Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Perfect Squad

by Deity - Compo Entry

* You Control Every Squad Member With Amazing Replay Technology! (one at a time then your entire squad's recorded actions are replayed in realtime)
* Eliminate all enemies to Win
* Click “Plan” next to each Squad member to Control & give them Orders
* Redo each plan till its perfect
* You have 10 seconds for each Plan
* When all squad members have orders, click “Execute Plan”
* Your squad will perfectly execute all orders Simultaneously
* Theme: "Enire Game On One Screen": The overhead map displays your entire game/info as well as showing the combined actions of all squad members
* Controls: W,A,S,D to Move
Space to Jump
Left Mouse to Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Innovation4.24
#132Overall3.70
#217Fun3.49
#503Mood2.98
#864Graphics2.62
#1103Theme2.88
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

QuexD says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04am

Very good game I managed to win.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:05am

Really cool idea, wish there was more

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:06am

Really nice and inventive concept!

Rundrop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:19am

Super neat idea! I would love if you expanded on the idea some more, with the levels and gameplay fleshed out a bit more this could really be an amazing game!

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

Really cool concept, I would like to see this developed further. :)

kavic says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:50am

Simple idea executed very well. I would definitely like to see this developed more with say, different classes or abilities!

SeeJay55 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:28am

Neat concept, this could be the start of something really cool.

sheigeno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:35am

..hey..this has a future..keep improving the game..awesome gameplay :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36am

Awesome idea, haven't tried anything like it so far :)

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37am

The idea is very good, need to improve it into a great mechanic for game

nbilyk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:42am

A great start, I'd love to play a full game in this style :)

erik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54am

This concept could make for a really interesting strategy game. Very cool. Mouse sensitivity was crazy high for me on OS X in the web player for some reason.

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:56am

Amazing concept 5/5 for innovation

exoddinary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:57am

Yes, it has a future battleship-liked fps!

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:00am

Great idea for a game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:03am

REALLY cool concept. A bit lacking in the fun department without enemy AI/movements, but the core idea is really interesting and I'd be all over a polished post-compo edition.

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

It's basically like a tech-demo version of Time Rifters (http://store.steampowered.com/app/270010/). Not much here that really shines compared to the full game that's already out there, so I'm not sure what to say.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:06am

Cool idea!

CliffracerX says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:25am

Very clever, I approve of the beans running amok shooting everything!

Graphics are not super-great, but they go really nicely with the sounds and style. Nice job!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:40am

This is the funnest entry for me so far. I think that its great that your guys are all bad shots. I have as much fun with the failures as the successes.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

Very fun concept! Reminded me of Frozen Synapse, but in 3D :)

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12am

I agree about different classes and abilities - you could take this concept pretty far! I had fun.

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26am

Good!

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27am

Interesting concept, high score for innovation! Definitely room for expansion and polish, hope you will take this entry further after the jam.

MrLeePerry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02am

WOAH! FREAKIN EXCELLENT GAME! Super ambitious, and really well done! I love this. Highest ratings I've given a game so far.

barry.p.evans says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:09am

VERY cool concept! if you developed this concept further it could really be something great!

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:34am

If only the enemies fired back, then it would be a game!

sirikan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:55am

Nice idea :)

calavera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22am

Very cool! wish there were more levels (and more difficult levels)

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13am

Very interesting mechanic!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:53am

The mechanic was a wonderful idea in my opinion. I believe you could of improved on controls as firing and moving felt quite awkward. Overall Good Job! Maybe you could use the mechanic on a game with extended game play.

Kabukky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:18am

This is great! FPS controls could be improved a little, but the game is really innovative. I hope you'll develop the idea into a bigger game in the future.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Very neat concept wish there was a bit more levels.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18pm

This is a really well done concept. Maybe not so visually pleasing, but solid nonetheless. Again, wish it had some replayability value, and maybe each character had their own traits, strengths and weaknesses.

michel94 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Really nice! I would love to play an expansion of a game like this.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Great Concept... It would be nice if enemies did something.

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:54pm

This is a really cool idea! I love that you can see your plan play out as you do it...I'd love to see Payday take this idea in their games :)

Threstle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:10am

I didn't understood how to play right away, but when I got it, it became quite interesting ! Visuals may however be a little simple. :/

Jaloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:40am

Very cool idea and use of the theme. Nice one.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Hi there. That was really clever idea, like the ghost run then real runs... nice, and the successive ghosts all being there. Very clever. Good job!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Very cool concept! Really enjoyed it, great idea and great game. I can see how the theme was implemented, very cool interpretation. Great job!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:01am

Excellent idea and presentation ! Real good job sir !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]