Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

At Last, This Will Be Our Final Battle

by Laddo D - Compo Entry

After a grueling 120-hour adventure our heroes eventually find themselves at the final battle! Final Boss has cast a magic spell that will end the world in 5 minutes.

In the 11th hour, will they have the willpower to pull through? Or will the bonds of their friendship fail against the unstoppable rage of Final Boss?

Arrows + Space - select abilities
Space/Left Mouse - advance dialogue

Twitter : https://twitter.com/Laddo_D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#104Graphics3.96
#354Humor2.80
#753Theme3.45
#760Mood2.69
#799Overall2.96
#987Fun2.55
#1133Innovation2.08

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45am

Well it looks nice, kind of slow overall however

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

So close... but the boss will destroy the world in peace

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

Solid game, I too found it a bit slow however. Also at the end, I died and it just sat there! Not sure how to start again or something.

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

Great Idea, The art is delicious! The dialogue is good, the combat system works. Managed to take down the boss with 22seconds to spare. Good Job!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51am

Very nice looking and fun once you get into it. Felt like I had been dropped in the deep end at the star but soon picked it up!

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:52am

My knight died, but I won. It was fun, and a cool idea.

Hicksk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53am

The rage meter could have been an interesting concept and could have a lot of potential, but I only ever saw one attack from the boss guy which seems to negate the point of it.

JayProg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:21am

Really awesome art and animation.

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22am

I love the art here. I'm gonna come back later and really pay attention to the text but right now top marks for presentation.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22am

Knight is useless)) Whitch FTW! Solid entry!

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:23am

Awesome graphics!
Very nice implementation, good job

geartech0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:26am

Unfortunately, this is the type of game that kinda needs background music. Because of that, it felt very empty. Also, not enough skills to use. Finally, this was kind of a cop-out for the theme. All the game on one screen, but i feel you could've done more with the theme. it was ok in my opinion.

fueelin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:37am

Great graphics, except the fireball totally wasn't a fireball :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Was delighted to see a JRPG style game. Pacing is a bit slow, but this was cool.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:37am

I did it! I really like that there's actually some strategy involved. Great use to colors too!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:52pm

The boss destroyed the world in peace. Pretty interesting, but there didn't seem to be a whole lot of strategy.

mahu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:57pm

simple graphics and fluid animation. No music makes it a little boring but the sounds are good; good jrpg battle! =)
nice game

Shampop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

I like the dialogue, I saved the world with 5 seconds left, it was close. And the knight died. But I saved the world.
Nice !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:02pm

When I took the boss down to low health, he stopped using his full power attack and started only doing the low power attack (which targets the highest HP party member). At this point, I pretty much just spammed heal and attack (my wizard died already) and I made more progress than the boss because he wasn't dealing enough damage to kill anyone else (also, he would sometimes still target the dead wizard).

I still lost to the timer, though! Should have picked those menu buttons faster.

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:21am

I saved the world too!Nice!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Yay, we saved the world, with two members dead ^^ background music would add a lot more atmosphere.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Hi there. Like the art style, would like to see smaller battles first - 'cos Boss battle takes forever... just grinding down a massive health bar is boring. Lovely pics and good sounds. Good job!

Halleflux says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Rather difficult, but I found letting the knight die actually helped me a lot, given that the boss dealt more damage if I dealt more damage to it.
Also, it's a tad incomplete, though that's not an issue given the time limit.
The graphics are fantastic, by the way.
Well done!

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:09am

A nice approach to the theme, although I found the text boxes were a bit mis-aligned. Good focus on the visuals and dialogue, and interesting spell variability and "wait" system. Bravo!

daftcube says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:24am

It took two tries, but I killed the evil boss. Very fun game, and the animations were of very high quality.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:51pm

cool game, well done

Mechamew says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:01am

Nice game this is! I really like the animation style and the idea of throwing the player into the final battle of a long quest was a great idea!

lase says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:45am

Cool entry! I like the take on the theme. I also really dig the characters and animation.

Frump says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:48am

Action packed ending! Cool game. I enjoyed it.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:50am

didn't win, :( nice turned based game. only real complaint was that it was kinda hard to see with ability i was highlighted on without reading the text, we slowed me down playing it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:27am

solid - nice animation and graphics - slow pace

Wuhao says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:29am

vivid colours

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:33am

Pretty fun! You made a pretty decent turn-based RPG in a weekend! Took me a while to finally notice all the textfields (especially the textfields), so for about half the battle I wasn't picking up on all the feedback. Nice job though!

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:49am

Cool 2d spline animations for the characters, and good bright colors for the game overall. Needs some transition animations / tweens whenever stats are changing (makes it easier to tell whats going on).

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Hm, a very solid entry. Animations are simply great!

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:35am

Could have used music, but I liked the art and the dialogue :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]