Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Broken Seeing Glass

by Linear - Jam Entry

Game Storyline:

Everyone knows that if you use magic too much,
you spend your life surrounded in an aura of darkness.

Only a seeing glass can SCREEN out the forces of evil
around you. It's a shame yours broke and was scattered
throughout the forest!

Find your old spellbooks and recover the shards of your
seeing glass. But beware... dark things lurk about.

Instructions:

Use WASD to move and the mouse to look around. Space makes your character jump, and the spells listed on the left can be used by pressing the corresponding keys. Spells have a cooldown, so use with care! Press TAB to toggle off the spell listing.

The objective (although unstated) is to collect all of the shards of your magic seeing glass.

Authors:

Aurel Lazar (Programming)
Alex Okoneshnikov (3D Art)
Michael Weber (Sound and Music)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#259Mood(Jam)3.39
#295Innovation(Jam)3.39
#311Audio(Jam)3.19
#448Graphics(Jam)3.38
#468Overall(Jam)3.24
#765Fun(Jam)2.70
#827Theme(Jam)3.13

Comments

apiotrw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Really interesting idea

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:22pm

The woosh skill was an obnoxiously weak defensive maneuver, and jumping even with the jumping boots felt limited. The broken glass vision was an interesting concept to try out, and was implemented well technically, but it didn't really produce an engaging experience for me personally. Along with the limited defensive and avoidance capabilities, it made the experience just frustrating. Though it did effectively produce a mood of danger and near helplessness. I guess that's just not the mood I felt like experiencing right now.

Linear says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:31pm

@Andy: This is our first upload, and unfortunately it is rife with bugs. A list of things you probably experienced, currently on our To-Fix-And-Reupload list:

- Music on the title screen is at full volume for whatever reason after building.

- To our utmost astonishment, the bouncing pumpkin enemies DONT DIE when you cast the Woosh spell on them. They make a satisfying "pop" when you Woosh them into a wall, but only when you run the game from the editor. As soon as we build out the game, they're immortal.

- Moving platform sounds are stuck at full volume regardless of distance to player

- Shards don't seem to propagate state between levels (although all other things do?)

- We've noticed that the game is extremely dark on some peoples' screens. We may have to add a gamma correction setting. Not sure if this falls within the rules of bug fix re-uploads, but it makes the game unplayable when its too dark. Stupid mistake on our part for not testing on different brightnesses.

- We left in a debugging "Spell" =/

- Statue enemies work fine before building, but walk sideways (!) instead of towards the player when we build the game. Arrgh!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:04am

I really like this one! It's visually awesome, and I think it's a good way of representing the theme beyond the obvious. It's awkward to move around and the combat bugs make it frustrating, but I still got pretty far. I really like the seeing glass effect.

Wusakko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:05am

Idea is really nice. Many good elemets: Menu(camera moving), Art, Music.

myachin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:02am

I collected all of shards) is it victory? )
Very nice game... magic and medieval and puzzly like a Hexen. Good job!

Catwheel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:29am

The platforming is a bit difficult. still a few bugs but that aint no thang. I would have liked a "You win" message if you collect all of the shards. Also, making more re-spawn points for if you die, might be an easy way to re-leave the stress of dieing.

Linear says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:30pm

@Catwheel: Yeah, unfortunately, there's no "Win" condition yet, and although we're going to fix a handful more bugs, I feel like adding a "Win" condition is adding functionality. In reality, we just ran out of time, so the game is unfinished =(

But hey, we tried. This was the first Ludum Dare submission for most of us =D

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Здорово! Понравилось

d3garcia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Frame nrate was a bit slow, other than that, was cool

Linear says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Last set of fixes applied:

- Tweaked sound fall-off parameters on things. The horse breaking sounds were only audible from up close.

- Fireball explosion sound was barely audible at all, increased volume.

- Blue hearts restored either 2 or 3 hearts, and if you had less hearts to restore than a blue heart would give, you could heal multiple times before the pickup disappeared. Fixed a glitch in the script causing these strange issues.

- Fixed some hearts bobbing through the ground (raised them up).

- Fixed boots spell disappearing upon level change (although you still had the boots, the HUD just said you didn't).

- Fixed bouncing enemies seeing the player only behind them.

- Fixed bouncing enemies dying when hitting the ground instead of having to be splattered on walls.

- Fixed seeing around the spike pit into the skybox in second level.

- Fixed disabled particle effect on teleporter to next level.

- Fixed ability to see into skybox near teleporter to next level.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Nice idea.

Nekith says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:44pm

I staied stuck in th first room after having killed the legged tomato. I couldn't use the boots and the doors would'nt open.
The "open" view window is really small, and as I didn't find the other parts it remained that small.
The idea of having a part of the screen that has a different render is cool. In fact, first I was thinking that it was a kind of periferical magic vision where you can see demons, and only there. And to shoot them in the "real" world you should do it a bit blindly : you can't see them when you look directly at them.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:49pm

It is kinda creppy and i love it :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:52pm

great zelda-like feel. love the different spell types. interesting concept.

Linear says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:11pm

@Nekith: That's a nice idea we didn't think about! You can see certain things outside the Seeing Glass--mostly fog and light coronas, but having an enemy you could only see in the peripheral vision would have been cool.

As for the room with the Boots: basically, the boots just allow you to jump higher (and jump over spike pits, as a result). To get out of the room, you have to Woosh the crate inside the room onto one of the two switches, then stand on the other switch, and the door will open, allowing you to return to the previous area.

Thanks!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:08am

i like the atmosphere of this, and i thought the effect was pretty cool, although it started to hurt my eyes (though i did spend all day at work on the Oculus so that probably didn't help)

Erhune says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:35am

The concept is interesting, but I couldn't get very far because I'm totally unable to play any FPS game without inverted Y axis. The mood of your game seemed pretty solid though, and the result quite polished. I was impressed by the "broken view" effect, looked really good!

esaygin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:45am

Its too Hardwarehungry to play it on my Lenovo T400 over 5 fps =( I couldnt find a Pause-Menu

nokusu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:11am

Nicely done :) the concept, art and music are all good, though it would help for this sort of gameplay to have an options menu (the mouse sensitivity felt a bit high to me) other than that good job !

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:19pm

So frustrating to have to look through a tiny screen! Once I figured out how everything worked, this was pretty cool. I think the colours are too faded, they don't really feel engaging.

I got stabbed by a statue and died...

MintArcade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Nice idea indeed. Interesting use of theme.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:25am

Very great mood on this game. I wish this spell names & lifebar dont take so much space on my already too small glass. I almost completed my glass but could not reach the end because of the lack of spawn points

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:59pm

nice idea

ynots says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:33pm

nice..

jlouisB says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Nice, the game probably needs to be a bit more polished, but I like it, especially the concept, the atmosphere, the music.

jachepe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Interesting idea, I love it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]