Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Junk heap

by Dreii - Jam Entry

Oh no, you've fallen to the bottom of a pit of robot junk!

try and survive the angry abandoned robots onslaught for as long as you can!

There's so much missing from this I way over scoped this game for 48 or even 72 hours. I haven't slept all night and still couldn't get audio in haha.

sorry for the block of text tutorial as well. I'm tired. goodnight...morning.


Post sleep edit:

the game ramps up in difficulty slowly starting at round 5 where the rocket fists are added, and after round 10 the zombie like starting enemies start getting bigger and stronger.

also every 10 levels is a boss battle.

portraying growth was the main issue I had(read: main timesuck) Trying to get early interesting game play that slowly eased into a nice fun challenge took allot more testing then I could manage.

Ill just say, being that I wasn't able to hone it in, any levels past 20 are a wild west of OHGODNO.

edit 2: since I had some time before the jam actually ended I changed the controll scheme to a better one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#228Fun(Jam)3.42
#448Graphics(Jam)3.38
#458Overall(Jam)3.25
#521Theme(Jam)3.54
#609Mood(Jam)2.90
#623Humor(Jam)2.35
#723Innovation(Jam)2.70
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

dsilvers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

This is really fun! The waves of enemies work really well. I can totally sympathize with the lack of sleep problem. Game jamming is tough but rewarding! I think you should be proud of what you were able to accomplish here, it is a great start! If you go forward, I would recommend mouse looking instead of S and D to turn (make them strafe instead), stronger enemies on subsequent waves, and making bonus effects stronger and more visible.

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:10am

Cool.

lapskaus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:19am

Fun to play. Good clean action and well done retro graphics. I didn't get the powerups in the end though, why are there two boxes and only one labeled? Seems like i'm only getting something random when i don't know what my choices are.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21am

Great game! Although the using the keys to look is a bit hard though, but that's just a personal opinion. Keep it up!

Dreii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24am

@lapskaus Ahh that was a bit unclear wasnt it? The rectangle with the face is the lid of the chest, that you open when you shoot.

And yeah its random rewards each round. the only real choice is when you see a negative value on a chest item, deciding whether its worth it to take.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Coulda done with some audio imo :P

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:05am

Definitely a great job. Cool game, simple but addictive art and game flow.

I don't know if the bonus from the level clear chest is random or set, but I get a negative bonus (regen-2) at level 19, which is interesting. I thought the game lead player in a way that "You should shot and open the chest after the level" but if it is randomly negative or sometime intended negative then that makes people a bit upset.

I think the game difficulty is fine, you don't really need to add stronger enemies because you adjust the spawn speed and that already works well.

Looking forward to your future work!

qristofer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:06am

This is really fun! The speed gets insane, but the upgrades matches it. I miss a good BGM tho. Great job, great game.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:59am

A fun and polished little shooter. =) It seemed very eash to me (though I can see how folks would have had trouble before you added mouse controls). I eventually quit after about level 15 having had my fill. Unfortunately it seems from your comments I was pretty close to when the difficulty ramps up, so I should've stuck with it.

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:27am

nice sprites.
Sound would've made a big improvement

Overall the difficulty curve was fairly good except at the end. There is becomes much easier since once you have the sword you can just stand in the corner and wait for the game to end.


Some UI feedback:
the shadow of the falling enemies should indicate what enemy is going to fall and also should fade in.
The stats at the bottom need units rather than just the format "number (number)"

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:04am

That was fun to play, nice job!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Avast complains about your game. `Win32:Malware-gen`

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:34pm

nice man i enjoyed the fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]