Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Emojifish

by ThreeUp - Compo Entry

A simple fishing game. Your wife will only be happy when you collect a bunch of fish. Kiss your wife to advance to the next level, but only when she says it is okay!

Art is cut from public available emoji art.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1090Fun2.33
#1106Theme2.87
#1159Overall2.33
#1176Innovation1.87
#2356Coolness0%

Comments

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:55am

nice game!

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Not quite sure what to make of this one. It seemed a bit too buggy to play for me. I can see what your going after though.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Hi there. Like the look, but the controls and anchor seemed a bit messed up. Shame no sounds.

efux says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:17pm

I'm not sure if your entry is ok with the rules. In my opinion for the compo you have to do all your graphics by yourself. Otherwise it is a little buggy, but I can see a lot of potential.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:17am

Hm, I'm not really sure what I was doing. I put my anchor down to catch a fish and a whale ate it. Then when I tried to restart, the OK button was apparently a rigidbody and started moving everywhere. And I still didn't get my anchor back :(

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:17am

I see what you're going for. Needs some work all around but nice effort.

csanyk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:44am

I had a hard time figuring out when I had landed a fish, and never did figure out when it was OK to come home or what to do about the weather. Some more polish to help me understand what's going on and you could have a pretty good game.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:44am

Like someone else said, you can use free art like this, but you have to submit for the jam instead of the compo. :)

The art is cute and it was kind of addicting. I think with some nice background music, some more animations, and some sound effects, it could be pretty fun. The storm didn't seem to do anything bad to me but I didn't really mind.

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:49pm

A whale ate my anchor. Did you really draw all the assets o.O?

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Cute idea, I like the idea of bringing emoji into a game -- but in this sense it felt like a bit of a cop-out. The anchor bugged out for me early on for what seemed like no reason. Nice entry :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:23pm

love the style, and creative use of physics, well done

psychonull says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Nice game, simple but fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]