Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

boop beep

by dlowe - Jam Entry

BOOP BEEP

Jump, shoot, dodge, collect the boops, defeat the boss!

This is a straightforward platform shooter. It should be pretty easy to beat in a single sitting. For more of a challenge, try to beat it without dying :)

I started from the question: "what would you need to do to make a classic platformer with no scrolling?" and came up with: a platform landscape that shifts over time, with slowly ramping difficulty. So that's what I built! I can't claim that it's particularly innovative (borrows lots of elements from "robot wants..." games, mario games, sonic games, and so on)... but I hope you'll find it entertaining!

KNOWN BUG: I'm aware of one bug, which is that occasionally (perhaps 1 in 30 games) the boss clips outside the arena, rendering the game unwinnable. I haven't been able to isolate the behavior, sorry.

The code is pure javascript, written from scratch without a framework. It's not very efficient, but it seems to run well in both Firefox and Chrome on my computer (but not Safari, and almost certainly not IE :/). It wants to run at 850x736; use your browser's "zoom" functionality if that doesn't fit your window.

I used http://www.drumbot.com/projects/sequence/ to make the drum loop (and yes, it is supposed to sound like that! ;)), cfxr for effects, and aseprite for the graphics.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#408Humor(Jam)2.75
#476Audio(Jam)2.78
#552Theme(Jam)3.50
#604Fun(Jam)2.92
#626Graphics(Jam)3.03
#631Overall(Jam)3.06
#733Mood(Jam)2.71
#781Innovation(Jam)2.58
#1605Coolness44%

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:37pm

cute platformer, well done

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Cute little platformer. I think you should mention controls somewhere, I had to find the shoot key myself.

Maybe the character should have a jetpack or something to reach top of the level. right now best way to get up quickly is kill yourself and hope you spawn up, because climbing is hassle with these jump physics.

Mixer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39am

I entirely second the idea of a jetpack. That would tripple the awesomness :D Good platformer, but I think it needed more player content (powerups or somthing) Good game though!

dlowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

Jetpack is a good idea, thanks. Maybe in v2 ;)

hbirler says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

An interesting platformer, the control's are a bit hard and you have no idea what you are doing and that doesn't turn out to be so bad.

borgi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:41am

Music is a bit repetitive for me :D After a while I felt like the whole world is there to kill me :D Cool game, good job!

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:42am

You should improve the level design, it's too random.

karol says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59am

You won but you died 54 times. It would be cool to have the number of deaths displayed during the game so that I would know that minimizing that number is one of the goals. At some point I started using deaths as a means to get to remote places. For some reason while you can move left/right with A and D, you cannot jump with W. It took me a moment to realize I can instead use the arrows. It annoyed me a bit that the player character accelerates so slowly. It wasn't obvious that after collecting all the boops the boss would appear. I'm glad I managed to get the last few of them. I like the idea of the terrain constantly changing around you. I think it adds a lot to the gameplay. Overall I had a lot of fun playing the game, and I wish there was more of it.

Vaclav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Nice dynamic stuff. Is that boss an integrated circuit (IC)? Cool.

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Nice audio, I would like to have a more responsive controller. So the character stops when I lift the keyboard. But other than that, great job!

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:02am

Contrtols feel pretty solid. One thing I noticed is that if you hold jump you can continue unless you do a move or collide in between, maybe that was intentional? But I feel like holding jump and continuing to jump would be neat. I also like the speed of it. Physics on the bouncing 2d elements look nice. This would feel great on something like iCade. Anyway, nice work.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:12am

the pickups were really hard to see for me for whatever reason, so it took me a bit to figure out what was going on.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17am

Cool twist for a platformer, being only in 1 screen. Good job! :)

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:24am

A nice and solid little platformer.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59am

Mentioning the controls (and a mute toggle) would be nice. I had to find 'X' to shoot as well. Also 'A' and 'D' move left and right, but 'W' does not jump for some reason.

The game seemed to get laggy near the end and it became quite difficult to find platforms to jump on to reach the boss. With how easily you die, the other enemies and hazards could probably be disabled in the boss phase without hurting the experience.

Demy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:27am

Random map generation looks nice and adds some fun. When you're collecting last dots you feel a little bored but then this big thing appears and adds some dynamics. Nice set of enemies.
I didn't get is there any ending and how to enteract with the boss (?), so this part is a little bit confusing.

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:57am

it is not bad at all .... it is not the best i tried but not bad definitely ... it works well on linux using chrome ... it should have a technical rating !!! i would give you 5 stars there :D ... javascript from scratch :) good for you !!!!!!!

BroCade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:41pm

nice game!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:57pm

graphics are pretty cute as well as it is pretty fun. doesn't seem to have an ending though. just goes on forever even when you collect everything :P. Overall its pretty good :D.

gene-z says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Well Done guy ,, good game

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Good idea for a platformer. The game is addictive. Good job!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:57pm

well done, maybe the physics need to be less heavy to make the controls better.
Items are graphically a bit confusing, i don't know what is dangerous or helpful.

Marcellus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:17am

well polished platformer, good entry

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Cool game. Solid gameplay, although it feels a little 'heavy'. I like the cute pixel art as well.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 9:33pm

The jump physics really felt unnatural in the beginning, but I actually learned them in the end. Made it through to the boss without knowing about the laser, then I realized there needed to be something more. I agree that jetpack would be nice. Maybe add laser and jetpack as upgrades throughout the game?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]