Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SCREEN HEAD

by NickZangus - Jam Entry

The story of an old monitor that rebels to humans and makes an office
massacre! A third person survival kill everything that moves!

*IMPORTANT NOTES*
I originally wanted to submit the game to the COMPO, but the amount
of work required me to submit it to the JAM... However, I've followed
the COMPO rules, so I worked alone and all the contents were created
in 72 hours (except for some audio files).

*...THE END?*
Unfortunately I have not had time to implement an end to the game...
So the only purpose to be achieved is to massacre all!

*THEME*
I tried to use the theme in an indirect way, not as a technical limitation.
The game is indeed the story of "One Screen"!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#6Humor(Jam)4.31
#25Overall(Jam)4.07
#26Fun(Jam)3.99
#58Graphics(Jam)4.40
#91Innovation(Jam)3.83
#126Mood(Jam)3.66
#192Theme(Jam)3.90
#236Audio(Jam)3.35

Comments

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42am

Heheheh, nice. Some clipping and camera issues, but love how it feels, otherwise. Great work!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:00am

I like your interpretation of the theme. Super neat graphics, gameplay is somewhat repetative, but still ok. A little bit of music in background also would be good

Lissaring says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:01am

This was great! Remind me never to betray a monitor.

brogrammers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04am

super fun and well polished!

maxyan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:11am

Brilliant, game has a lot of fun. But aiming is difficult a bit.

talecrafter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:14am

Wow. All that polished content in three days. Excellent.
Just one minor critique: I would have liked to destroy all those flatscreens. I know, they are not responsible for my own demise, the people in suits are, but nonetheless, they, too, should not remain unscathed. ;)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:15am

Perfect game, my favorite so far amongst all the LD entries. Polished, fun! I loved it. I was so impressed to see you did this by yourself. You sir have a lot of talent. Kudos!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:18am

Great game, overall! Nice graphics and, of course - a creative use of staplers.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:22am

Nice one, i love the idea^^.

xlash86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:30am

Awesome game! Lacks some music, but other than that, a lot of fun!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:31am

Great entry. I'm worried I can give you more than one star on Theme because you are using a moving camera that, IMO, is not allowed fro that jam.

NickZangus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21pm

@Pulsartronic I tried to use the theme in an indirect way, not as a technical limitation. The game is based indeed "on One Screen"!

eusekerci says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33pm

humor hype! :D

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Awesome game. I loved the concept, loved the setting. Innovative take, loved third person. This is the first of the games in the Jam where I had to sit through a commercial, that I felt was worth the wait. My favorite weapon was stapler. I loved how adding the jump from head to head, really adds to the game. I wish the ending was a bit more, maybe at least escaping the office. The play on the theme was awesome! LOL I would have liked interacting with environment, maybe knocking stuff over to slow enemies. Great, polished game in so short a time.

Toki Anholmes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37pm

It's hilarious ! Well done.

Jaloko says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:38pm

A really great quality game. Love how the theme was incorporated! I had the most fun using the people who had staplers as their weapons :D

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Best Game Ever ! (there is a wall at the end, did I miss something ?)

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Very nice and funny entry! I really like the concept and it's presentation and how the employees look at you the whole time!

I think that camera should be the responsible for player's rotation, using the WASD keys just for strafing and walking.

I think that the "switching body" mechanic is very cool but should be restricted a bit, because at this stage, by switching over and over you are pretty much invincible :D Of course it gets you to the endgame more slowly, but still!

Great job indeed, looking forward to see a PostDare version!

NickZangus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:49pm

@Maurogik Thanks! There had to be the exit door, but I did not have time to put it!

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54pm

The gameplay is really fun and the graphics are great. Aiming is a bit difficult and I think you should be punished for jumping from person to person too quickly, but I had a lot of fun playing it! Also, the stapler is OP as hell.

Tokw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Great game liked your take on the theme even if it doesn't fit. very good graphics.

rainshapes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Very cool concept! I liked the graphics as well. Unfortunately I wasn't able to play a lot of it because WASD or arrow keys to move didn't work - the character just kept moving in a direction that related to the camera but it was difficult to see what he was doing.

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Wow! Excellent job with all the content! The controls felt a little slow, but I loved the concept. ONE SCREEN TO RULE THEM ALL.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01pm

I had a good laugh, it works pretty well, love the switching body mechanic ! Great job man !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:04pm

This one is LOL, and really well done. Nice graphics, funny game mechanics. Congrats!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Awesome game. Just got to that wall in the end and thought "What now?" and then I remembered I had some baddies left behind, so I just went for the slaughter.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Very nice concept! I like how you've interpreted the theme! Love the Audio and graphics! gameplay is solid! Awesome job

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Awesome game, it was so fun, I love it!
And the graphics are really good.
Great job! :D

vogon101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Amazing game

victorljs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Nice idea. I liked the graphics.

Kim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55pm

This was pretty epic. The stapler-guy was OP :D Awesome graphics. Sick twisted game. Loved it!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Interesting approach on the theme!, ahaha I love the character, and the 3d models the environment is soo nice really gives it an office vibe. Very polished game!

Bardikus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Very cool idea, but not really respecting the theme

KeeperofBee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Used a stapler to kill co-workers. 5/5.

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Awesome idea, epic animations and really neat graphics. Your interpretation of the theme doesn't seem valid for me, but anyway, great game!

ShadowBrain says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Nice game! Feels super polished and nice, but it gets sorta repetitive, I think it's the amount of time you spend just clicking. Great work overall though! :)

MurrayL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:30pm

A hilarious concept, and the end result looks brilliant.

I hope you develop this further!

ThatsMyJam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Awesome work for such a short period of time!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:46pm

I love switching bodies.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:32pm

This Game is Awesome. I want More from you

GarethIW says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Nice implementation of the theme. Well done.

-C

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:08pm

hahaha very good. interesting interpretation of the theme like the different weapon types and its all around great. best smacking sound. the body switching is a little OP

Namide says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09pm

very amusing, I like this jokes

CullenCoyote says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Probably the most polished entry I have played yet. The graphics are simple and sweet, the ambient sounds were convincing, the gameplay was a little slow-paced but wonderful and hilarious! Good jorb!

Meral says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:16am

Thank god we have flat screens now and this can't happen anymore, right? RIGHT?

I don't have to tell you that this is probably one of the best entries. I managed to shoot staples trough a wall, but who can point on things like that in a 72 hour game?

I liked the subtle but very provocative message about recycling. :P

bitserum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:18am

Well done, i liked the stapler gun haha :)
Wish the character moved faster

RedPanda says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25am

Awesome stuff! Loved it! Would be awesome if you made post-compo version!

AmyDee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:01am

Silly fun with just enough depth to not be 100% mindless :D Great job. I encountered a bug at the end where I couldn't complete because one of the guys lost his bounding box and became invincible/stationary. (Played on OSX Yosemite in Safari.)

https://33.media.tumblr.com/9450df612c47b69e00d1b8bf21817831/tumblr_ngcg8rzZnH1qb5qopo1_1280.png

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:10pm

lol nice concept. its a fun game overall

Forge says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Awesome little game. A stapler never felt so powerful :)

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:39pm

This is just SO COOL :D

Granted, my first thought was: "Oh man, as if working in a cubicle all day wasn't bad enough, now we have to worry about outdated technology killing us?" :D

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Heh. This game is one of the best at this LD. Nicely done! All 5!

ponk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Beautiful and funnnyyyyyy ... ! :)
Great work on the animation and the polish.
Impressive entry !

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Hahahahah this game is awesome! Great job!

oscalbal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:54pm

Good one :). My only criticism is that the character moves I little too slow. I think the game would benefit from being faster.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Wow. Creative game! Very polished, very fun! What a humor!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Hahaha, that is an original and interesting idea! I like the concept of the game, and gameplay is quite fun! The graphics are very polished too. I found it a little too easy though, and controls could be improved.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:33pm

Old good unltra violence. Cute graphics, fun idea. So sad that there no final expirience (boss, for example). Without it game feels not holistically. Also I can suggest to change A and D controls for strafe and rotate avatar with camera rotation. This is common and comfortable way for moving in games this genre.

jhrrsn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Haha, nice. I wish you could back away from the hordes of office employees while blasting them with staples, but yeah you did great!

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:57pm

haha, cooool :p
always wanted to do that xD

pcmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:24pm

AWESOME! For me 100%, you grasped it right, the presentation is cool, congratulations!

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:28pm

HAHAHAHAHA thats hilarious
nice sense of humor and its quite polished overall ^^

pd: the stapler guy is so op

Mase says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:42pm

I think I reached a dead end... ah I see you didn't have time.
Great use of the theme. Graphics are charming as well.
The body-swapping can be repeated too quickly. Maybe if it only worked on weakened enemies it would be balanced... though if the game is supposed to make me feel like an unstoppable screen of death it succeeded. Good job.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Laughed from start to end, perfect interpretation of the theme :D

christopf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:49pm

You hit the mood of a buro-box-buro very good. The controls aren't so good imo, i struggled often with the rotation of the hero. If i move the mouse the camera if following from behind but if walk backward it doesn't change. i would have liked a camera thats fixed on the back of the head. Well you ran out of time but something like "You did you job well" or something after killing all would be cool. Something that's saying it's over.
Overall a funny game with a well hit mood

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:00pm

excelent, 5 stars :D

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:19pm

WOW! This is my favourite entry! Keep going with it!
I love the usage of stapler! Would love to see more office weapon :D I like how you handled with small amount of time, , like square heads that still looks great etc. So nice! It would be helpfull to have possibility to run! I feel so relaxed playing it after work.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:20pm

best game ever

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:15am

This was great! Wish it had some music, a proper ending and an invert mouse option. But I totally understand that this already took a lot of work to finish in 72 hours.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:38am

Clever and funny idea. The graphics and audio really sold the absurdity of it all. great job!

RadStar says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:03am

Fun and beautiful game! I had some hard time with control though, making it hard to aime with the stapler. Anyway, original use of the theme!

Warboys says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:20am

Fun premise and I love the switching dudes mechanic. Could take it a lot of places with more enemy types. Good stuff!

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:40am

Innovative, nice graphics, but the gameplay is a little bit repetitive and easy.
Very nice job!

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:56am

This game was pretty creative and original. It was definitely fun to play with all the different types of attacks and the jumping from human to human mechanic! Great job!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:24pm

The game is very simplistic, of course, but it's executed well. The art style was remarkably effective and there are a lot of nice touches like the office worker's expressions. Well done!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Innovative use of the theme! Fun art style and really polished overall, impressive given the time constraints.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:29am

I think you cheated a little with the theme (the "entire game") but I like that. I wish I had thought outside the screen! A very good game!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:04am

Reminds me a little of space station silicon valley for the N64. If you've never played it you should! This game was amazing. My favorite of LD so far. The first possession I literally laughed out loud and got really excited!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Really funny game! Nice graphics as well! I Included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/08ofw2klihI

redoxkun says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:45am

It's a shame that you don't have time to make the end of the game. For the rest, an excellent and very funny game. Enjoyed a lot!

MaesK says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Great graphics and gameplay! A bit slow but funny :D Staplers look too powerful, but they are great to play. Much more effective than simply slapping. Nice work!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Loved this. Great fun, nice idea, well implemented. Excellent work!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Amazing and funny game! Maybe a bit slow sometimes, but great. The switching of bodies is exploitable, you can just stand still and change bodies and everyone will die.
Too bad you didn't have time for an end screen or something.

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Great game!! Really entertaining, hope to see more updates! :)

flyingbear says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Fantastic! One of the funniest games I've ever played, jam or otherwise. The expressions of the office workers is golden. Perfect use of the theme too.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:54am

Haha very funny approach. I see similarities to "Hatred" ^^ I really liked the throwing-screen-head attack. With music and different goals it would make a great game. Well done :)

waxwire says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:58pm

awesome ! your aproach of the theme is funny, and this idea is super fun. the game has acceptable graphics and the gameplay is simple and i had a fun time playing it.great job

sirdorius says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Haha, this is so funny! Stapler = OP

TheExGenesis says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Pretty fun xD

Venturelli says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:55am

Best entry so far. Really impressed that you did this all by yourself :O

Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Psst - You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTZt-x7a0CQ

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Dude! Fantastic concept, well executed, immaculately polished, the only real problem is that it doesn't really have much game in it - as in if you just screen hop all the time you're basically invincible. No challenge... But that can be easily fixed, right? RIGHT?? *whips out staple gun*

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Haha, great. Hilarious game, loved the parasite-esque feel of it. The soundscapes were pretty nice, but kind of repetitive. The graphical style was pretty cool. The pacing was a little slow, but I guess that's kind of how business works. Some of the AI was a little bit slow too - if someone sees someone with a monitor head over the other side of the room, they continue to stare blankly into space until you're a bit closer.
Maybe a little too easy, I cleared it first try, and there weren't any deviations in path.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:33pm

This is awesome! Hilarious gory fun. The concept is great, the graphics fit very well. In my opinion, your interpretation of the theme is completely appropriate! My one problem is that the controls somehow don't seem to work that well...I often felt like I was fighting them and trying to aim my character in the right direction. Maybe I'm too used to DOOM and such...Great job, though!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:42pm

I like the crazy idea!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Really fun, a serial killer screen :). The gameplay is cool, I like the graphics. Sad there is not any end. Also the character is a bit slow. Congrats !

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Hilarious entry, well done. The stapler is by far my favourite idea for a shooting weapon ever. :)

Madball says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Great detail level! I had much fun playing it. It wasn't too easy. You can add more things, like picking up different weapons, but I have some suggestions aside from new features: 1) Make people start attack you when you shoot them from a large distance. 2) Make the player keep the health of previous owner of a body (If you damage someone and posses him, you should have less health) 3) Make jumping target a person in the direction you're facing.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:12am

Nice concept, but it did get borign after a bit. Neat game!

NPException says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Really great concept! I hope that this evolves into a full game some day :D

taviandir says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Hahahahaha this game is hilarious :D
I feel like I HAVE TO link this music video if you don't already know about it, "Slagsmålsklubben - Snälla TV PLZ": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3C_DoHe2qw Having that music video on while playing makes the game even better :'D

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:13pm

love it. very impressive creating all from scratch

Jazff says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I made a gameplay video of this game so now I have to spammity spam it everywhere!
http://youtu.be/Kj1qoQ_0Jno

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Great entry. Very nice swinging animation and i liked the controls. The head-jump-to-another-char is a very cool idea. Started to think that this mechanism could bring very much variety for a game. Jumping could mean you control a vehicle or an animal. Of course this would mean adding tons of content... but the idea is worth developing further.

Liked a lot.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

the controls are a bit awkward (mostly because the mouse control the camera but not the way you are facing i guess) and there is no proper ending, which I find a bit disappointing. I went back to check I hadn't missed someone, but no...

On the other end it's a pretty refreshing use of the theme and the graphics and audio are top-notch. Good job!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Really fun idea, found killing office workers and taking over their bodies quite challenging. I wish the aiming was done with the mouse instead of the player's rotation, that would make controlling and moving much more easier to manage.

Also did reach a point where I couldn't continue, and one of the enemies just froze in place with no collision.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]