Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum Clicker

by RedPanda - Compo Entry

Ludum Clicker is an Idle Game where you make games to make money, basically EA Simulator...
I made this mess in about less then 30 hours of actual work. It was relaxing, though.

Warning:
It's unbalanced!
Code is utterly bad!

Instructions:
- Click on computer to make game!
- Hire personnel to make games for you!
- Upgrade personnel to make them more efficient!
- Upgrade game cost to make games worth more!
- Upgrade tick so it will take less time, remember your personnel makes Games per Tick!

The Vision:
I wanted to make an Idle Game similar to Cookie Clicker, but with making games as a theme. It's on one screen so, it's fits the theme perfectly. Even though it's not that unique, or unexpected twist to theme, I find it nice and fitting.
I procrastinated A LOT during this Ludum Dare, but I think I did well, this is the most relaxed one I ever did, so that's nice. On the other hand, I wrote the sh*tiest code I ever wrote, apart from 1st code ever. I feel a bit bad because of that.
Now, back to vision, the game turned simpler than what I wanted it to be. Here are design docs and ideas: (http://goo.gl/Pmi2H1) if anyone is interested.
Basically, it was supposed to have multiple resources, nice industry jokes as upgrades and dynamic background depending on upgrades and hires, oh and special hires like: Botch, Jack Carmake, Johnathan Punch, Jaben Oldell, etc.

Tools used:
- Game Engine: Unity Free 4.6
- Language: C#
- IDE: Visual Studio 2013
- Art: Paint.NET
- Sound FX: SFXR, Reality (Clicky pen, coins and my keyboard)
- Music: FL Studio
- Procrastination Tool: Google Chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#304Humor2.90
#311Theme3.80
#472Audio2.86
#706Fun2.93
#760Mood2.69
#877Overall2.89
#880Graphics2.59
#1093Innovation2.20

Comments

Axelman says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

I've never seen a Game Dev clicker so it was kind of fresh but clicker games aren't innovative anymore.

It still is a nice, fresh, way to kill some time.

Good Job man!!!

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:22am

Needs an x100 button haha, nice clicker. would have been cool to have some more unfolding features to spend my army of developers on. haha

coppyhop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Was goofy, but a little bit unbalanced, once you clicked the Game developer, and lowered the tick a bit, you were golden.

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Clicker core gaming is so simple that it needs a lot more than just the clicking. This is more like the first clicking games ever. Good job otherwise.

wer2chosen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29pm

It was fun for a clicker game, maybe if random things came up I needed to click? I had a Heads or tails game I made and sold that was a guess then click game. It did real well until I sold it. Than can become addictive if you stretch them a little bit and make t seem like there is some skill or chance of failure involved, even if it is just randomness.

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Probably one of the more unique takes I've seen on the 'clicker' genre, enjoyed the tie in with LD, found that entertaining :)

Though ya, it was a little unbalanced. You hit this point in the middle where the floodgates of money just open.

dix says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Nice game but there's no chance to get it wrong is there? If only making money was so easy :c

Kim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32pm

I smiled while playing this :P super goofy. Obviously a bit flawed like you stated but still a nice little game!

TKF15H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:43pm

I'd never seen these clicker games before, so I'm not sure if I really get it. It makes me wish I could over-flow a 64-bit int with cash in real life. XD

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:52pm

I love the clicker games. Good job.

SumGato says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Not bad but very unbalanced. I ended up with dozens of "AI Developer Crusters" after less than 5 minutes of playing.

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Haha, really unbalanced! It's funny though, and all on one screen! Wish it were this easy to make games!

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Maybe a little easy, currently on 78 quadrillion a tick :P

Otherwise a nice little clicker game, click/10

madlee says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Hah, I enjoyed this quite a bit despite its simplicity. Pretty unbalanced but thats probably why I liked it so much :) Pretty quickly got to the point where I couldn't click fast enough to keep hiring more of the top-tier developers. Nice work!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:33pm

GOOD WORK,This game is fun for me ! :)

you can also check our little tower defense psycho project xD if you have time :)

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:37pm

If only making games were this lucrative in real life :P

Liam :D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Hmm... So I just came from another clicker game, hence I don't know how to rate this properly. It's technically a clicker game, however it didn't grab me as much as some other clicker games. I think the reason might be in the lack of visual feedback. If you had floading +n labels emanate from the TV every time I clicked, or perhaps technobabble terms like "hack", "hello works", "print", "debug", "compile" etc. These could also emanate every time the various developer types added value. That way you could see the developers actually "working", past just the number at the top increasing. Additionally, you could make different types of developer emanate different types of text, or different colour, or different size, so you could tell those apart. Anyway, just some feedback and possible solutions. The audio is neat, btw. I like looks that don't get repetitive.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Every single person on earth is buying 17,000 of my games per second!

paps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:53pm

nice clicker game, but those number are hilarious. I first I was like ok I can relate, and then I was like this is ridiculous. To sum up, I smiled a lot

Stechas says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

it's so easy to become rich when you are game developer (only in this game), I wonder what would I do with 8 Quintillions dollars :D

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33am

Really nice game and really funny. I like the math a lot to calculate the numbers. Give me more Money! xD :-)

srakowski says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47am

Yeah I though clicker games were done! Nice job :)

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:22am

Fun, but though I like faster-paced incremental games, this one was very unbalanced.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I love clicker … try to make a post compo version !

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:01pm

NIce idea. But you should really improve your income algorithm ( more money pls! )

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Interesting take on the 'clicker' genre, could probably use more audio/visual feedback but making that number go up is weirdly addictive... :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Awesome take on the clicker game. Would definitely like to play a more polished / balanced game! If you ever release a post comp send me the link bro!

floorman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Was a really nice game, looks nice and has a good soundtrack. However the game was incredibly easy. Giving a good rating though!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17am

Always love a good clicker game! nice entry!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Hi there. Nice idea, but seems to need nowhere near enough clicks, after starting part you just get enough money for next upgrade basically instantly you upgrade anything... That music is nice, but gets annoying - glad you put a mute option! Good job but rebalance...

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:44pm

The cost to hire an AI developer is ridiculous :D

xhunterko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:31am

A bit pie in the sky for the game prices. ;)

Still, not a bad clicker!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:22am

Haha I love how ridiculously high the numbers got! XD The game could use some challenge to it but... I kept playing it for awhile. :P

Raxsus says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:03am

Pretty fun. But in the end, I was just playing to see what the name of the next illion was.

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:16am

Nice concept, but the amount of money you make as a game developer was unrealistically low.

dcolgan says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:30am

If only I could make 111 trillion new original video games every second. Then I too would have several quintillion dollars. Nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]