares coming at you from the right and didn't feel like going through all the levels again. (Maybe a timer would help with this, like "can I do it faster than I did before?" or some kind of metric to try and improve next time.. dunno, just brainstorming.)

I liked the music, I thought it set a wonderful mood to the game. I liked having to try and lead the targets, figuring out this timing was fun. Bouncing off the walls surprised me, I wasn't expecting it. At first I thought it was cool, then I felt like maybe I bounced too far? Dunno.

Anyway, well done! I hope you make more. Also, the "linux, source, buggy windows port" made me laugh. It has a wonderful sort of like classical joke rhythm, like beat-beat-punchline. [Haha, ah, here I am over analyzing everything (thanks ludum dare!).]

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:02am

Oh yeah, I was going to mention, the collision detection felt a little unforgiving. My rule of thumb is always give the player a little leeway. "Better to feel like they dodged a bullet then got killed by air."

oranebeast says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:29am

Interesting game. Also when minimized, the click sounds still play, so thats cool.

olligobber says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:39am

Re; nine baobabs: I have a lot of dev stuff, I think it's just my computer handling the game poorly.

Crefossus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:14am

Music gives a great mood. The pace is a bit slow. Everything needs more energy (maybe particle effects, faster movement, more threat, screenshake...whatever juice ?).

I love the level preview..great effective idea! Also there was some positional requirements (must be able to hit the line) with attacking the enemies so that's good too.

Kabukky says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Really great job for a first game. The music stands out for me but the gameplay has potential also - it might be paced little faster. Keep at it! :)

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:34pm

eeee the map draws all the other objects form other leves and draws some werid white squares on all the map D: amking imposibe for me to understand what is going on D: but i started to shoot and i saw the basic concept on the game, great work anyways :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]