Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lumberninjack [unfinished]

by Orava - Jam Entry

Hold LMB and wiggle mouse to cut, hold RMB to move left/right.

Unfinished.

Around 12h spent on it during the whole weekend because lazy. No win or lose condition. More of a tech demo for some cutting action.

Opted out of all ratings because not finished. Comments still welcome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

Grehg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Definitely some cool tech. Slicing objects has always been interesting to me. It didn't seem like the mouse swipe matched what happened on screen though.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Mouse controls for both moving and cutting was weird. Maybe it would be better for keyboard + mouse?

pht59x says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:30am

I couldn't make it work beyond zooming in.

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:03pm

swipe swipe swipe swipe swipe swipe!!

snapman_GT says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:00am

Are the cuts pre-made? If they are dynamic and you could have synced them to mouse movements, it would have been more satisfying.

Orava says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:59pm

@snapman Cuts can be made along any line techwise, but I chose to make it random for reasons that never became relevant because it's unfinished.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Good effort

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:37am

Neat idea. I like the animation for the cutting - and the programming you did for that is really neat.

When I move the mouse though, it seems like the cuts are really random. And either the camera zooming in is a bug, or it's just really fast - I'd maybe tone that down a bit.

bradur says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Nothing playable, but an interesting tech demo.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Would be interesting to see how it'll turn out as a full game.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Really cool game, although infinite, still fun! :D

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:33pm

The title is great, and the gameplay is intriguing. I'd like to see it made into an actual game!

fuzzalicious says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Cool tech demo, with the right pacing, sounding and juicing it could be quite intriguing.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]