Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Bear Adventure

by Mr.Greenhat - Jam Entry

Give Tiny Bear some tiles to play with! :')

You play the game by dragging the available tiles on the playing field. Tiny Bear will do the rest.

(Some sounds are from Freesound.org - details in readme)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#241Graphics(Jam)3.79
#277Theme(Jam)3.79
#281Humor(Jam)3.04
#328Innovation(Jam)3.31
#511Fun(Jam)3.03
#586Mood(Jam)2.93
#606Overall(Jam)3.09

Comments

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39am

Didnt work, failed to load std.dll, im running win 8.1 x64.

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23am

It should work on windows now.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Awesome game :) love it

dook says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:20pm

I love the super low res graphics. I've played something a bit like it before, and it felt like there could be a really neat little game here with a bit more work :) I have no idea why the bear if fighting for coins but it made me chuckle to play it.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:06am

I see potential on this game!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:20am

Nice job!

jellyislovely says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:35am

I love the art style so much, it is hugely nostalgic of my old amiga games. I enjoyed the gameplay as well, only slight issue is at times it seems either a bit random where the bear goes or perhaps not the right decision (i.e. going into battle when on low health or to a pond when at max health).

regisRquoi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Wasn't expecting it to be that good! It would need like, clear objectives, but it's cool Really.
Mechanics are really cool, for me, it feels like it's a mix between god game and card game :D
Really enjoyed it, clever use of the theme I would say :)

Jupitron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Great art and sfx, please put some music!
I dragged the tiles, gather coins by clashing some swords? but its hard to die, ill keep playing.

Valandre says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:55pm

very solid entry, love the graphics and animations

Sanguine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Very interesting concept, it's a bit too random now in my opinion though. Also, you can get tiles which cause you to 'lose' because you're not able to place them anywhere anymore. Would love to see this with some more different tiles and less randomness :)

Ossi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Very neat concept. I like the graphics and the little animations when the bear lands on a tile! Limiting the types of tiles you get really adds a little bit of strategy when you need to heal up tiny bear and when you need to grab coins. Sometimes it feels a bit too random, but that's fine! Well done!

Wampus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:55pm

This is the kind of thing that is good about LD. Short, sweet and well crafted for a Jam entry. Took me a bit to work out the mechanics. Felt so bad when the bear died. :(

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:07am

Thanks for the great feedback so far! I really appreciate it! :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:58am

I think the concept is good and has potential! I had a good (albeit short!) time playing until all the tiles I had were ponds and there were only ponds on the screen.

rjhunter says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:11am

An interesting core mechanic -- I'd like to see it built out a bit. Perhaps split into levels or additional "special" tiles.

I also got stuck with an unwinnable hand -- all water tiles on the board, all water tiles in my hand :-(

(I ran this on Mac OS X with Wine.)

barryrowe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:06am

Neat concept, but I didn't feel like I had real control of the outcome. I kept getting dealt all pool tiles when the board is all pools and there were no moves to make. The graphics were fun, and the sounds were satisfying.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:40pm

really nice idea i loved it

Nielz says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:03pm

I love the graphics! Good job! :)

Chris M says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Nice concept, with solid art style and sfx. The random nature of the bear made me a little frustrated, and I'd err on the side of caution by surrounding him with lakes after a battle. As I wasn't penalised for the slow speed at which I was gather coins, I didn't feel there was any necessity to find the critical path.

Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:16am

Cute little bear. I Included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:28pm

That's very cool, thanks Jupiter!

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:37am

Awesome graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]