Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ahoy!

by Impmaster - Jam Entry

EDIT: Remember, it's R to restart

Hey all. This my game Ahoy! I was planning to submit it under the compo rules, but I had to study for a test, and decided to just submit it today. It's under Jam rules now, so I guess I should've taken advantage of the Jam limitations. :/

I know the game doesn't fit well with the theme. Originally, I chose to make the game about an adventure in one screen. I wanted to evoke a feeling of surprise of the depth of the adventure that happened all in one screen. Of course, evoking feelings is hard with game design, and I got stuck on too many little mechanics and glitches.

Anyways, the game is pretty simple. It's a game where you have to dodge pirates in order to reach the "Island of Angels". (which is actually a huge X because I was using programmer art, and never switched to real art because studying for my test took more time than expected) (I hope i did well on my test :O) Use the compass to lead you to the island.

The game was made in game maker, and was my first game in game maker, although ive made a few other games in other engines. I think that it's a decent game for a few minutes, but I seem to have a lack of imagination, as most of my games are more or less the same.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#623Humor(Jam)2.35
#855Mood(Jam)2.47
#943Graphics(Jam)1.95
#980Innovation(Jam)1.89
#994Fun(Jam)2.05
#1021Overall(Jam)2.15
#2075Coolness26%

Comments

Mossy Frog says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Good entry :) I liked the movement, felt like actauly floating around on the sea. You might want to try add a restart button when your killed so you don't have to close and re-open it. There should be a way in game maker to make the background of your sprites transparent so you don't get that white box. Overall good job :)

Impmaster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Oh sorry, I forgot to write that R is how to restart. Also, thanks about the movement, I spent way too much time working on that.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:04am

The game wasn't really that much fun, but I guess for a first entry it was pretty good. Keep trying to create games and you'll become better and better!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:10pm

still very interesting gameplay, eventhough I didn't play for long I did have fun. Goodjob!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:17am

Liked the way you were able to use the compass to navigate to the goal and with some great art this would be a nice start to a speed pirating treasure hunt game, understandable you didn't get time though because of the studying for test.

VDZ says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Though I occasionally see people I've given 1-star ratings in the past go on to make 4- or 5-star-worthy entries, it's rare to see the opposite happening. Normally I'd offer some constructive criticism in this comment, but I'm pretty sure you already have a good idea of what's wrong with this game.

Impmaster says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Yeah I know what's wrong with the game. I'm a little confused by your comment though. Did you mean that my previous games were 4 or 5 star entries, and this is a one?

VDZ says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 9:13am

I haven't played your other games, but your LD27 entry '10 Squared' got a solid 5 from me. I was looking through my previous votes to see if there's any creators whose new games I should check out, so yeah, I was a bit disappointed here. This game got a 1 due to simply not being any fun in any way.

Impmaster says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Yeah I spent a lot more time learning how to code in Game Maker than making the game I wanted to. It's nice to know people liked my other game though! <3

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]