Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Dead Pixel

by The Jahn - Compo Entry

You’re an electron trapped in a single dying pixel, keep it alive by collecting energy – just make sure to stay in the failing circuit while doing it.

It's my first game using HaxeFlixel, so try not to get your hopes too high. Expect some bugs and maybe some overall poor performance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#75Fun3.77
#144Innovation3.80
#245Audio3.23
#305Overall3.45
#311Theme3.80
#601Graphics3.02
#630Mood2.86
#716Humor2.28

Comments

zed0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20am

Cool little game, took me a while to work out that the pixel's position depended on my mouse's height.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:20am

Very, very fun! Love it! Reminds me a bit of Super Hexagon.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54am

Difficult but very fun to play. I liked the failing circuit effect.

liamtwose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Great work. Simple to play and nicely polished, this would suit mobile devices to a tee.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Love it! Totally my kind of thing. I love games with a simple original concept like this. 5 stars for fun. Music was pretty good too. Graphics were simple but effective.

Belvar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Fun game and very nice interpretation of the theme ! Took me some time to understand the mouse controls the Y position, it would definitely be an interesting mobile game.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Interesting premise, and a cool take on the "infinite runner" concept that fit the theme. Fun game, great job!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Pretty fun ! I made a couple of runs.
Hard but makes me want to try and try again, great job !

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42pm

It's hypnotizing me *^* i like it ! nice job !

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice work! Super fun!
This can became a nice mobile game, touch control would fit great
A little bit too long time to load)

Kevin_twenty7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:06pm

This is an interesting fast-paced game. I liked it.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:29am

Thats my type of good game x) freaky good idea!
if you have some time also check my project mate x)

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Very clever idea, simple, challenging and fun, thumbs up!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:12am

not make for laptop trackpads :P

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Cool idea, very difficult, especially when the angle changes drastically. I like the music.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Cool game with interesting mecanics. I like it. Neat and fun ++

stipple says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Simple and fun! I like that there is some give (health bar) instead of instant death if you stray outside the lines once. Keeps it more fun (yet still very challenging) that way. Good job.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Hi there. Nice idea. Like both graphics, music and sound effects. Think that it gets too hard too quickly.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:32pm

46.17 o>

kipelovets says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Difficult, but fun

Hellequin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Cool game! Very fun concept ! ^^ well done

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:00pm

47.13
short, stressful and fun game.

Aske says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Wow! Really great game. Feels complete !

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:28pm

The overall concept is nice and interesting, I wonder if and how would suit a mobile platform (would it just be played by hold the tapping on the screen? Would it use the accelerometer?)

I'm not sure how much procedural generation is there (maybe only the shapes, but not the orientation?).

Keep on improving it! :D

drludos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Very interesting and innovative concept, I like it! Kudos for creating such a simple yet addictive game :)

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:11am

Simple but really neat idea, and incredibly fun! Keep going with the HaxeFlixel!

rabbit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Awesome idea! I like that I only have to adjust the vertical movement of the dot instead of tracing a line.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:21am

Simple concept but fun and challenging. I liked the double use of the theme. I also though the audio fit well with the game. It was a little challenging for me, but that would probably change with practice.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Lovely idea, like those old funfair games where you have to keep a steady hand to manoeuvre a steel loop along a steel maze type thing.

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Nice one, but i'm not very good at it

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]