Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Straggler Capture (Read description please)

by Croze - Compo Entry

READ --- IMPORTANT

If no one else is playing while you are, please do not rate based on singleplayer. Bookmark this page and please try to play another time.

To run:
Extract the zip file and run "OneScreenGame"

Controls:
WASD - Move
Point and left or right mouse click - shoot green or red paintballs

This is a party game about finding all of your 10 stragglers. Please make sure you read all text shown on the screen, and go through the tutorial before playing. It may take a few rounds to fully understand.

I have not tested the game on Mac or Linux yet, and the file is MUCH bigger, if you can confirm it works on your machine please post in the comments - thanks.

Don't judge the chat system too hard, it was a last minute feature

I implemented the theme in that you see's everyone game in 1 screen by having mini-screens within to see where they are

Made using Unity 4.6
Sound made with bfxr
Most art made directly in Unity, some in Paint.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#450Innovation3.26
#634Humor2.38
#698Mood2.77
#757Audio2.34
#811Fun2.82
#841Graphics2.65
#850Overall2.91
#1172Theme2.38

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

Guess I'll wait to play until people are on? And do you think you will make a web port?

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:06am

Technically I'm impressed, The game is what it is, I managed to get in a room with other players and we farted around. Don't get how it fits in with the theme and nobody in the game with me appeared to actually be "Playing" it. Good work, What you made is still incredibly cool!

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:20am

what a good game!!!

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Networking in a Compo entry is impressive. I did manage to get one game in with one other judge. Very well done.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Ill try again later, we need people here!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15pm

WEll done! Great game!

bobombe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Your work is impressive, even if it's hard to find ours cube things.
And What's the link to the theme ?

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:02am

We played your game in our first LD game review!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKO6wvKJawA
Loved it!

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19am

Super innovative, really interesting game. I agree that I can't believe you managed to pull this off in 48 hours! Nicely done

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:48am

Really sweet idea and a lot accomplished in the short time frame, movement felt smooth and getting to the platforms to expand your visual radius was a nice extension of gameplay, a great competitive edge being able to see your opponents and the tracker compass in the middle really helps subvert possible frustration if you couldn't find uncolored characters, well done :).

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:31am

I like this game!

Poupi says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:07am

Good Job! ;)

Valeour says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Couldn't find anyone. I'll leave the tab open to try again later. I haven't rated, as requested (and makes sense anyway). :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]