Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Gungeon

by kaype - Jam Entry

I decided to enter just for the hell of it.

This game is a basic dungeon crawler that doesn't use scrolling, I tried to stick to the theme as best as I could.

Some backstory:
You are a guy who just so happens to be near a mysterious staircase leading to a basement and a gun. You take the gun and walk down there to see what's up. You then come to discover that there are enemies down there who despise you. Might as well put your gun to good use!

The average gameplay time is around 7-10 minutes and is considered to be fairly difficult. When you die (the exception being the final boss battle) you have to start over entirely. If you are easily raged I don't recommend giving this a try. :)

Have fun with this, and tell me your thoughts!

Requires Java 7 or higher.

The source code is under the MIT Public License, so go ahead and mess around with it if you want. I must warn you that it is horribly written though.

EDIT: God damn it right as I release this a game called "Enter The Gungeon" comes out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#297Fun(Jam)3.32
#300Graphics(Jam)3.68
#324Audio(Jam)3.17
#358Overall(Jam)3.37
#466Mood(Jam)3.07
#781Innovation(Jam)2.58
#945Theme(Jam)2.68
#2075Coolness26%

Comments

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Nice color pallete ^.^

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:43am

nice entry. this is something id love to see made into something full.

khahem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:20am

Pretty fun, clean design, nice light effect. Took me a few tries but I finished it.

I was a bit confused by the green blob though, they don't seem to do anything, am I missing something ?

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42am

Nice game. I can't kill the slimes, is this a bug?

kaype says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50am

The slimes are really just there for decoration. :P

I would've done something with them earlier, but I didn't have enough time to actually give them their own AI and what-not.

I might remove them later if you guys want.

Thanks for the feedback!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Great art, sound and colour palette. It is really consistent. The controls are also super responsive, really no complaints here. Well done!

Robber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:56pm

superb arcade feel, are those fbi operatives ?

qristofer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Very fun and nice looking game.

atombrot says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Very nice game overall. I like the art style and the background music adds a nice atmosphere to the game. Enjoyed playing, but I sucked at it XD

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:14am

Cute game! love the art!

Legiion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:52pm

nicely done but the hitboxes could use some improvement

personalurban says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:08pm

I couldnt actually kill anything, but I think that is my skill rather than anything else! Strong work, enjoyed it

OttersDen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:58am

The graphics and sounds went along nicely together. Game is hard, though!

Sanguine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Interesting game, I suggest looking up '30 tiny tricks to make your action game feel better' by Jan Willem Nijman to add some sweet juiciness to the game.

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Cool stuff here, but I think the full restart might be a bit too harsh for an LD. I wanted to see more of your game but I didn't want to re-do the start over and over.

I loved the graphics feel and the character was pretty tight to control, nice work. I played a decent bit and had fun but I would have gone all the way if I could have restarted the same room, or back one room, or something.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I like graphics and sfx. The game become hard too soon. Anyway the game is fun and challenging enough to entice you to go forward.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]