Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pyramid of death

by KedumeBits - Compo Entry

This is a platform game. The concept of the Ludum Dare was "Entire game on one screen", and i made a little platform game about a explorer in a pyramid. You (the player) will die at first, but you will win if you escape more times than you die.

==The story==

The Pyramid of death is a cursed pyramid where the player tries over and over to escape from the pyramid. The curse will end if you escape more than you die :-)

==Controls==

[Left] Move left
[Right] Move right
[Up] Jump
[Enter] Start Game

==Tools==

Code: Game Maker Studio
Graphics: Photoshop & Aseprite
Sound: Bfx

==Author's stuff==

Code & Graphincs: Me (@KedumeBits)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#334Graphics3.44
#372Fun3.29
#436Theme3.69
#445Overall3.29
#467Humor2.60
#541Mood2.95
#707Innovation2.93
#738Audio2.37

Comments

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24am

Wow, love the game. Those lava traps at the end are really evil xD.

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:29am

Yeah :-) Thanks for the comment!

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31am

Looks good. Nice graphic. Good implementation.

At first, at was not easy for me to see whats going on. Plus, its not easy to win ;)

(and honestly, after a while the sound gets a little bit a
annoying :D)

wavertron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32am

Neat little game. Cant give any ratings though. Did you Opt Out of them all?...

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:36am

win on the first try, haha !
Well done, the game is pretty fun and the graphi style is good :D

martymon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:37am

Great game! Kept me hooked till the end!

Anikki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:39am

Nice.

okkolobr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:40am

Like the minimalistic pixel design. Too bad I can't rate :(

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:43am

Cool! Love the graphics! Jump sound is a bit loud.

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:46am

It's not letting me rate this entry and I have no idea why, anyone else having this problem?

I really like this game too, reminds me of Spelunky a little ;)

I'll be back later to see if I can vote.

DarkEngineer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00am

Cool game and great graphics.

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:02am

Fun, hard, and quick to play, good job !

Logun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05am

We are both egyptian lovers ^^
Very simple and funny game. I tried and retried a lot. But I can't rate it !! Let me know when you solved this problem, I have stars for you.

MrPhil says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:14am

Oh man god it's hard. Just getting out of the first level is the next to hardest part! Good game though, challenging and great fit for the theme.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15am

no ratings make me sad... but cool

DavidLv says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15am

Looks good!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17am

Minimalistic, but holistic. Why you disable voting?

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17am

Sorry. I've made op-out the ratings by error :-(

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:19am

Love this one! Fully embraces the 'one screen' theme, and very playable, tight controls. 5/5 from me :)

Aisland says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20am

This is amazing, i do like the theme. Great
But the first floor has a problem , sometime 'i' can't fall, please fix it.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:27am

Good implementation of the theme but it lacks in audio.

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38am

Great fun! Came back to vote ;)

Norgg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:45am

Nice! The controls feel just right, you say you've got to escape as many times as you died to win, but I feel like I won just by getting out the once. :P

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:49am

Pretty cool little game. Not too much in such a low res pixel art though

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13am

@Norgg If you escape at first you win. The idea is that is enought dificult to die the first time :-S You are a good player :-)

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Man, those lava traps =P

That was a lot of fun, reminds me of those kind of twitchy, timing based platformers like Super Meat Boy. Great work!

Fede3751 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Cool! Breaking the curse is almost impossible! D:
Good job, I enjoyed playing this (Also pixel art and sound were really really cool)!^^

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Love the pixel art and feel of this one :)

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:23pm

nice!!!! Great minimalist game! need more stages!!!!

Thommy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I like the minimalistic pixel art style. Also the whole "win more often than you died" concept is really cool.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Very nice art style! A bit too simple, i beat it 1st try ;)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38pm

That was fun. Really nice idea and I love the monster design, especially the ghost following you.
The trapdoors might be slightly too narrow. You can get stuck sometimes and take damage trying to get in exactly the right spot to go down.

eruditespirit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Fun little game, lovely graphics, and it's interesting that you need to escape more times than you die to actually win!

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Fun game, like the graphics. Sometimes annoying to fall in holes.

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Damn you Ghost xD

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:30pm

It's all so tiny! Was kinda hard to see what was going on as you sprint through, it was mostly the incoming bullets that were an issue and luckily their damage was low. Fun little game though, nice simple controls and challenging difficulty to it. Good job

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:18pm

cute game, very challeging

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:44pm

I dig the graphics. Lovely game

Doubstract says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:45pm

It's easy to get rage quit in this game :). Good job!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Great little game here. did it twice and then decided to stop :) good work though! Nice execution

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Preety nice overal)
Took me a while to figure out that I should fall through the hole in the floor

Valybit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Bon jeu mais dommage.

efux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Really cool graphics style and I like the egyptian theme and the pyramid.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:02pm

I died like 3 times trying to get into the first hole.

Dyn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01am

Very cool. I kinda hard.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

Excelent graphical style! Fast simple platformer, loved it! Please add some music!!!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:26am

Using the UP button makes the game screen go up. :(
Ben.

charlesque says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:42am

Love the pixel art. :)

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:43am

Not bad, quite simple concept but good implementation of the theme and very fun ! Thanks !

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:02am

I like this game a lot, It is incredibly fun to play. Put a timer on it so I can do speed runs!

Manou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:53am

Nice gfx and idea, kinda addictive.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Yeah, looks like a game from my childhood! It's neat!

Well done!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45pm

falling through these holes could be more intuitive. Nice pixel graphics.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41pm

A really solid game. Of course, wish it had more to it, as the idea, concept, and style was really fun. I would play it a lot more with some depth!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Great game. Simple concept but well executed and really fun. I died more times than I care to admit! Nice pixel aesthetic too.

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice little game, I love the cute graphics! Good job on creating a level with so many traps on a single screen! ;)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Loved it from the entrance to the exit. Nice pixel art!!!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:49pm

awesome game! :D I love it

Hint: Definitely mobile worthy!

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:17am

Boom, one shot! Second game I found on this LD with a whole level on one screen and a very tiny character. I still think that's a good idea and it's nicely done here.

Fnkee says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Great game! I have to agree upon that those lava traps at the end are quite unforgiving. If the theme was different, this game would be really fun to play with multiple stages! Good job on this, man (;

Zimennik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Game is fun. But I was expecting to see some additional difficulties when u complete 1st escape then 2nd etc.
Overall - good.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Hi there. Okay I see the point... it seemed unwinnable, maybe not, but the guns on third tier up kept getting me. Like the sounds. Nice design. Good job!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:55pm

Damn, couldn't beat your game yet. But it's a really cool idea and a lot of fun. Well made :)

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Awesome game all around!!! Would love to see it with randomly generated level for some extra evil points :D

sportsquid says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:36am

Dat lava dough

Javabot says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:06am

fun for a moment, but way too easy to beat.

Ossi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:27am

Very cool graphics style and cute sound effects! I really like the way you laid out the obstacles and having that ghost chase you really adds more pressure and challenge. Well done!

Meral says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:27am

Cool idea with the escapes/death ration to win. On my first try I didn't realize how to fall trough the whole on the topmost level, because I wasn't standing close enough on it. So the ghost killed me like you planed. :)

This feels very solid. A great entry!

S0rax says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:10am

The graphism are minimalist but, it's not choc me because it's going well with the univers. good entry !

Dokthar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Nice game, graphics are simple but well done. You made different traps, that good :D. I like the win condition.

estuardolh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:41pm

level 0 too hard D': haha

bushmango says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Fun to play :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Wow, you did a lot with one screen here, that's great!

The control scheme was very tight, too. When I got in the zone, a few times I surprised myself by quickly making a set of jumps (for example over the first lava part) perfectly just by reflex. That means your controls were set up well, I think!

I did experience two difficulties. First, the very first time I played the game I started looking at the screen. There was a lot of stuff and I didn't know where my character was. But within a second or two I started to take damage, quickly. I died before I even learned where to look on the screen. Perhaps the ghost should leave you alone in the initial room, and only chase once you pass through the first door. That way a new player can practice the keys and even figure out that he's at the top of the pyramid. Of course this didn't matter anymore once I learned.

The second problem was technical. I tried it in two different browsers, but it happened in both. I kept having trouble getting my guy to fall through the first door. I died many times from the ghost killing me in the first room while I was walking back and forth over the hole and not falling down. Because I died so many times up there, I did not try for the challenge of escaping more than I died - I died WAY more than I escaped. ;)

But those were minor problems and I thought the game was very effective once I got out of that first room. Nice job taking the theme seriously and stretching what you could do!

Riocide says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Overall a really clever idea but I cant get past those 2 large lava pits! Arghhh... Frustrating!

Frump says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 12:16am

Cool idea. I didn't have any trouble escaping. It should have been even harder!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:17pm

A really nice one. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]