Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cauldron Twins

by drilltail - Jam Entry

NOTE: As the game is in 1024x768, you may have to set your browser to full screen mode to see everything.

NOTE 2: I uploaded a 2.0 version, which has a reworked control scheme (much friendlier), adds four difficulty levels, fixes a lot of bugs, and has a number of balancing changes. Please play the original version for judging, but check this version out if you have any continued interest!


Game Description
------------------------
Oh, no! A demonic apparition has possessed the witch Snowdrop! Mint and Pepper, the Witches of the Cauldron, are the only ones who can do something about it!

This is a horizontal shoot 'em up of sorts, with a potion brewing mechanic. As Mint, you brew potions to use as ammunition; as Pepper, you simultaneously steer the broom to avoid enemy attacks.


Controls (original version):
------------------------
Fly: Arrow keys
Select a potion type: A and D keys
Throw potion: Space
Make a potion: W


Controls (improved 2.0 version):
------------------------
Fly: Arrow keys
Make or throw Burst potion: Z
Make or throw Wall potion: X
Make or throw Haste potion: C (must unlock first)



Preemptive FAQ:
------------------------
What!? I don't get this! Your tutorial didn't help me understand anything! How am I supposed to make anything!?
1) Select the potion type you want with A and D.
2) Press W to start brewing it.
3) Now, watch the yellow bar move across the HUD.
4) Each time it overlaps a thick bar, press W quickly.
- Better timing leads to a better quality potion.
5) You will get the potion when the yellow bar finishes moving.

Huh? I'm supposed to fit inside all those tiny gaps? How skinny do you think I am?
- You only have to worry about your hitbox. It's the tiny glowing circle right under Pepper's (the right witch) scarf.

This is too hard/buggy/rawr I'm just angry/etc!
- The super-secret shortcut Shift+N will skip a stage or boss. This is useful if a bug forces you to restart, or you just want to go to the next area.
- Try to avoid making potions while moving, if you can help it. Most situations give you opportunities for this.
- During a lull, max out your Burst potions first; they're the most important.
- Low quality potions are still useful. Don't be afraid to "intentionally" make a D- Haste potion if you're too busy dodging to focus on the timing!


Thanks lots for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Overall(Jam)4.04
#32Fun(Jam)3.96
#48Innovation(Jam)4.00
#71Audio(Jam)3.83
#199Graphics(Jam)3.88
#274Mood(Jam)3.37
#317Theme(Jam)3.74
#326Humor(Jam)2.94
#1896Coolness33%

Comments

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:22am

Really cool game, I enjoyed it.

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Furyhunter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:54am

to anyone reading this, ^ don't do that. that's rude.

hi there drilltail you should come to global game jam and rock the house again

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:40am

Good game feels smooth. The potion crafting is an interesting idea.

Iak says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:47am

Awhut. This shmup is awesome. I love your cauldron mechanics - they make it so much harder to focus on dodging.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:10am

I liked it, but felt like the controls were a little off.. just didn't seem to respond to me quite right (laggy)

Shivur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:27am

Cool concept that can be declined into multiple gameplay possibilities.

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:11am

i love this, a little bit of touhou with the mixing "minigame" making it unique, never played a shoot em up like this. my only real complaint is the hitbox doesnt really stand out enough so it's a little hard to dodge compared to other shooters.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:50am

Good game! Will play the after LD version later, hopefully the controls have improved.

blay09 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:45am

Interesting mechanics, loved the potion making! I realized way too late that I can actually move too (I'm really bad at reading I guess). Nice graphics and I had fun.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Pretty awesome game! I liked everything about it, the graphics, audio and especially the mechanics. Very good job overall!

piotrevic says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:58am

Look really good and polished. Pretty fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]