Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Play Area

by Halleflux - Compo Entry

Play Area is a game where you decide what is and what is not part of the game.

I am interpreting the theme more as 'Entire ACTIVE game on one screen', as 'Entire game on one screen' is far too limiting.

Left click and drag to set the Play Area.
Right click to reset the camera.
Spacebar to play the game within the Play Area.

I think it came out fairly well for my first LD.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Innovation4.54
#102Overall3.75
#247Fun3.45
#459Theme3.67
#464Mood3.02
#536Audio2.75
#1003Graphics2.38

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47am

I've got to say - this is a very innovative entry. Given the restrictive theme, this turned out really nice. Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare, and here's to many more!

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

If there are more graphic instructions, it will be more fun.

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:49am

awesome puzzles :-)

good implementation of theme ;-)

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50am

A lot harder than I thought, but once I got on and learned the gameplay, surprisingly fun. Nice game.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:54am

Very innovative sir, congrats! Maybe a more intuitive interface (with less descriptions) would make the game more fun.

ianb96 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

Very innovative!

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

Amazing mechanics. Wow. Just stunning mechanics. That was really interesting and captivating. Sometimes a bit much on the text side, but I guess it's necessary to teach the player how to properly play the game... Otherwise, nice! :D

Laddo D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

insanely clever

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

Really quite cool, and a very different approach to the theme. I was very happy to finish it to the end and wished there was more! But that's what post-game work is for.

I agree with the sentiments that things may have been better explained without words in-game.

deathray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:53am

Very innovative as others have said! I appreciated the instructions written on each level.

Just Tom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58am

Super innovative idea! I really dig it :)
Honestly, it I had to peck at anything, maybe the screen shouldn't zoom in when you select an active area? It's a little confusing for me, but I might be over looking something.

Regardless, I LOVE the mechanics, it is balls to the walls crazy clever. If you took this further, it'd be sweet if the mechanics did more of the explaining on their own, but I get the time restraints you had.

Very clean graphics, very readable and the audio was perfect for the mood.

jarry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:58am

wow... best game so far but not realy in the theme (in my opinion)

Andrea says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30am

Incredible puzzle game, really!

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:12am

Wow, great work!

Snuux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:57am

It's hard and innovating. Continue develop this game on mobiles, tablets tv and other))

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32am

This is a very innovative entry and fun! Really good first LD!

fueelin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20am

Really liked it! Other commenters have covered the details pretty well already :)

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Awesome clever game, really well made!

Resonious says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Really cool, actually. The theme was a real hard one to truly satisfy, and I think you did an excellent job at that.

My only complaint is that some of the puzzles felt kind of slow and frustrating to have to restart.

Andynonomous says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47am

This was a very cool concept. I didn't get it at first, but you really made a unique puzzler here.

Homletmoo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32pm

A nice idea for the mechanic, although I felt the way the camera zoomed in on the play area was quite jarring.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Very innovative mechanics!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Cool idea! I found it somewhat annoying that the screen zooms in, but I guess that was to make it fit the theme better. Also I think you should show the connections between switches and objects automatically without requiring the player to push a button

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Hi there. Interesting idea for game-physics. Like the drop block out of active area it stops moving. Nice and appropriate sounds. Might be nice to use mouse-wheel for zoom out camera (not changing active area) cos that's a pain when working through bits of a level. Bookmarked for a return visit. Good job!

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Really cool game idea! I want to see this in a properly fleshed out and polished retail game!

grimgraybeard says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:02pm

great innovative puzzler, had some good "oh, so its meant to be done"moments.

Halleflux says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Thank you everyone for all of your feedback!
I just thought I should take a moment to respond to to some of it, so here we go:

I do agree that the instructions are poor. At least, by comparison to what visual instructions would be. I haven't actually done much in the way of creating instructions before, so it caught me off guard when some people I had playtesting couldn't learn the game. At that point, though, all I could do was refine the text, as i couldn't make visual works at that point to teach the player. Sorry about that. =\

I do understand the screen instantly zooming is a bit jarring, but I felt that it would help my game fit the theme a bit better. As for whether I was right or not is a matter of opinion, I suppose. I personally think the best way to handle it would be to have the option of scrolling in and out on the selected area via the scroll wheel.

KilledByAPixel: I felt that if I showed the connections without having the player to push a button, it might make them think that the connections might be something else at certain points in time, and I didn't want that confusion. Thanks for your feedback, though!

I do plan on making this into a full game at a later point, so please, if you have any suggestions, post them!

Again, thank you everyone for all of your feedback!

alvarop says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:58pm

I got quickly confused about the game mechanics, but I did enjoy the overall idea. I think there may be ways to make the gameplay a bit more clear without so much text. So, in other words : you have something cool here, but you need to polish it up and make it less text-heavy. Good work!

Kuupu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:40pm

amazing game, you can expand this to a lot of other things :)

jpmit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Good use of the theme. Fun game, well done!

Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Very neat puzzle mechanic and calming audio. Congratulations on a very polished game!

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:40am

Very innovative and original. Thumbs up.

Dec 26, 2014 @ 1:41am

)))))))

Dec 26, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I got stuck at the second level with the boosters :/ I really liked it, very clever, one of the most innovative game I've played so far.

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:25am

Very innovative, but the tutorial was really hard to understand. A better, layman-worded version would have helped. I liked that each level introduced a new element, though.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Awesome! The mechanic is amazing and puzzles are sometimes really hard to figure out. I liked how you introduced the mechanics via gameplay instead of the classical wall-of-text. Congrats!

Gins says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:40pm

That was quite innovative. Some brain teasers in there, and really good job on the tutorials.

Insality says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:42pm

amazing mechanic, great job man :]
a lot of fun

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Some levels don't work well when the screen size isn't widescreen. Other than that, great game, awesome idea, great puzzles. Well done, especially for a first LD!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:56pm

I didn't understand all about this entry, but the first levels seem to me interesting yet. Maybe the mechanics could be more explicit or clear. Sometimes I cannot figure out what I am supposed to do. Well done ++

dunin says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:16pm

wow, clever concept!
Of course, there some things to improve (graphics, ui, instructions...) but the gameplay is really good.

Madball says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I find camera jumps too unfriendly. Well, I guess that's what makes the game theme-related, but other than that, changing camera position is unnecessary. Also, some more on-screen information would be helpful, like telling, how does a blue block move, showing a block that's completely covered by another one.
The idea is great, but it's the only thing spicing the game. Other than that, the game is too simple. Maybe you think of another cool concept, there is room for more.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Really clever puzzle game, it was interesting playing through it. It just was really annoying that the camera would change all the time, it should just show the entire screen all the time.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Very innovative! Amazing puzzle.
The only things I didn't like were the zooming in on the active areas and the walls of text. Otherwise, amazing game! It only needs some better graphics.

Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Fascinating idea. It's a bit tricky to get your head around the idea at first, but once it clicks its quite clever. The camera zooming in gets a bit cumbersome at times. Definitely a good baseline concept for something amazing.

Valeour says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Great idea, great execution. I'm impressed that you managed to make a decent physics puzzle in Unity. It actually works well! The puzzles are clever and nicely challenging. Too much text though, it's not fun reading when you've already tasted gameplay.
Otherwise, largely enjoyed.

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:34pm

At first, I couldn't make the damn thing work. After some trials and errors, the ball started to move as expected. The gameplay is quite innovative and clever.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]