Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Rooms

by Pix3M - Jam Entry

Original idea of the game:

You're a person in poor mental health who has been afraid of the whole world and almost never left the house. Explore the house in a light horror game, maybe find your way out.

Controls:
Arrow keys: Move
Control: Inspect

FOR THOSE WHO MAY GET STUCK:
Inspecting something multiple times may produce results. For a walkthrough and explanation of various foreign culture elements, click here: http://sta.sh/0cvahof7chx

By the Gaming Colts http://www.thegamingcolts.com/
Programmer: Geldshot
Artist: Pix3M http://pix3m.deviantart.com/

Known issues:
Interacts do not always fire

Bug fixes:
Walking animation now loops

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Mood(Jam)3.80
#137Graphics(Jam)4.08
#315Overall(Jam)3.42
#571Fun(Jam)2.96
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:10am

The atmosphere is build well, and the pixel art style always work. However, I guess you probably need to provide an instruction for the game operations; I have no idea how to use an item I got when exploring the room. Therefore I get stuck after found a flashlight.

farwyler says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Beautiful graphics, but I didn´t realy new what to do :(

paperweight says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Doors and controls could be clearer, but good game!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:35am

Really neat art. After the flashlight, I went to the room below but couldn't really find anything to do.

Controls would be nice. Even if you just post them in your game description here, it will help people know how to play.

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Had no idea how to navigate or exit the room at first, but I figured it out eventually. Nice pixel art graphics, the character animation transitions are particularly well-done.

Pix3M says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:20am

Updated descriptions to make the game more clear, and now a walkthrough is provided

Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:51pm

interesting concept, maybe with the concept off dark room you can change architecture after event, and so try to expend the map :)
text about computer was strong to me after this week-end i have to move ouside :)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:11am

Geez. Five stars for mood, that was creepy as hell. I got a really bad feeling after getting to the incense table, which only got worse and worse as things went on. Very effective. Thank you for the game!

jrap says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:23am

Amazing visual style and v creepy vibes. Unbelievable work.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:51am

Solid game! The art was great along with the overall mood of the game. The gameplay wasn't challenging, though occasionally frustrating (I definitely think it would be good to avoid needing to inspect something more than once to find an item), but in the end I think it holds up well. Good work!

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:43am

Game looks and handles great. I think maybe the game was a bit too easy, because in the end all I really had to do was search everything and find 2 keys in the process. The flashlight I just found right away and didn't even realize I needed it. Maybe there could be some way to show when you use the items. I wish there was a bit more of a puzzle to solve, and that the text somehow provided the clues to figuring it out. I wanted music too, but the heartbeat at least was doing a good job by itself at keeping me tense and setting a mood. I also didn't feel very free at the end, because I felt I was trapped in a white room, hehe. I liked the vibe overall, and the texts, they were well written and I can relate to almost all of it.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:18am

Cool game

Tifu says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Cool atmosphere, love the pixel art :3
Had to use walkthrough once to realise I had to pick up one of the cards - I had looked at the cards more than once, didn't realise I had to look at them more than once without moving away to trigger new dialogues.

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Incredible work on the interaction texts, awesome pixel art. great mood.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:59pm

there is a good ambiance in your game but it really lacks instructions, i was stuck in the stair after opening the door. Also, the character is too slow, it's a pain to search clue everywhere.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:48am

Really great game! Amazing graphics

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:50am

Lovely graphics!

schnerble says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:12am

Nice graphics and atmosphere!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]