Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Approaching Grace

by Sam Oates Games - Compo Entry

Survive waves of mobs and try and get the highest score.

If playing single player keyboard and mouse controls both characters. You can plug in a controller and the controller will control one character and the keyboard and mouse will control the other.

The art is inspired by The Binding of Isacc. I have never player that game but I recently watched a documentary which has its creator in and I liked the art style.

To create this project the following tools were used:

Unity3D 4.6 Pro
Fireworks CS6
Audacity
70cl of 'The Famous Grouse' whisky
An 8 pack of 'Dolce Gusto: Cappuccino'

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#49Audio3.86
#277Graphics3.54
#356Mood3.16
#360Overall3.39
#379Fun3.27
#433Humor2.67
#528Theme3.62
#952Innovation2.50

Comments

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00am

Didn't work for me on Chrome!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31am

@alvarop Works for me (Chrome Version 39.0.2171.71 m).
Make sure you allow the Unity plugin when it pops up.
Also make sure you have the latest Unity webplayer version installed.

Or use a good browser ;) I suggest Firefox, or download one of the several other builds available.

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:43am

The music blends in well with gameplay

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48am

Didn't work for me on chrome either (it didn't even ask for the unity plugin in the first place), but it worked fine in the windows downloaded version.

I like the gameplay, the sounds and graphics are funny (not bad though), I just wish enemies wouldn't spawn right next to my people instant-hitting them so often. XD

seledorn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48am

Feels like a very high quality game! But doesn't add much to the overcrowded genre of dungeon crawlers.

ps: Works fine in chrome with the unity plugin enabled!

Phask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:49am

Awesome music and very well fitting sound effects for the game. Really liked that theme!

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:51am

Ah, this is MUCH nicer on the psyche than The Binding of Isaac :).

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54am

Fun game and good music that blends well.

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:56am

I love the music. Shifts the mood well between and during battles. Really fun game, too!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57am

I like the addition of second character and controlling them both at the same time is a cool mechanic. Also pretty big assortment of enemies. But overall it lacks some variability. Great music, btw

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:12am

86580!! Really well made! The sound is a really really nice touch, well done! I especially like the obstacles of the tombstones and the two player avatars, really adds tension when they get split up. Interesting mechanics!

Logun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20am

Firstly I was "Srsly, just a binding of isaac game with one room ?" and then, I replay 4 time reaching level 14 at the best ^^

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:54pm

"Psew psew psew" is awesome!
Mages are OP =(

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Super fun game! Love the music, and gameplay is super fun. The mechanic of having both characters move at once adds a unique challenge. Super awesome work!

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Didn't start up. I'm on Chrome, Windows 7 64Bit.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Its fun to play with both characters at the same time.
Nice graphics, I like Isaac too :D

hadesfury says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Score : 16650
Great Idea

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:01pm

nice graphics and animations, the gameplay is simple and intuitive. Lacks of sound and music makes it a bit boring. And that mage is a pain in the ass! =) nice game
Why is there a sound toggle button? There is no sound at all

Indiestry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Not sure if I missed it, but you should propably add an readme so the player doesn´t have to figure out the controls by himself.

acerunox says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:06pm

My highscore was 47286. Great audio. I really like the idea of controlling two characters at once.

MaesK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Great music! Specially at the start of every round. You can feel Isaac's influence here, nice work!

Dyn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Feel the inspiration by BoI
Nice idea.

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Nice bgm and sound effect! "Hallelujahhh" made me laugh so hard.

So it needs joystick to control the other player?

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Nice music, interesting mechanics wrt moving two people at once and tombstones being obstacles.

sirival says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Nice! Very nice graphics, music and controls. This is very similar to my game too :D

XenosNS says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Nice variation of Isaac!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Awesome music,good graphics! :) Check my tower defense too x)

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Nice graphics and awesome music! I was a bit worried that i lost the guy, but :O

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28pm

im a fan of Isaac game and i love you graphics too ;]
so sweety music +
but seems unfair, when a enemies spawn in you position ;)
nice one!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I love the music/sound effects and the music ques are effectively dramatic. Its weird to have two characters but I find it fun dealing with the issues that ensue. It plays really well and feels very complete. Good show!

sam101 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Nice action shooter game ! I really really liked the music and the Binding of Isaac feeling and the fact that you control two people.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Like the music and the co-op!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Cute graphics, reminds me a lot of The Binding of Isaac

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01am

that was a really cool game and I like the art style. Music is good too.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:06pm

The music was a lot of fun. Playing alone was a bit harsh, but I could listen to the music and continue playing and the flow was nice, so there's that.

Zimennik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I just love this music!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:51pm

awesome game! :D I love it

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Hi there. Lol @ Dolce Gusto tool... yer I used Americano and Mocha... Really like the music, very Dusk-til-Dawn, crossed with El Mariachi... Lovely graphics. Liked the Hallelujah on resurrection. Good job!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:53am

Nicely done! The tombstones providing temporary collision actually influenced the gameplay more than I expected (having 2 characters actually influenced it less than I expected, but is still a very cool twist). It's frustrating to have enemies spawn on my or instantly shooting me. Otherwise, this plays super smoothly, and the graphics and audio combine for a great experience!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Nice game. Reminds me of Binding of Issac :p. I like how the dead enemies get converted into graves.

I think the speed of player movement and higher level enemy bullets are not quite balanced. The later over run the former making it quite hard to dodge.

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Fun game!, I'm a fan of Binding of Isaac so I appreciate the art style. Having two players to worry about while having crosses of dead enemies prevent their movement was interesting and fun; also Satan OP needs nerf

recursor says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:26pm

The game did feel a bit like Isaac but still I did like having 2 people to control/protect. I also like the ability to change their formation by getting one stuck on the crosses and moving the other one a bit. Add in some sound effects, weapon types, power-ups, etc and you have a nice little game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]