Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Watch your head!

by StejkRobot - Jam Entry

Watch your head! Get to the top befor the time runs out to ensure your safety to the next layer!

A lot of the time wen't into creating engine which the game runs on which meant that the gameplay was left a bit unpolished but it was a great learning experience and hopefully next time we will be able to have a more polished game.


Controles:

Move - Direction Keys
Jump - Spacebar

Programming by:
https://twitter.com/SoraTheProgramm

Art and animation by:
https://twitter.com/stejkrobot
https://www.youtube.com/stejkrobot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Graphics(Jam)4.24
#209Theme(Jam)3.88
#437Mood(Jam)3.13
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#650Overall(Jam)3.04
#668Fun(Jam)2.84
#1461Coolness47%

Comments

Azlen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:26am

Any mac builds? this game looks interesting!

Hempuli says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:30am

32-bit Windows 7 tells me I don't have sufficient rights to run the installer :O

5you says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:34am

It's pretty good but a bit unprecise. There is a nice way to make such a game : you create a map version of the room from a perfect top down view and it's not visible, then you build the actual visible room using the coordinates from the map.

gnat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:36am

LINUX

Sora says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:45am

Apparently only 1 person really been able to play it so far. (Sora the programmer btw), I will be creating releases for other operating systems (Mac, Linux) at a later point, though I have Uni full time so won't be able to do it till probably earliest next weekend. Everything has been coded in c++ from scratch so there is no easy way to just compile for the other OSs.

for windows 7, I will be looking into that later today and try to find the reason and a fix for you.

Sora says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46am

Note for windows 7 - you might want to try right clicking the installer and clicking run as administrator

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08am

Got stuck (like, physically, not on a puzzle!) on the second level, but the graphics are super slick! Wish I could zoom in a bit more to appreciate them.

rsergiu2003 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:01pm

mac build please !!!

Madball says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Drawings are great, but graphics are really weird. Player is always on the first layer, even if he is behind a wall. Shadow, which is supposed to be exactly on the tile I'm above, is somewhere on its edge, making me guess which block I'm actually on. Thus, controlling yourself if difficult, you don't know where you are and will you land safely or not. Crushing animation is not showing up, I only get some lag and smoke. And whatever is supposed to be center is a bit on the right.
Also, I couldn't find any key. I mean, there's "press any key" text if you die, and I couldn't find anything to press to proceed.
I'm afraid it isn't supposed to happen normally. Oh, your main screenshot actually has the same problem: shadow offset.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:23pm

It looks beautiful. The jump mechanic and the fact that the character in not rendered behind terrain makes it hard to know where you are in space.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:15pm

the installer didn't install any thing...

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53pm

The graphics look nice but sadly i can't beat level 2 because of randomlie dying and press any key dosent work. It was also hard for me to gues on which block i will land.
But i also made a isometric game ones and know how hard hight is ;)

Sora says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:34am

@GameDevExtreme the installer installs the game (by default) to your user folder, that is to say in most cases "C:\Users\'Username'\Watch your head! 1.0\" - if it is not there send me a message on twitter and I will send you an alternative link

farwyler says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:15am

Great idea, but there might be a little bug with the shadow of the charakter? I think I see him even when he is behing an object. Makes it pretty hard to play

cxsquared says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:58am

Amazing graphics. I wish the controls were a little tighter and better. Overall a great game

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:23am

Really cool art, interesting idea, really liked it!
The controls were on a floaty side, but it kinda gives it an impression of lower gravitation

hoqjed says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:42pm

I liked the visuals of the game, the isometric clean style is very appealing. But I think the game has some definite kinks that hold it back from being straightforward to play.

First is the character positioning and the shadow. Shadows, normally when used in this manner, help the player understand their location in the world space. But here they end up making it more complicated to figure out as the shadow tends to show even if another platform should be covering it. It also may be somewhat off-centered, and the player seems to get off-centered also... which doesn't help. Those problems make it really difficult to figure out what tile you're on... which is something that is really vital to this kind of game.

Aside from that, I think the world's transition animation wasn't playing correctly for me... as the transition wasn't like it is in the gif in the game's images. It sort of pops in, like the game skipped some frames in the transition or something.

I liked the approach to the visuals and what this could have been. It seems like this game just needs a couple of bugs fixed so that those graphical problems don't happen with the player's shadow and and whatnot.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:06am

Looking at the game again, I think some of the issues come from the elevation of the game. So when you go up a level, it offsets the player/shadow position oddly. That, in addition to being able to see the player/shadow when you're behind blocks.... causes a lot of visual misinformation.

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Good work, the art is impressive!

Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:18am

Reelly cool graphism, but clunky isometric rendering when jumping. Pretty interesting jump controlling overall

Poupi says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:47am

Nice work :)

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:38am

nice osm game

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

Nice graphics!

Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:57pm

this was pretty enjoyable. the movement feels a bit odd though and at times i dont know where i am landing. good entry :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]