Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

SPACEBOOK

by thatwhichis - Jam Entry

Spacebook is a social media simulator simulating emulating social interaction with a social media centre. OTHER SOCIAL MEDIA SIMULATORS ARE AGGREGATING YOU DATAS AND CONNECTING YOU AT OTHER PEOPLE, WELL NOT SPACE BOOK- THE SPCAEBOOK is the cutting edge in not connecting you technology. With Space book, you will

*click to post things
*receive positive response, simulating real feelings of validation
*TELL YOUR FRIENDS VIA OTHER SOCIAL MEDIAS! TWEET USING THE PROVIDED TWEET BUTTON THAT WORK S SOMETIMES IN SOME BROWSERS IF YOU ADVANCE FAR ENOUGH IN GAME IS THERE!
*send your deepest inner thoughts out into the void of the internet wherein they can be judged unworthy

*sometimes, when is late at night, you can look into the spacebook screen while you thin k your dark thoughts and yearn for a real connection with another human being but don't think this thing will every happen for you because maybe you are not good enough and everyone else if good enough AND THEN YOU CLICK AND YAY YOU DID IT! :-D :-D :-D YOU PLAYED THE GAME!

Celebrities who have played this game:
1.Ziggy from the comic-strip Marmaduke
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
Will fill these in as celebrities play game, like maybe Matt Damon or Matthew McConnaughey or other famous Matthews

Broderick

OH HEY so this made in, like, a few hours today; was busy this weekend, brollin' with the homes, they all on spacebook. Word.

OH DOUBLE HEY like this was made in Construct 2 and Photoshop and with love. Love, mang. Not the engine.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#11Humor(Jam)4.26
#511Theme(Jam)3.55
#619Mood(Jam)2.89
#650Innovation(Jam)2.81
#840Fun(Jam)2.58
#853Overall(Jam)2.77
#953Graphics(Jam)1.76

Comments

DavidVisscher says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Quite funny!

TheZiggy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15am

Lol, not quite sure what to make of this. very funny though, especially the description. 5/5 for humor!

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:17am

Wait, THEZiggy? I'm putting that down in my celebriteis :-D :-D :-DDDDD

Asaratha says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19am

i have no idea whats going on

Paul Sinnett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21am

A nice take on the Cow Clicker style of game.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21am

We are filling up the internets with words.... together.

::HUGS ASARATHA::

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41am

Haha hell yeah

Magosis0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57am

I got to 901 posts, 150 buddypals, 32706 likudos, and 377 starmarks. I don't know how to feel about this game... It was cool when I got the reactive Twitter button (which I tweeted because why not), but I was wanting more to pop up, which nothing really did... I'm not sure if the developer thought people weren't going to click for very long, so they made the upper limit of actions pretty short in terms of clicks or if there is an entire plethora of more content after my 901 posts... Either way there was a long period of time where nothing happened, so I got bored... I probably would have kept clicking if there was more anything in general aside from another "Yay! You did it!". Altogether it was amusing but left me wanting more.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Thanks for tweeting, Magosis0! Due to last-minute nature of game, was unable to integrate many desired features, such as generated buddypals with distinct likes/dislikes, choices of things to post, other more "strategy" than "clicker" features.

Also lost time attempting integrate with Faceybook; assigned app ID but unable to quickly get login/sharing options enabled quickly enough- wanted for FB to be two cycles after Tweetsy. :'( :'( :'(

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Would have liked to have seen the other features you mention you wanted to implement.

Kwask says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Had me laughing a few times, shame there wasn't more to it!

Beerman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:24pm

Silly, but amusing. Perfectly simulates the social media experience - in SPACE!

karol says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:58am

This definitely deserves 5/5 on humor. I wish I could give more. Very funny and surprisingly accurate. :D

GagaPete says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:20am

Awesome experience. I feel like a real social media expert now. Gimme some Twittas! A usual great thatwhichis product. A little bit short though.

ianh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:21am

Now I wish this were a real social network!

zatyka says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:38am

That was ridiculous in a good way, but I think I enjoyed your description more than the game :)

ponk says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Funny :) !
Like how the scene become satured with the text.
May be some solitaire winning screen effect could add some spice :D !

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:34pm

thanks peoples!

1. think i may make real social network? but full of fake people. so.... like a real social network. *BITING SOCIAL COMMENTAREY- ACHEIVED!*

2. ponk i came to enjoy some of the patterns that were emerging

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:17pm

You made a thing! (Not sure what to think, but hey, you did it!)

hbocao says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Very funny! I got so many Likudos! I may have cheated: http://i.imgur.com/YYkZUGZ.png

istlemin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:33pm

This made my day. Thanks. :)

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:34pm

is most beautiful thing :'-)

MaesK says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Hahaha, nice idea! I got many likudos, twosters and favostars or something like that. Very social. Oh wow so happiness rite now </doge>

lion123 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:56am

Thumbs up for a tweet feature :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]