Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

20 Days at Sea

by bitserum - Jam Entry

It's just Margaret (you), John and the open sea, enjoying life, living the dream... but watch out for storms as those could change everything.

20 Days at Sea is a survival game, you have to gather resources to help you on your journey; or fall victim to hunger, thirst or sickness.

CONTROLS:
LEFT CLICK (and hold) - move and interact
ESC - Menu

The music belongs to: Alexandr Zhelanov on OpenGameArt.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#11Overall(Jam)4.21
#11Mood(Jam)4.26
#43Graphics(Jam)4.47
#62Fun(Jam)3.82
#95Theme(Jam)4.09
#100Innovation(Jam)3.80
#146Humor(Jam)3.42

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Really cool game, I enjoyed it.

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

hazarman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:36am

Polished. Very nice, awesome.

thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:00am

I felt great as i was playing. i'll definitely give it another try!

Anikki says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:16am

Amazing. I love these types of games.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Wasn't particularly challenging, but I enjoyed it immensely nonetheless. Funny ending xD Game is really beautiful too!

christopf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Beautiful game, the music was chosen quite well. A crossbow would have made my life much easier (maybe) :D But i'm not sure if that's a bug but the game froze at day 19 (i guess shortly before the end)

That's one point you may overthink or may not :D
In a phase i felt like couldn't do anything but also wanted to enjoy the slow pace i sometimes said to myself it's only 20 days. With the title you implement an end and you give us a countdown with the clock. But i wouldn't remove the timer (i actually love the ui in general, goodjob) but maybe overthink the title. It could give you more the feel of being lost on the sea. On the other side i gave me hope something is happening its worth waiting for. But maybe it would be interesting when the player has to find an own reason (:

Very good job!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Wow, this is cool.
Very meditative game, but also very nive and very charming.
It's 100% pure one-screen game, but eventually it shows up new depths.
Simple controlls are also great.
Number 1 game on our team's game designer's list =)

BubbleChien says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

That was really good!
Everything contributes to the ambience and is consistent, and the game was enjoyable.

Got stuck in the raft at some point and couldn't move.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Very solid entry, absolutely loved it. Keep it up

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:41pm

You got me on human flesh.
At some point it seems to glitch making me swim only around the raft with no way to walk.

lonely2012

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:42pm

This game is amazing! I enjoyed it a lot :)

Demy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:45pm

This game is beautiful.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

This is a really sad! The intro story is very effective. It establishes the characters well. The weather effects are super neat.

I like the controls I found them intuitive. Its nice that we can swim under water indefinitely I think it emphasizes survival as an economy of things rather than a matter of twitch skill.

One issue i noticed: When I am on the raft and I click on something on the ocean floor the ai walks to the back of the boat instead of the front(where she can jump off and go to the item).

jthistle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Great game! Slight glitch with speech bubble staying in same place but otherwise brilliant!

Wir says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:03pm

haha the ending was awesome (dont know if it was really the end couldnt react more) but the guy :" hey wtf are you doing" and you see its a lake just awesome XD

could you pls check out our game and leave a comment? ^^

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:21am

A very beautiful and relaxing survival game. I enjoyed it very much!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:10am

This is just a ridiculously good game. 5/5

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:10am

Awesome game!

MjSpeCter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:18am

Great game! I love the visual style and the crafting ability the most! Awesome!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:21am

BEAUTIFUL game! I love everything about it. Great job on the minimalist way of tutorials too

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:24am

Very fun game. I enjoyed the ending, though short it was.

se1by says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

Really nice, but after Day 14 there is not that much left to do :/

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:31am

Really great game, especially the art, animations, and general mood(even with the ending ;P). Great job. :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:34am

beautiful, love the atmosphere

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:42am

Really good. I enjoyed playing it a lot.

Azlen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:43am

Died on day 14 from dehydration, fun game!

recursor says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:14am

Simply lovely. I would love more content for this one.

yosh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:40am

Wow, really beautiful! It was surprisingly not too hard to survive in the first few days. The gameplay is not obvious but really simple once you understand the way it works.
My favorite part about this game remain the global atmosphere combined with nice graphics & music.

Excellent game :)

admix says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:04am

Serious game, I like it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:55am

This was wonderful. I am going to play this one again. Awesome!

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:06am

Awesome

MonoS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:01am

Really polished game but i encountered a bug: When the guy on the river call you at end game, if you are on the crafting menu the game freeze and the story don't finish.

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:15am

Beautiful game, the animations are nice. I had a great experience overall :)

theFireman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Very beautyfull game with nice music and nice humor :) The controlls were a bit buggy for me :(

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Very well made and polished game. I really like the mood it creates. Thank you for your game!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:33am

Absolutely masterpiece with mindblowing ending! Great Job!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:05am

Cool game! had some humour to it! great job and amazing art style!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:34pm

I really enjoyed playing this. Is it wrong that the first thing I ate was the human flesh? I was sick for the whole game! I found there was a bug that only allowed me to get off of the raft from the right hand side. Good ending.

zanenga says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Amazing entry! Love the mood and art style!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:24pm

The design is so nice. Loved the layout and the audio you chose worked perfectly. Great experience playing this and liked the way the game began slow paced with the rain slowly coming in and then the storm crashing down. Nice different entry from the rest I've played so far.

codeapparat says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:05am

Absolutely wonderful art, music and atmosphere. The ending, while surprising and funny, totally breaks the mood of the game. I would have preferred a 'serious' rescue ending, i guess. Overall most likely one of the best entries this year.

Domicuc says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Wow.. mate you got me.. AWESOME! Also look my project.. i will be happy if i get reaction from something like you ;)

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Great atmosphere and very nice implementation of the mechanics. Of course it could use some tweaking, especially the "pathfinding" that sometimes gets you stuck for few seconds.

I really enjoyed the whole mood but won't talk further to not spoil anything :D

On my first playthrough, for some reason the line "Ten days, and I'm still not bored. This trip was a great idea Marge" remained stuck on the screen after Day 3, even if other popup dialog boxes showed fine (over that one).

Great job indeed!

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Great work on this, well done!
I thought I was going to die of dehydration, but right now it looks like sickness will kill me :(

Two things (I don't want to call the "issues", the game is great as is):
It's day 16 and I have nothing left to do but wait for certain death. I've collected and crafted everything I can. I know the theme was "Entire game on one screen", but a bit of exploration wouldn't do this game any harm.
Second point: She jumps off the left of the raft with a delay, for some reason, while jumping of the right works fine.

Well done on this, it's really fun already!

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Great work on this, well done!
I thought I was going to die of dehydration, but right now it looks like sickness or hunger will kill me :(

Two things (I don't want to call the "issues", the game is great as is):
It's day 16 and I have nothing left to do but wait for certain death. I've collected and crafted everything I can. I know the theme was "Entire game on one screen", but a bit of exploration wouldn't do this game any harm.
Second point: She jumps off the left of the raft with a delay, for some reason, while jumping of the right works fine.

Well done on this, it's really fun already!

Havi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Great game! I really like the mood and music! Also nice graphics ;)

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Great work on this, well done!
I thought I was going to die of dehydration, but right now it looks like sickness or hunger will kill me :(

Two things (I don't want to call the "issues", the game is great as is):
It's day 16 and I have nothing left to do but wait for certain death. I've collected and crafted everything I can. I know the theme was "Entire game on one screen", but a bit of exploration wouldn't do this game any harm.
Second point: She jumps off the left of the raft with a delay, for some reason, while jumping of the right works fine.
Also, there are screen resolution issues (UI and ending - try it at different resolutions, you'll notice).

Well done on this, it's really fun already!

P.S. Haha, just finished the game and noticed I have to increase the humor rating :D

rabbit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:35pm

I can easily see this being expanded into a fully featured game. That would be awesome by the way and you should do it!

Wevel says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:48pm

I did manage to get the character stuck in the raft. But other wise a really nice game.

lemmily says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Great work, polish on the game was really nice, the mood and atmosphere of the game fit nicely

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Really nice game, felt bad that I couldn't take care of John very well. :(

SoulGame says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:59am

Looting human flesh on your friend's body... God there's something different in that game! I think I met my first "dramatic" bug ever : after the boat crash, there was still a dialog box remaining on screen "I think I'll just watch the sea today..." giving an even more tragic dimension to the scene because now, he was dead... Beautiful game and very nice entry. Congrats

ianatherton says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:11am

The game had a nice idea, great layout, and a simple game play. Some of the bugs encountered broke the fun of the game, like the left side of the wreck was very hard to get out off, and I had to play twice thinking that the first playtrough I crashed at the end, but the second time the same happened, the screen moved about 50 pixels to the left, i noticed a speech "bubble" but just the last 2 letters and a question mark, the game was frozen and non responsive, the music was playing tho. Overall a great entry, with a few bugs. Good work!

barryrowe says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Great entry! I found myself impatient at first and took the time for granted with the fast forward button only to find myself playing this game a couple more times, just to see the hilarious ending. Very fun!

greytram says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Very nice game, unique atmosphere that keeps you hooked up!
The graphics and animations are beautiful, the music fits well.
This game conveys sort of a poetical, ethereal feeling.
Well done!

Tifu says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:31am

Great game! Was really difficult to make it to day 20 without doing unspeakable things. Great ending :o

Only issue was character would never dive off the left side of the boat, but pretty minor thing.

kaa says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Fantastic game! Just wonderful in all respects. Best entry so far

pegigante says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Great. Very interesting.

jpmit says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Cool game, great work.

Dec 25, 2014 @ 9:00pm

what is the optimal resolution ? I always have problems with unity that croop part of the interface....

Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:18pm

like this game

but it crushed on Mac after 19 day, when camera start moving(

gameattack says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 10:18am

Awesome game!love the visual style. I enjoyed playing.

Larzan says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Wow, this is great, crafting, surviving, great gfx story sound, very polished, love it!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Great graphics and theme. Nicely polished as well.

Dans17 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 12:57am

Very nice game. I would like to see a larger, post-compo version of this.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Haha that ending :D It was a solid survival game, wish there where more to it.

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:44am

Beautifull game, easy to pick up and play (not so easy for a point n' click)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]