Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Down The Rabbit Hole

by cxsquared - Compo Entry

Down The Rabbit Hole is a simple platformer with the tiles being made up of previous levels. Once you get to the last level you can see the entire game on one screen.

The game was made using Haxeflixel, PyxelEdit, SFXR, and Logic Pro.

This was my first attempt at Ludum Dare and I'm pretty happy with it. It was a whole lot of fun and I can't wait till next time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#97Audio3.59
#180Mood3.42
#705Humor2.29
#710Innovation2.92
#723Overall3.04
#845Fun2.78
#915Graphics2.54
#1062Theme2.99

Comments

Mixer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:37am

Really good game! The music and text really added alot of mood to the game, I should remember that for my next game :D

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:39am

Interesting colors and music. Along with an interestingly made theme. The colors actually started hurting my eyes a little. the music did well with the mood though

squirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

The music and the gameplay was fun, but the graphics were REALLY distracting at some points. Still, nice way to use the theme and fun game.

resty says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:47am

really really good game, except for the color...

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18am

I couldn't run it, didn't fit into my screen.. how ironic

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22am

Very mellow music, loved it. Nicely done!

BKGH says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22am

I absolutely love the change of graphics, as well as the audio!

karol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:32am

I can't get past the third level or so. The blue box just doesn't seem to jump high enough to get on the next platform.

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:46am

the scrollbars kinda break it, i didnt see them at first and a few levels got frustrated as i couldnt find my guy.

Figglewatts says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Loved the mood of this one. Double jump didn't work if I jumped up to the max jump height with a single jump.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Very strange feeling game, especially with the colors and changing scenery. Truly makes this quite simple platformer really interesting!

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Love it! All hail HaxeFlixel :P

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:06am

Nice music. That and the text transitions really added a lot of nice touch to the game. I found the double jumping to be a little finnicky at times, but overall the platforming felt pretty good!

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13am

This game is a nice calm platformer

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:58am

Nice one. I'm tempted to replay just to see the game develop again. The music does set a nice atmosphere!

WhiteVoidia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:57am

Very nice. The controls can be a bit grating at times (sometimes feels a bit too slow, and double jumping is finicky at best). Music is great. Very novel take on the theme. Very well done.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:27am

Exceptionally great game! Keep it up!

Kitch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:00am

I had the same problem as karol, couldn't jump high enough :( But I like that the previous levels make the tiles for the next levels. Really cool concept.
Good work. Thanks!

Kitch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02am

I take that back... I totally didn't notice the double jump (I think its if you're standing still only?) Continuing on... :) (sorry bout that)

cxsquared says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

@Kitch ya the double jump is a fickle thing that I'm not even sure how to 100% do it every time.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49am

Music is amazing!

wooltech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:07am

The whole thing feels really polished. The controls feel a little awkward on the double jumps sometimes, but the music and the text on the transitions add a lot to it.

bconrad217 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:09am

Music and simplicity created a good mood. Controls were a bit finicky at times but enjoyable overall!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:47am

Awesome game! Loved the music.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Hi there. Liked the level design. Spike collision was a bit off. Found some of the jumps pixel-perfect annoying, lovely look/graphics. Liked the sound too. Good job!

aidinviper says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:23pm

nice job. i love that .

Belvar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:08pm

good level design. The tilesets are a bit odd but that makes it original. The movements are a bit too slow and the double jump mechanics is working in a weird way. Sometimes it did work perfectly and other times I struggled to get on a platform a few blocks higher.

psychonull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:21am

Well done, everything is great, specially the Mood, Audio and the idea. Would have played a lot more if the double jump was better! however I got used to it

cmcoto says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:01am

Great game, and awesome play!

Boracho says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:09am

fun little platformer. I love the way the controls feel, especially the jumping. The play on the theme is really clever as well. Good sound/music, good gameplay. Awesome job!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:11am

Really nice, simple and very atmospheric platformer. Love the use of the text from Alice.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:12am

nifty idea with the levels, although the problem i have with it is the first two levels have a really clean look to them, but as the levels get more complete, your tiles become more complex and less pleasing. i wonder if sticking to similar colors per level would help (so you eventually make it through the spectrum). i dunno. still very clever

Jupitron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:47pm

Really nice platformer, its great to progress and discover new tile sizes.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Very nice! The colors are a little exaggerated but your take on the theme is very nice. Also a very cool song. Good job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:13pm

good game with good music.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:12pm

this was a good innovation. great job!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:35am

Clever idea! I would've like checkpoints in a couple of the tougher levels, but the music was outstanding!

LMT says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Really awesome music and nice interpretation of the theme!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Interesting idea with the tiles!
Some graphical feedback for the player's interactions (jumping, landing, dying) would've been great. Maybe also a faster move speed for the player.
I got stuck in the level where the spikes appeared for the first time, because I couldn't jump high enough to reach the next platform.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:31pm

As others mentioned music with mellow gameplay creates very interesting atmosphere. I really like graphics style on second screen :D I noticed that on one repetition main player character changed color to pink :) Does something controls it or is it at random ?

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:42am

@PigeonsFromOuterSpace the players can be randomly chosen from 3 different color.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:37pm

It's a good entry for a first time ! Hope we'll see you on next LDs, well done. :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:04am

Great debut on your entry. This is a good start and great to see your proud of your game. I loved the narrative you put behind this game, and it was tricky the way you had to perform double jumps to reach certain platforms. Good design choice and pacing.

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Cool interpretation of the theme and pleasant keyboard composition!

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:10pm

I enjoyed the sense of evolution you gave at the start of the game, too bad you didn't use this feature further.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Really like this, but after the first few screens it got a bit too hard for me unfortunately! The transition in scale was interesting too, I'm not sure how much that gets used later but would be interested to see more of that. The art may not be to everyone's taste but it's certainly unique, music is good too.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Good platformer, BUT:
- there is no collider on some spikes so they do nothing
- cant double jump if I touch anything in mid-air so its very tricky to double jump in some narrow spaces.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:25am

Interesting interpretation of the theme ^^
I felt that sometimes the double jump didn't work properly, but it's ok.
It's a nice game and congrats for concluding your first LD entry in your first attempt.

Backterria says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I like the abstract tiles that you've used!Nice relaxing music too!

Dracir says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Colors choice wow, my eyes :P. But i like the idea that you see all the last levels

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Hi, enjoyed your game. :) I loved the idea of the past levels being part of the tileset for the next, but it did make the graphics very noisy. :/ The collision was a little unforgiving, but the game wasn't too long so I didn't mind. The music was very nice, and I like the use of Lewis Carroll. Keep up the good work! :)

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:09am

Very creative! Loved how existential /poetic? philosophical?/ it felt, thanks to how text and music worked together. A little like Thomas Was Alone on acid /in a good way!/. Great work!

jukimv1986 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 8:59pm

great game for being your first ludum dare! I liked your approach, similar to the one I used, and then how you wrapped it with a story. very well done, keep doing ludum dares!!

srakowski says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:48am

Mood was great! I like the tie into Alice and Wonderland! The controls and movement were quite interesting... it had the feel of moving a block around the screen without gravity, but was full on platformer. I just liked the feel of it. Well done!

gameattack says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:47pm

I like the music and ambiance of the game. Graphics are confusing though.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Neat idea. The levels don't seem well-designed for the double jump, though (and I also didn't know about the double jump until reading comments).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]