Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

AppAtk

by Indigon - Jam Entry

A fun little tower defense game - literally, "on the screen".
Install apps to defend your depleting phone battery.

The game works pretty well on mobile as well - try it on your phone!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Theme(Jam)4.11
#146Audio(Jam)3.56
#168Humor(Jam)3.33
#202Overall(Jam)3.61
#326Fun(Jam)3.28
#327Mood(Jam)3.29
#369Graphics(Jam)3.55
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:09pm

nice, very cool idea

jmborden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Nice idea for a tower defense game, but unfortunately the game seems to lockup for me in Chrome and Firefox on my Mac after I put on a third tower. I am waiting till after the Jam is over to vote!

yonbergman says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Hey thanks @jmborden - there was a small issue that was fixed. Hope you give this another try :)

erebusman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35am

Nice job was a little confused at first but once I got it was a cool concept!

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:38am

There was some very strange behavior with the turrets. It seemed like they often would just stop attacking for a while, with enemies clearly within their range. This was really frustrating, because it made it almost impossible to come up with any sort of strategy. Instead of being able to build a good path, it ended up just reacting to which towers decided to break that wave, and spamming cheap towers to try and patch the hole. After the wave with the black enemies, it locked up and crashed my browser.

It looks promising, but it seems there are quite a few bugs still to be rooted out.

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:59am

Nice TD concept... Simple graphics, and fitting music...

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Really nice take on tower defense. Fun game!

DevWouter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:54am

Really nice! Well polished, looks good and fun gameplay. However I would love to see the path before I'm placing buildings and I wish here was some random offset in the fire time so that two turrets just shoot at little different timing (gives it a more dynamic feel)

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Polished and slick design. It would've been nice to see some upgrades in there.

alvarop says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:43am

Very, very clever idea and excellent implementation. The game needs some balance and tweaking, but I really loved it. May be one of my favorite games so far. Great job!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:22am

Very clever .) Looks very good, enjoyed it!

flatgub says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:46am

Very clever concept and interesting to play, some upgrades might have been nice, and i agree with DevWouter, a way to see the path of enemies pre-round would have been nice.

oranebeast says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:56am

Insanely fun and innovative. Make it into an app. Would be interesting.

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:59am

nice idea , cute graphics. thumbs up!

Tosic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:00am

Nice idea and very interesting audio, the game s also really fun, good job, man!

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:10am

I like it! Awesome sound and brilliant idea. Definitely, I'll install this game on my android.
Nice work!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:50pm

This was a really cool concept. Great job!

billrizer says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Great idea - well executed.

Would have loved to see recharge timed for towers and have a little bit more balanced gameplay

Indigon says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Thanks for all the feedback everyone!

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:50pm

wooww! very innovative tower defense!

Lokiman says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 9:50am

What a great idea to have a TD game inside iPhone's springdoard :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]