Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

WASD The Heck?

by Dream Of Sleeping - Compo Entry

This game contains the F word so if that offends you don't play.

Control the W, A, S, and the D all at the time time. Try and pick up their corresponding blue letters. Don't hit the spikes which grow closer with every second.

It's javascript so source code is available on the game page.

I've had a terrible time. Everything that could go wrong seemed to go wrong, and now I'm trying to uninstall malware thanks to Fileziller instead of fixing these bugs.

There are some nasty intermittent bugs that haven't managed to fix. Which is very frustrating as the logic of the game should be so simple. So if the pickups appear underneath you and it kills you, that is a bug. If suddenly there aren't enough pickups on the screen that is also a bug. Most of the time it works fine though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#229Innovation3.62
#330Fun3.33
#539Humor2.50
#644Theme3.54
#657Overall3.10
#842Audio2.11
#984Mood2.38
#1073Graphics2.21

Comments

Broivula says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Wow! I like the original idea and the fun mechanics! It would've been better if the game would end only if you touched the walls! This way it's a tad too hard, in my opinon. Well done game, though!

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very good concept and VERY hard/addicting!

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Very neat mechanics - enjoyed the multitasking element very much. Co-ordinating between those keys is super hard!

Watching them drift was nice and relaxing (until of course you realize where they're drifting.

Might be interesting if you offer a random start position mode (for the letters you control).

And then there's the option that I'd love to see which would be customization of which keys you use and how many keys you have to control (minimum 4 of course).

My best score was 5.

Thanks for making this!

swedishbacon says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:24pm

This game is intense! :)
Nice!

ming_tea says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:05pm

This is actually pretty great, and I chuckled every time I got WASD the Fuck??!! Which was a lot.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:34pm

This game has very good concept, very good gameplay,! :)
but it's hard(or I'm bad :< )

The Jahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Really difficult, but definitely an interesting concept. Like Broivula said, it'd be nice if you only died when you touched the walls/wrong letters.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Wow this was tough! Cool idea though, demanding and fun.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Very original, and brutally difficult, if you're as completely multi-tasking impaired as I am :P

Todnut says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Had trouble getting it to load. Had to refresh several times. And then didn't figure out how to get it to play.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Holy crap that's hard! Fun mechanic, but it's hard to keep track of which letter is where. you might want to make W always select the left most, D the right most, etc. Just an idea.

harley77 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:39pm

My brain hurts. Awesome concept and execution.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:54am

Really like the concept, I definitely think you're on to something there. Feels like it could work well on a touch screen too.

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:36pm

This is really cool!! I love the mechanics. It almost feels like an arcadey rts in the way that you have to manage all of these differen parts simultaneously. Very cool!!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Hi there. OK so thought was easy as didn't read all instructions... but hidden controlling of all 4 things... that's harder. Nice idea. Like the gameplay- though I wasn't any good at it. Good job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:52pm

Challenging game! well done. I Included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/-qEX6yeW8uQ

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:29am

Very cool! I like it a lot, and I really want to see what you do with it next! I think the endless version you have here is maybe too hard to really get into (at least for me), maybe you could have separate puzzles/levels. But I'm sure plenty of people will like this version if you polish it a little.

psychonull says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Good idea, very challenging!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Thtat WASD hard! I really liked the original concept, it is extremely hard but addicting :)

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Hahahah... that is horrible. Absolutely horrible. Took me 10 minutes to clear one screen. Horrible. Also brilliant. It really reminded my of the old C64/ZX Spectrum games - I kinda wish it had a grating and annoying 8-bit tune to go along with it!

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Damn original gameplay.

++ for using Phaser.js :)

Would have loved some more BG music and maybe a slower difficulty increase?

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I see what you did there!
This is one of those rare moments in games where you think "wooaaaah!!!! so that's what's going on!"
And then you screw up.... T.T

Keep up the good work!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Oh and i answered your comment!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Multitask nightmare. Nice idea. I am not too good at these kind of games.

vekjeft says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Damn that's hard, original concept. Enjoyed the simple, but effective graphics.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Really innovative and simple to grasp, definitely a test of multitasking abilities! Awesome stuff :)

srakowski says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:53am

At first I was a little confused, I thought it was way to easy. After I realized the W A S & D don't stop this game got INTENSE! Really awesome game, way to go!

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:13am

This is kinda fun, a little slow paced, but that's not a bad thing necessarily. Reminds me of Snake on the old Nokia phones.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:14am

Snake was actually a big influence on this game. When I heard the theme was one screen it made me think of snake. And I wanted to come up with a game that had an original concept that was very simple without any polish.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:41pm

I couldn't seem to run the game.

It begins to load, then a junk of the screen turns white whilst the loading screen is still being displayed, then it freezes.

Sounded pretty fun though :)

akhilnivarthi says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice one

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:18am

Surprisingly hard! Fun, though, and nice idea.

orion_black says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:47am

It seems not many people around here are fond of execution heavy kind of games. I liked it, the only issue is that you can get screwed by the random placement of the 'objectives'.

Random speculation, but I have the feeling it would easier to pick up for a lot of people if you were to use 1324 or even QWER instead of WASD.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]