Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Noel's Christmas Nightmare

by jimmymcmillan - Jam Entry

You play as a young boy excited about Christmas!
Look around your room and explore. Interact with objects using 'E'! You can decide the morals of this story..

Your door is frozen shut and you can't go downstairs to open your presents! Explore your room and try to escape!

Move using WASD, Interact and select message option with E and close any pop up messages with SPACE/Q.

Hints can be found in the screenshots.

Works best in latest version of Chrome and Firefox. Sadly there is a graphical glitch with IE.

Made with pure Javascript and HTML5 Canvas.


Made By Joel Bradley, Aaron Daisley and Riki Dhesi.
1st years at Coventry University.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#362Humor(Jam)2.86
#518Audio(Jam)2.65
#784Theme(Jam)3.20
#819Mood(Jam)2.56
#880Graphics(Jam)2.36
#927Fun(Jam)2.35
#932Overall(Jam)2.61
#942Innovation(Jam)2.16

Comments

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

Like the twist from the common get-out-of-the-room games. Nice job!

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:53am

Oh no, I caused global!?

DavidLv says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01pm

I don't know how to play. sorry.

jimmymcmillan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Did you read the instructions above? What problems are you having?

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Nice mood. Love the theme. Keep working on it.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:17pm

I removed the wire from the tree and got stuck on a black screen.

jimmymcmillan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:18pm

@JoshuaBurr what browser are you using? That seems to be a graphical glitch that happens on older browsers.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:24pm

The snow many melting animation was really nice and I liked all the chiptune music. Good work.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I couldn't really play this game because the only way to close the pop-ups to keep moving is SPACE, which keeps scrolling the page down for me in Chrome, and I have no idea how to disable it, so it is frustrating. This game looks fun, so if you changed the keys, I'd definitely come back to play and rate it!

jimmymcmillan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:41pm

@DiegoHenriquez I changed it so you can use Q or Space, I hope this is an except-able edit.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:01am

Didn't seem to work the first time I loaded, no messages appeared after trying to interact with all the objects. After a reload messages appeared OK (though interacted with objects in a different order).

Nice concept.

tcarter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:04am

I enjoyed being able to pretty much commit to the good ending, then change my mind at the last second. Laughed pretty hard from that!

pht59x says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:06am

Nice little story-based adventure game with pleasant graphics. But a pain to play on an AZERTY keyboard: this is why controls should always include arrow keys. I didn't hear hear any sound effects nor music.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:27pm

It was pretty fun to play! Thanks for fixing the issue I was having with the SPACE =)

psychonull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:11am

I also got the black screen glitch, when selecting any option in any of the objects, using chrome 38 under ubuntu. Then I was able to run the game correctly using firefox.

Liked alof, the mood, and the type of game! I wanted it to be longer but it's a good start for a jam

rantt says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:46am

Fun game, played through to see both ending. I enjoyed it, nice job :)

blay09 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:04pm

I also ended up changing my mind at the very end and melting the snowman, lol.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Not my kind of graphics, funny game though!

lukepilgrim says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:38pm

haha where can I buy this radio

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:24am

Graphics is great! I like this impressive style! ))

StackAttack says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:04am

I melted that terrifying snowman!!! it could be helpful to know when the game ends.

Scam says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I killed the snowman. :(

Valeour says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Very cute, really enjoyed it. Felt like a nice throwback. Would be cool if you polished it up. :)

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:45am

When I interact with many of the objects they either do not trigger the correlating event or flash the text super quickly. would love to play when it is fixed

Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Nice game! I Included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/SGfwL84KAH0

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]