Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Broadenlands

by Wolve - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#6Mood(Jam)4.30
#6Overall(Jam)4.28
#10Audio(Jam)4.23
#10Theme(Jam)4.49
#32Graphics(Jam)4.51
#34Innovation(Jam)4.07
#55Fun(Jam)3.84
#56Humor(Jam)3.84

Comments

chibiFlux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:20am

The game doesn't seem to run for me, when clicking on the "Play!"-button at Newsgrounds, nothing happens.

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Really cool game, I enjoyed it.

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Really nice graphics and mood, we enjoyed it ! ^^ Kinda remind me of adventure time ;)

Sadly I could not figure what to do when I was asked to grab an object :/

Looked for 5mins then gave up :(

Really loved how clean it is =)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:46pm

Interesting game, it's actually quite cute. I like the part where his bedroom changes into his imagination land! really quite cool! good entry!

virtualtoy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Simply amazing!

Jaenis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Great game, nice adventure :) Really enjoyed it

spotco says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:35am

Really cute art (and an incredible amount of polish in terms of animation/etc). Got kinda stuck for a bit on the "grab planks to fill the gap" puzzle. Also enjoyed that ending song more than I should have :P

spotco says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:36am

Really cute art (and an incredible amount of polish in terms of animation/etc). A few noticeable spelling errors though.
Got kinda stuck for a bit on the "grab planks to fill the gap" puzzle. Also enjoyed that ending song more than I should have :P

Saturnyn says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:14am

I reached the end :)
Not a lot of things to do but extremely cute and well polished, great audio, and nice take on the theme. Very well done !

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Art and music are top notch!

Venturelli says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Simply amazing. Thank you

Madball says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Wow, this is the best theme interpretation I've seen. This really looks like a finished game. I liked hands hinting at the exit - finished games usually have this kind of stuff to help people complete it even if they are stuck.

5you says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Probably my favourite game so far ! Even if it's a bit simple, it's such a nice little adventure ! And the music is just perfect ! Nice work, good concept !

NPException says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:33pm

I really enjoyed this one :)

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Really cool game. I love the take on the theme. And great choice of music.

Aske says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Wow! Really really well use of the theme! Good story. Im must say!

Absor says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:44pm

Very nice game. Needs some work on the texts and music got really loud at one point. Otherwise excellent. Good job!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:53pm

So cute! Playing as a kid who plays inside its own imagination world, I think this is a great idea. Even more if it has this nice graphic style, which fits really well with the theme here. Congrats! :)

Kuupu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Nice game, I saw that toy story ball <3
Really a interesting theme, I played a lot of games that tried to do something like this, but yours is the better one

Krisjet says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Very cool entry. Love what you did with the theme, and the premise was very interesting, nice little story to it.

yanisvieilly says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I really enjoyed this game. The art is beautiful, the music is great, and I love the way the bedroom changes into different enchanting worlds. Amazing!

rubna says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:06pm

very cool idea!! loved it!

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Fantastic. Was hooked till the end.

PeerPlay says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Wolve, such a cute game! I totally loved the story! Vey cool mechanic to switch to fantasy world by walking around the bed! :) The ending was so adorable! He's a good boy, he will learn! Thanks Bear!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:19pm

OMIGOSH too cute dude

Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:35pm

In every regard, this one is a purrfect entry, far beyond my expectations.

Kardfogú of Creative Sectors, out.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:38am

One of the best games I've played. Definitely the best use of the theme I've seen. I know the visuals and story line aren't everyone's style, but I thought they were great.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Lovely game that explores this side of the childhood is sometimes forgotten (the transition into other interests). I think the concept could easily be done further into a full game that would be nice :)

My only drawback is that the dog bark didn't mix well and it often was quite annoying. Besides that, good job.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Awesome graphics and gameplay! Really well done!

Rose says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Amazing! It was very easy but so cute and unique. The costume seems like a reference to Where The Wild Things Are - very nice. The mechanic of going around the bed is a great interpretation of the theme and I enjoyed all the environments (such as the different interpretation of the ball/snowball/skull). Keep up the good work! My only recommendation is that you get someone to help you proofread the dialogue since there are a lot of spelling and grammar errors.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:26pm

The most unusual and interesting theme implementation I've seen for now. And a game about childhood. And nice graphics. And I like the word "broaderlands" very much. Good luck to you, thanks for this game.

zillix says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:06am

Absolutely fantastic! The story is adorable, the gameplay is simple, and the graphics are great. I really loved the transitions between scenes. Great work :)

Eddy93 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Great work, although the game was easy, I enjoyed it very much. The story is adorable

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:21am

Really imaginative game. I liked seeing what all the objects would turn into upon entering the next scene. I felt like that mechanic wasn't fully realized yet but you did good for the time that you had. I also kinda wished that the exploration was little but more open ended but I under stand that's harder to do in the 72 hour time space.

-AlucardX60

Sanguine says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:50pm

This was so cute! Such a lovely story, thanks for this :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]