Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Juoi

by TeamEagle - Jam Entry

Can you bring Juoi the revenge it longed for, for so many years?

HOW TO PLAY
arrow keys - move
z - attack dash

TEAM EAGLE IS
Programming - Benjamin de Jager (@m0rph3v5)
Programming - Fedor Jutte (@fejuto)
Art - Sander van Houdt (@dokonimo)
Sound FX - freesound.org

TOOLS
Unity
Fireworks
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#46Fun(Jam)3.88
#81Graphics(Jam)4.27
#114Overall(Jam)3.77
#157Mood(Jam)3.60
#387Theme(Jam)3.67
#509Innovation(Jam)3.03

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20am

Haha, at first I was upset about the lack of music, and then I figured it out. Fun and a little tough :)

fil00dl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:36pm

really epic and fun! i like the various boss patterns

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Three words to describe this game: EPIC BOSS FIGHT ahaha, loving the fluid animation along with the screen shake(abit excessive but it wasnt too bad). Overall I really enjoyed this game! Love the character too reminded me of the character from journey which im an absolute fan of

BretHudson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Love it! The zoom feature was something I considered, but didn't feel I could pull it off right. It was PERFECT in this. I quickly went from feeling like the master to an ant when the screen zoomed out, and that was pretty exciting. Great music, lovely art, and a simple but fun game!

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Hah! This was way more difficulty than I thought it would.

Love the attention to detail with the little guy's idle animations. I died many times.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Woohooo EPIC BOSS FIGHT!! :D Very cool animations and art style and fitting sounds. Nice job!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Stunning graphics! Really nice game mechanics! Quite difficult as well, overall amazing effort!

mmoustafa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45pm

This is amazing. I absolutely love this. I love how the mood and how extremely epic it is. You're this awesome lone hero fighting the brutal demon with nothing but your agility.

It's very fun! Some things were not immediately obvious at first. For example I didn't know that I was supposed to hit him. A lot of times I tried getting behind his mouth when he was shooting the beam down vertically, but I ended up dying, even though I felt I was "behind" where his mouth is.

How long is it? I've only managed to get to the second part where his arms show. I'll definitely keep trying though!

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Really fun game. I think it was also pretty clever how Z was to start, and you dashed. It immediately introduced you to the dash without having to have any kind of guide or tutorial.

monsieurvinou says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Really cool game! If only boss fights were always this cool!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:52pm

A Hyper Light Drifter homage. Short, but to the point!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53pm

Perfect a good boss fight :) I really like visuals ! and gameplay reminds me arcade hits, GREAT !More bosses coming ?
Cheers!

christopf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53pm

died so often...has a good feel in general but i sometimes felt like not seeing where i'm hitting exactly. I think it would be nice to split dashing and hitting on two separate buttons.

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56pm

Great game, love the art and the design...

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Really fun fight.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08pm

This game looks fantastic, I love the concept of a game that's just a big boss fight.

I have an issue with the controls though. I think you should have made it fully mouse driven almost like diablo. With the dash handled by clicking, which makes the character move toward the mouse. I think that control change would take this game to another level.

Good work.

Taldius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Awsesome game, I love all the effects and the screen shake!
Really fun, great work! :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Amazing, literally speechless !

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:18pm

It was a great experience, although I wish it could of had been longer/infinite, but worth playing :D

KK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Evrything is great!!
Add some punch effect it would be more epic

ilokimo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29pm

The music is enticing, the gameplay nervous and addictive, the graphics sober yet beautiful. I like also that this is a boss-fight only, however the instant-death meachnism is a bit of a fun-killer

Spilim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Excelent graphics and art style, fun but simple gameplay, nice job =) Could'nt beat the game yet though, too hardcore for me haha

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:09pm

The style of the monster reminds me of Shadow of The Colossus! Really cool game, screen shake might be a bit excessive imo. I really love the minimalistic style. Feels epic, as it should be. Fun and smooth to play! Props!

Spilim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I'be beaten it now haha epic indeed

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:54pm

Fun, colourful and exciting.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Haha, not bad. Instant bias for the Journey-like character and Shadow of the Colossus-like boss, of course. In future LDs you need to make your restarts less punishing just to avoid frustration.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27pm

One word : EPIK ! Great job !

fullmontis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Fantastic controls, and an epic fight. My only complaint is that it is too short. Otherwise its a great game!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:03pm

epic is the word. Really nice graphics and a quite smooth gameplay.

Threef says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Graphics are cute, but gameplay is too simple. I was expecting more boss waves. :/ Still it's good entry.

AMS says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:11pm

Really cool boss battle and attack mechanic! I love how he dashes when he attacks, so stylish~ I particularly love the clean vectorial graphics. I'd like too see a full-fledged execution of this concept :D

Mechamew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Visually this is just superb! Awesome sense of mood!

admix says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:19am

Solid game! I love how you gradually add new things. =)

Night says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:14pm

One of the best I saw on this compo! Really cool animation and lots of drive. I'll play again in the future. Perfect timekiller for me.

runvs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Nice Game. I like the music and the sound effects. To battle the boss feels great!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:52am

Awesome you guys! I felt it's a little too harsh, going back to the start, but I fought on. The giant enemy is kinda breathtaking. Awesome animations, and a cool attack.

You rock :D

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:50pm

The dash/attack mechanic is great !

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:08pm

No Audio rating? Damn it was quite nice. Like this for a boss fight prototype!

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I really liked that, super short with a wonderful sense of style. Great music, interesting gameplay and polish in almost all aspects. My only gripe was that the animation on the boss sometimes felt a little bit 'off', but I love almost everything else.

Keep up the great work everyone! :)

OFF says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Make me think to Hyperlight Drifter.

Truly nice, make the level before the boss and i will buy a game like that.

The control and the game feel are really perfect.

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:00pm

@Grindstorm, we've excluded the audio option since you're asked to do that if you haven't made the audio within the jam time or even yourself for that matter. :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Wow, screen shake explosion :D

This game sounds, looks and feel awesome. Keep up the good work!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:59pm

wow! the art style is awesome, and the idea is great. i wish attack and dash were different buttons though

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:41am

Hard as hell.

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:19am

Love it! Would have said to add checkpoints, but the part I kept dying on was the very last pattern. It's never fun to repeat the same thing over an over again, but really great "wow moment" short experience.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:42am

Awesome game!
A bit rough when the stones fall on your head. The feeling when you hit the boss is great. Very good game, one of my favorite.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:31am

Really enjoyed this. The move set is nice. It ramps up nicely, even though it gets crazy quick. You pretty much figure out what you need to do from the get go. I only got to what I will admiringly call "double lazer mouth time," so I'm not sure how close I got to the end.

It's a really original choice, I think and I appreciated the music. The art style is really cool and reminds me a little bit of Journey.

Excited to see what else you do. Thanks again for checking out and commenting on Natquik. It's much appreciated! And congrats on getting your entry in! :D

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:05am

Absolutely gorgeous, fun, fluid gameplay, nice animations - great work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]