Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Like A Boss (Battle) !

by Pickens Inc. - Jam Entry

*Update 2* Forgot to eliminate Space Bar being the testing 'Kill the Boss' button XD I'm an idiot.

*Update* The turning glitch was a bug, and there was a typo on the damage the Heathen Wizard takes being one decimal to big! Patcherinoed.

The Wizard Heathen has decided to go Rogue and use his powers for personal gain! His dastardly abilities allow him to manipulate the earth itself and rain it down upon his enemies! And it is you, noble Knight, who must smite him!
Good Luck!

F4 to Toggle Fullscreen!
This is something I really hope to expand on in the future, and I hope you guys have as much fun playing it as I did making it :D

-Taha

Please note that I'm afraid that this game is Windows Only... I think.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#397Fun(Jam)3.19
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#543Humor(Jam)2.52
#681Theme(Jam)3.35
#693Mood(Jam)2.77
#715Overall(Jam)2.97
#795Graphics(Jam)2.61

Comments

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43am

Game isn't too involving. If I just hold block not much happens to me. It's very frustrating that I can't turn around when my back is against a wall. The art is okay and the premise is VERY interesting.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:45am

Nice game! it reminds me to megaman boss battles!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52am

Thank you for playing anyway, Asa. Tomorrow I will fix the turning issue,
but I must disagree with the lack of involvement - hanging back will not damage him while you'll get crushed and nuked haha.

Thank you for the praise, Jupitron, MM was my main influence!

CharlesK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:02am

Simple. Fun. But for me it was too easy. I could quickly kill the wizard with one or two ranged shots. I like the idea of dynamic terrain. Good job!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:36am

Thank you! I have since updated it, as I realized he took too much damage due to a typo by me, and that the turning issue Asaratha mentioned was a bug that has since been fixed. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Nice game, well executed and fits the theme! Quite charming graphics as well!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Thanks, Windmill! I'm surprised people like the graphics, I can't draw to save my life!

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Very colorful. Good Job.

Biliogadafr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:02pm

It feels for me like old school boss battle. Like the name said.:) ANd it is fun to play :)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Thank you, both of you!

ajayajayaj says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:23am

Cool game. I just spammed all of the buttons.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:28am

Quite challenging in a way that made me want to keep trying. After a few rounds, I managed to find a spot where the wizard stopped jumping and only shot spells at me. (Still didn't win!)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:33am

Thanks! And yeah, through rigorous testing I discovered that, in rare cases, the Heathen Wizard finds himself stuck, not sure why, but I'll do my best to patch it!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:48am

I enjoyed it, but I would inevitably get crushed under a bunch of rubble and be unable to move because of the four-foot walls of nukes around me. I also feel the boss might be too resilient. But I'm a sucker for Megaman style boss fights. (After all, my game is fourteen of them in a row, lol)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:32am

Thank you for the feedback! I've been trying to balance the Heathen Wizard best I can, maybe I've made him too hard? I need to work on it some more.

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:55pm

With some optimization it will be much greater!Keep up!

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:05am

I found it a bit frustrating that I couldn't destroy blocks with my attacks, so I'd often be helpless and held hostage to the environment, watching blocks descend and there being nothing I could do do dodge them.

If I could destroy blocks, I'd have a lot more agency in how I fought the battle. I like the set-up for the battle, though. It's pretty cool.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:35am

Thanks, both of you! I actually realized a bug where the flare doesn't actually destroy blocks (which it was intended to) so yeah, oops! Sorry about that, I don't tend to use it, crappy beta tester is what I am! Patched!

Cosine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:07pm

It could be that I just got done playing Cave Story, but I had a hard time adjusting to the controls, and I wasn't really able to get into the game. Cool idea though! I just wish I was better at it.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:22am

Nice game

rjhunter says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:38am

I tried running the game on Mac OS X using Wine, and it worked! No audio, though, which was a shame.

The game itself was quite fun (although *way* too hard for me). I'd like to see a post-compo version of this with sound and music, and maybe progressive levels (the terrain gets modified less at the start of the game, ramping up to the crazy levels it is now).

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:44am

Challenging, but a fun game!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:38am

RJHunter, that's surprising, but not in a bad way! The audio isn't really impressive right now due to colossal lag when explosions happen, so I'm porting the game into GMStudio. I will definitely take what you have said into account, and thanks TeamQuadratic and Sublustris!

efux says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Nice game. For the controls: The zxc commands always feel a little bit weird for me on a qwertz keyboard, keep this in mind when programming a game. Not everybody has the same keyboard layout. Good job!

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:40am

So cute graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]