Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Atomic Space Vikings

by AtomicVikings - Jam Entry

Atomic Space Vikings

This is Atomic Vikings’ 4th ludum dare entry!

This one is called: “Atomic Space Vikings”.

In this real time strategy game you must harvest asteroids to earn credits.
Said credits will provide you with the ability to build units.
These units can then fight against the enemy and ultimately bring down their station.

You can build different ships:

Harvester - This ship can only mine asteroids for valuables. This ship has no guns and thus is completely defenseless.

Frigate - Your basic fighter, equipped with a standard issue PewPewLazer™ 2000.

Cruiser - This hunk of metal features a pretty sizable cannon to shoot down enemies at medium range

Carrier - This ship causes destruction everywhere it goes. Equipped with a PewPewLazer™ 9000 and a PewPewLazer™ 3000, this ship can blow enemy ships to pieces from afar, while putting up a defense against close range ships.
This ship is the only ship that is able to destroy the enemy station.

Controls:
1-4 = build harvester, frigate, cruiser, carrier.
c = removing the last added order from the factory order list if the order is not already in production

The rest of the controls are pretty much standard RTS controls:

Left click a unit selects it.
Left click and drag, then release to select multiple units.
With SHIFT or CONTROL held down you can select multiple units by clicking on them. Every unit you click adds to the selection.
With a unit selected, right click to assign them to move to that position.
Units attack automagically, but you can always give them a specific target by right clicking an enemy

When a unit is selected, you will notice a red circle around the unit, this circle indicates the range of the unit’s weapons.

Game is written from scratch in Java. We have used libGdx as OpenGL library.

Enjoy! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Overall(Jam)4.22
#10Fun(Jam)4.13
#47Audio(Jam)3.96
#103Mood(Jam)3.74
#140Graphics(Jam)4.07
#201Theme(Jam)3.89
#328Innovation(Jam)3.31
#543Humor(Jam)2.52
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

RedPanda says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:16am

You guys rock!

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21am

Good job

Punio85 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21am

nice one ;)

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:06am

Really cool. I'll try again now that I know I need a carrier to destroy the enemy mother ship :)

hazarman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18am

I cannot seem to open the file to play it after downloading :( looks nice though

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22am

ehh... it's too big for my monitor, can you make one that's either resizable or smaller? IDK I guess it's after submission. Looks good though and I wish I could play.

uchiro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56am

A complete strategy for Ludum Dare is cool.

I think you need to consider the situation. I waited a long time that I have accumulated 5000. My frigates are not allowed to leave even if they had money.
And I'm about two minutes looking at the accumulation of money, ship construction and destruction of the base.

But I liked the game. You are cool.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50am

Very cool game. I like the style of the graphics.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:01am

Nice game. :) Also check our project -- P.S cute graphics x)

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:10am

Great entry guys! I beat the AI silly but I don't understand how to actually finish the match

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13am

Great game! I really loved to play it! Well done guys!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:20am

To finish the game you have to destroy the enemy factory. This is only possible with a carrier.

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:44am

Really cool game

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53am

Well done. :)

arg-games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53am

Great to see another strategy game entry! :)

Had fun playing it, even though the game was too big for my laptop and not resizable. Some interactions could use a little visual feedback (like a harvest-click on a rock). And the move-target for the units could be rendered on top of everything else, so it's always visible.

Had fun watching the Carrier crush everything! :D And love the trail particle effects. :)

Cheers

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:56am

A really good game, maybe a bit slow, but I played on easy mode, so it is expected.
Really good mood.
Here is my playthrough: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27flhiwwomc

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00am

This game looks great! I really need to get better at RTS games.

muramasa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:05am

It's a beautiful game. I love these games. I like the atmosphere, and the theme, and the way things are. I would like to see a later version of this.
Overall this game is great, but in terms of innovation it lacks a little. It's the only thing! Because the game is lovely and I enjoyed playing it (on the easiest since I am the worst at playing games).

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:33am

This game is pretty damn fun to play! Music is great, graphics are great, gameplay is great... One thing I didn't like, though, is how, one you destroy the enemy harvesters, the game gets a bit too easy. Since the enemies can no longer generate money, they aren't able to create any more ships and the game becomes really dull and boring. You probably could have made it so that the money will slowly increase whether you have harvesters harvesting money or not. But nonetheless great game.

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Really great game! Suffered from vulnerability to the 'zerg rush' problem, but it was a great idea to make the carrier the only ship capable of taking down stations.

Good design, and I'm surprised you were able to flesh it out so completely in so little time!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25pm

@all: we fixed the zerg rush problem, we considered it gamebreaking, it is still possible, but now it requires more effort

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Timelaps of our development is coming soon...Still downloading everything. If you want to stay in contact with us please follow us on twitter: @atomicvikings

efux says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:02pm

One of my favourite entries so far. Very complete! 5 out of 5!

zompi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Yaay, I won on easy mode :D I'm so awesome. And this game is awesome - full powered RTS. This is something I wouldn't expect.
I made a huge army and put enemy to his base. And then Carrier has arrived! Whoa, this game is awesome, I bow before you for it.

Warboys says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18am

Great game, seriously. Really fun stuff. The only issue I have (which is what a lot of others have been saying) is that only the Carrier can kill the base which means you have to wait ages even if you've already effectively won the game. Letting everyone attack the base would open up a lot more strategies

oranebeast says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:39am

Best. LD. Game. EVER!

drnick says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:06am

So interesting to see a RTS in LD!
It is also interesting to see that apparently all team members cooperated in the making of the game, even surprisingly there was more than one guy doing programming.

olligobber says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:23am

Awesome

Aru Nyan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Unplayable as well, too big for my screen.

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:02pm

wowzers! this is one of the best entries I've seen this time round! art is awesome, sound is awesome, gameplay seems balanced. Are you sure you only did this over one weekend? Color me beyond impressed. My only complaint is it's not an overly clever play on the theme. Awesome work guys!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:12pm

nice little strategy game, well done

Gins says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Wow that was really impressive, and I'm not really a fan of strategy games but this was really well made! Congratulations on this!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Really fun game, great entry. :)

cabezotta says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Great entry! i really enjoy strategy games!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:10pm

It was hard to build the carrier, but I made it! Nice game, the music really fits in, reminds me of Starcraft :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Love this game. It was a lot of fun ganging up my ships on them. Very polished.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:22pm

I built three carriers. There is no enemy now. Only space dust. Good.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice entry. Graphics looks really solid and space is .. vast. Coll strategy, take me a while to figure out tactics, but overall it's a fine game.

Sutivu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Nice strategy game, balanced gameplay and awsome soundtrack :). The Hp barr of our own ships we will more recognizable if they were green tho :)

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:53pm

This was awesome. Loved the music, graphical style, and kept me occupied for ages. Kind of surprised you didn't do a GWT-based version, since you were using libgdx, but it doesn't detract from the game itself at all. With a bit more expansion (multiple galaxies or something?) and maybe online multiplayer, this could definitely become something sellable.

flouiz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:10pm

The graphics are really cool, the vessels do not really out of the ordinary but they are good. The game reminds me of the mobile game Mothership. Anyway on a weekend with all that has to do is good work :P

Zayron says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:01pm

This was a lot of fun!

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Great game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]