Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Alfred Bonzo

by oxysoft - Jam Entry

In the year 2040, computer screen viruses that are transferred from other wifi-enabled computer screens began to appear.

You play as Alfred Bonzo, a specialized anti-virus software for computer screens. You must protect the chipset of your computer screen for as long as you can but also protect yourself. The game must remain on your screen at all cost!


Controls:

Arrows - moving around
Z - Groundpound

note: the transitions have been removed because they were causing some issues

Credits:

Oxysoft (programming + art + sound effects)
Nicolas CV (music)

Post your score in the comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#423Audio(Jam)2.92
#563Humor(Jam)2.47
#632Fun(Jam)2.88
#662Graphics(Jam)2.93
#699Innovation(Jam)2.74
#754Theme(Jam)3.24
#804Mood(Jam)2.60
#844Overall(Jam)2.78
#1631Coolness42%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

Gameplay was fun, and things got out of hand quick. Music is cool too :)

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Simple but fun good job! Also frustrating, which can be a good thing, I'm not friends with the bugs, wish I could shot them :)

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Interesting concept! Indeed, things got out of hand fast, haha :D

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:17pm

I got deaded. =( I am very bad at this game, but I love the music!

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:28am

Very good game. A simple concept, well put together with solid mechanics. Difficult, but enjoyable anyway.

Alic Szecsei says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:02am

Neat game, nice controls. I liked only being able to use an AOE attack, and the way in which to die was pretty interesting.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Great presentation on the main game screen. Vignettes make the world go 'round.

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Simple, but fun :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:41am

There were a few bugs that showed up after a couple of attempts, and eventually it just went to a black screen and stopped. Not bad, though with the limited single action and the cooldown on it, it felt like I didn't have any real options, and it was more just a matter of time until I died. It was still a good game, despite that, and I really liked the theme interpretation.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:05am

This game was very strange. I had a lot trouble getting it to load in the first place. I eventually worked in firefox, but only after a few minutes of loading. There was no loading screen to indicate that it was doing so. I also managed to break the game, after surviving for about 30 seconds, no more enemies spawned, and the game sort of just kept going on forever. I waited for the music to stop, but the game just kept going so I eventually committed suicide. I also had some severe framerate issues in firefox when a lot of enemies were on screen.

The art style for this game is confusing. The in game art looks nice for being very simple low res pixel art, however this clashes a lot with the title screen art, which makes the player character look like a potato. The enemies looked pretty good for only being a few pixels, and the play field was clearly indicated. It might have been a little too low res though since it wasn't actually clear what the player or the thing that the player was protecting is. The music was also a little strange since it sounded like someone recording a midi keyboard. It didn't really fit the computerized theme of the game that much, and was otherwise a little repetitive.

The gameplay itself was pretty fun, I was trying to strategize how to maintain the chipset in center position by allowing certain enemies to hit it before it broke. I could see this game being a lot of fun if the major issues were fixed, and maybe some more enemies were added. I also like how the attack affected the chipset so that you could move it around quickly if you needed.

Overall, this game was fun in a really weird way and I have a feeling that's what you were going for. In the future, you should go back and try to fix major issues that prevent the game from working (this is allowed post-submission under the LD rules). Hope you come back and make another game with us!

oxysoft says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Dang, that is pretty in-depth. As you may have noticed, the game is not very cooperative under firefox. It wasn't tested in that browser to begin with. Not much I can do anyway since the code is compiled Dart to javascript, so it's partly up to Dart2js to make code that works everywhere.

The music was indeed played on an electric organ. He couldn't be in his studio however so the song was recorded with his phone, so you can kind of hear his little brothers in the background from time to time. It was all played in one go as well, so no input quantize or anything.

p.s: I knew I had seen the name "Nick Weihs" somewhere; MegaPunch from Ludum Dare 27 was really a cool game for something made in a game jam, especially since it's multiplayer. I even watched the artist's stream a bit the hour before the jam began.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I really enjoyed the music playing in the background, though the actual game sounds were a bit too loud in contrast.

It took me a little bit to figure out that I was defending the box/area rather than trying to move it around. There was also a glitch after you lose where the game seems to get stuck somewhere between the game over screen transition. It happened twice out of like 6 replays... so it wasn't just a minor inconvenience since it happened fairly often.

The movement was clean and I liked how things reacted to the ground pound move. Though I felt very limited very quickly with that attack since the enemies pour in really fast.

The art was also nice and simple, easy to distinguish things from each other. Though the giant grid bars surrounding the main tile confuse me, and seem somewhat unnecessary since you never travel out of your main area.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]