Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Planetary Body Shooter

by kavic - Compo Entry

Fly around, shoot asteroids, pick up pickups, get a high score.

The sensitivity slider controls turning sensitivity.
Difficulty slider effects spawn rate of asteroids.

---- CONTROLS ----
WASD - Movement/Steering.
LEFT SHIFT - Boost.
SPACE - Shoot.
E - Open Shop.
ESC - Open Menu.

---- PICKUPS ----
GREEN - Money.
PURPLE - Ammo.
RED - Damage Upgrade.
BLUE - Number Of Bullets Fired Per Shot.


Ammo Burn is the amount of ammo used per shot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Graphics3.86
#371Mood3.14
#447Audio2.89
#500Fun3.14
#614Overall3.14
#758Innovation2.86
#775Humor2.18
#1095Theme2.90
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:30am

Pretty fun game!!!

krighxz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31am

Nice looking game! Continuous damage might make it a bit more playable, or even just pausing the game when in the shop - I've crashed almost every time I wanted to buy something :( I like the look and feel of it though.

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Graphically it's great! The ship does feel very heavy and maybe has a little too much friction. Other than that it's really quite good!

Valon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:40pm

The graphics are awesome and the game it fun! Good job.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Very fun and nice graphics !

harley77 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:29am

Excellent game, could use a bit more forgiveness on damage.

memilian says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Very fun and addictive game but quite hard ! Limiting the spawn range of asteroids, they spawn too close to you.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Great graphic and entertaining game! Although some what difficult.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:57pm

I didn't get very far because I kept running into asteroids. The music was good and the graphics and animation was great.

01rafael says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:15am

Asteroids will never die!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:47am

Neat entry! You certainly did a impressive job on realization and adding ammo in an asteroid game is an interesting take. My only complaints would be the quite punitive hitbox of my shipt and the fact that I've been killed by asteroids which spawned pretty much on my head :)

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:20am

Nice low poly asteroids!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:49am

The game could be a lot of fun but suffers from problems others have already pointed out:
1.) The store is great, but since all asteroids spawn on a collision course with your ship it's not likely to give you much time
2.) The ship hitbox is big and a single hit = death, maybe a health bar would be nice, or shields or something
3.) Sometimes debris from a breaking asteroid spawned going REALLY fast right at my ship, no chance for me to escape or destroy it in time

With these few pain-points in mind, you could easily make the game really fun very easily! Hope you keep working on it :)

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:10am

the graphics are quite good! Combination of objects yields a very good looking universe. Wish there are more lives!! difficult to earn money and buy something before I died... Besides, the bullet burn power up is somewhat like a debuff...not effective at killing enemies while increasing ammo consumption.

Poupi says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:06am

Good Job! ;)

Canyon says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:55am

Great graphics. Suprisingly difficult. I like that you could reverse. Could have done with less friction. A little frustrating that the music restarts whenever you die.

Great idea to have a shop and make conservation of ammo important. I got hit by spawning asteroids a few times and then I had to rage quit. But great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]