Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hippie Convention Inspection

by Dr_V - Compo Entry

I decided to go with a different take on the theme. Instead of the interpretation of screen as a view, I've gone with the definition of a screen as a divider. (I've also put an actual screen in the game for good measure as well). Having said that I introduce:

Hippie Convention Inspection!

You are a convention hall owner. A group of customers want to rent your convention hall but first they must inspect it to see it has enough separate 2x1 rooms for their needs. But due to undisclosed reasons, your convention hall has only one movable screen (aka divider). How will you cope?!

Luckily the customers in question are drugged-out hippes so it will be easy to fool them! Move the screen around as they walk to fool them into thinking there are more rooms!

Note: Please read the in-game instructions, otherwise you will find the game-play very confusing. Features over 3 (4) levels of moderate paced puzzle action!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Theme4.22
#88Innovation3.96
#119Humor3.37
#298Overall3.46
#326Audio3.09
#681Fun2.96
#869Graphics2.61
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:29am

nice, very original concept

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:07am

Great concept. Really good puzzle game. Quite hard, but that really fits the game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:07am

good idea, something different, nice job

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09am

The idea is fantastic, but I'm worried you used more than one screen as I understand the theme. Anyway, I love your game because I love logical games :D. Congratulations

andysolace says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15am

A little slow to play, but a great concept. Nice to see you've both reinterpreted the theme AND managed to stick to the actual wording of "entire game ON one screen" as well.

Prox says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:31am

Nice concept, I enjoy the drugged hippies!
When the crowd can pass through a wall it shouldn't appear on the arena anymore, it will make the game easier to play and understand.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:09pm

Wow, quite hard for me but impressive and clean! Congratulations! :)

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00pm

lol, tough at first. funny explanation..

Maurogik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:45am

Cool concept, puzzle games aren't my thing but this one looks nice.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Nice, tricky at first, but you get the hang of it pretty quick. Crowd could move a little faster...

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 9:31am

Very interesting concept. I can honestly say I've never played a game quite like that before. I like the premise, it's rather amusing, and the puzzle mechanic was incredibly engaging. It had a bit of a learning curve, and your tutorial could use a bit of work, but once you get the hang of it it's actually really fun, too.

chakitp says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 9:47am

Nice Concept! took time initially, but later i couldn't stop playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]