Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

One Screen Game

by swipefaststudios - Compo Entry

Welcome to the One Screen Game.
You play as Sam the Head, and go around 8 challenging levels trying to avoid traps and enemy's to get to the end!
I suggest you listen to the instructions and let them finish before you start the game!
I hope you enjoy it and be sure to leave feedback!
Had fun making this! Will put a Dev Vlogumentary on my youtube channel so be sure to check it out at www.youtube.com/swipefaststudios
Have fun playing Games!
Caleb

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#205Humor3.13
#219Audio3.29
#383Mood3.13
#571Theme3.59
#581Fun3.06
#817Overall2.94
#1006Innovation2.41
#1059Graphics2.24
#2112Coolness24%

Comments

davesoft says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Not bad! Very difficult in spots :D

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:31am

Thanks! Yea I had to make it a bit difficult so it wouldn't be completed in 30 seconds lol

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:04am

nice game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56pm

Thanks!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:07am

On my computer, the process will start but the window won't show up.

gana0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08am

The spikes were very particular about when they could be crossed. I got tripped up a couple of times as the spikes were on the way down, yet I still walked over them. I loved the instructions. Very calming.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Haha those instructions were awesome! I liked the game a lot. The total restart was a bit unforgiving, though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:45pm

@TheMonster, That's weird might have to do with antivirus program perhaps.
@Gana: Yea I did the spikes based on certain image in the animation.
@Newt, glad you liked the instructions! tried to be original, yea if I had more time on the game I would have added some sort of save program!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:29am

Making it across each set of spikes was quite satisfying. Narrating the instructions was unique :) It was a bit long though

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:51am

Quite a fun game, just the right amount of challenge.

Warboys says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:54am

Loved the instructions in your voice, cool idea! Although self explanatory game in general ;)

I too would have loved a non full restart, those spikes are tricksy hobbits.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]