Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Frostbite

by ShellfishGames - Compo Entry

"Entire Game on One Screen", right? So naturally I made two games for the price of one. And both are called Frostbite. The "inner" game is a simple platformer with limited mechanics. However, it requires a new CD for each level, so you have to traverse the "outer" game's world to find the CDs in order to play through the inner Frostbite.

Makes sense? Well, try it out, it's not as complicated as it might sound. I think.

WASD + Space to move, E to interact. I recommend playing it without knowing anything more than that about the game, as it will most certainly surprise you on a few occasions. At least that's the plan.

Enjoy. :)

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Edit: Uploaded a fixed version of the game. Throwing snowballs is set to both CTRL and Shift now, so those struggling with Windows reacting to multiple Shift hits can use the other key instead. Futhermore fixed a typo and a confusing occasion where a door that's supposed to be closed was still open - not really a game breaking bug, but.. well.. kind of? Also added the DLLs to the package. If there's still one missing let me know!

Edit²: Fixed another bug that made a the game's instructions unreadable on low screen resolutions. Sorry if that affected anybody, should have checked that earlier. :|

Edit³: If you'd like to enjoy the game without those bad, bad textures, you can replace the tiles.png file inside the media folder with this image: http://shellfishgames.com/dl/tiles.png
Similar aesthetics but less extreme contrast. Consider this a "post compo" thing though, as that is quite a change to the experience. Hence it's not part of the fixed version you can download above.

Edit⁴: Uploaded a playthrough video to youtube for those that can't run the game. Unfortunately the video runs at about 2 frames per second there, unlike the file I uploaded which is perfectly fine. Don't know the reason though, never had that kind of problem with any video I uploaded, so I can't do much about it and it's a bit of a pain to watch. :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#67Humor3.67
#200Innovation3.66
#238Mood3.31
#254Overall3.52
#308Fun3.36
#411Audio2.94
#416Theme3.70
#607Graphics3.00

Comments

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:54am

Haha, such a amazing and ridiculous game :)
Had great fun while playing, well done!!!

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56am

nice game!

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

MSVCRT71.dll missing. Could you provide a link to the redistributable I need to install?

elliottd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03pm

wow really cool. pressing shift a couple times triggers the sticky keys popuup. consider using a different key. really nice work. I think a persistent game (inside the game) world would be neat in that it would make you hold two mental maps at once. the level structure of the 2d game sort of means you don't need to do that.

roktom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nice, really like those arms :D

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Great fun although a couple of bits of feedback
IF you make pressing Shift the "fire" key, it will trigger the windows shortcut for sticky keys... when that happens you have a multi window control conflict which is tricky!
it is possible to block your progression with the snowballs.. but also exploit them by putting them on spikes.

Despite this... I really enjoyed your game! I am glad the theme wasn't snowman tho ;)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Thanks for your comments, I'll make sure to try your games eventually. :)

@Wakka sorry about that - are you sure it's msvcr>T<71 though? I only know msvcr71, which is often an issue (didn't think it would be for this game, but apparently it is).
You could try putting the DLLs from this archive:
http://shellfishgames.com/dl/msvc_dlls.zip
Into the game's directory. Usually that does the job already.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Also, I'll fix the Shift problem later today as soon as I've got a bit more time. I actually tapped into the same trap before with other games but forgot about it. .__.

Zayron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:03am

Good job this was fun. There is the sticky key problem but you already said you were going to fix that. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:30am

Thank you Zayron, the fixed version is uploaded now. :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Nice! Liked le roller-coaster at the end.
I think I found a short-cut in the gravity puzzle(?)
And constructing a bridge was sometime iffy.
the music also seemed a little to repetitive after a while.
Otherwise the game was solid.

danielilett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:24pm

This was a nice idea, but I feel you tried to cram loads of mechanics into the game, and some of them didn't gel correctly with the rest. The 3D bits with the flipping gravity was a nice idea, but it felt confusing when I moved onto another wall for me - it's a similar reason why there was originally a mobility gel planned for Portal 2 that would allow players to walk on whatever sequence they wanted, but it gave players motion sickness, so it was scrapped. The idea of having two asynchronous games was quite welcome though, it just needs some refinement. The textures for the walls in the 3D game were very sickly (ugh, staring at that blue :p), but like you said, it's your first 3D game, and most of the mechanics were very well executed considering that fact. In the 2D game, you could break the whole snowball shooting mechanic by shooting over the spikes. However, overall, I felt you did a lot in the given time, and I certainly can't downvote you for the sheer amount of work clearly put into this, just needs a lot of refinement if you ever take this idea further. It was also an inventive way to bypass the theme's limitations. Really great work :)

stray says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Nice, cool idea and theme. I liked it. :)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Great game, considering time limit an Dark Basic ;) Mostly 5 stars.

TriSquare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:41pm

missing d3dx9_31.dll i even downloaded from the fixed link, what a shame

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:43pm

@Gaspard, what shortcut do you mean? There certainly is one due to somewhat buggy behaviour of the catapult things when approaching them from an unintended gravitational situation so to speak, but you still have to get to the ceiling right?
And indeed, I'm not too satisfied with the bridge building thing. But then again, I kind of like the idea of the 3D snowman (the one you play from 1st person perspective) living in that perfect 3D "game world" but still enjoying such a lame 2D platformer. :)

@danielilett, thanks man! Quite a bit of feedback there. You're certainly right about a lot - maybe too much - stuff being in the game. The gravity puzzle is indeed confusing, but that's also sort of the point - except sometimes the camera rotates in weird ways when changing gravity, but to be honest I was highly relieved to even get it as smooth as it is now in the first place.
I guess the snowball mechanics are generally not the best. Guess I should have spend a bit more time on the platformer's concept beforehand.

hollowspecter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:55pm

WOW. I've really enjoyed this game! Awesome scope, very solid, I loved switching back and forth, the music in the room, the paintings, all the gags you worked in... Very well done! Only thing that was annoying was the blue tiles everywhere :D! Great work!!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Хорошая игра)

peterthehe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Absolutely beautiful :')

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:05pm

This was one of the best ones I've reviewed as of yet! You actually made me laugh sometimes. I just kept thinking about what an extremely inappropriate appartment setup. "Keep your discs in the same place man, what is wrong with me?". The 2d would've needed some more attention to detail, but the mechanics were impressive. AT LEAST considering this is a 48 hour project. The 3d part was almost flawless. Just those headache inducing textures as you mentioned. You deserve a great ranking!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Cool game, I like the switching back and forth between two totally seperate games, that was an interesting premise. Some nicer textures would have been nice, but overall the graphics were ok considering it was your first foray into 3D. The first person snowman laughing was kinda funny as well.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Well, I would love to play the full version of this game as I think it's amazing :D

Namide says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Good code and funs ideas

Domicuc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Yeah how say Wayward ridiculous.. nice x) if you have some time also check my project x)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Impressive in all regards!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:26pm

I absolutely loved the bits where the snowman was laughing, probably the funniest thing I've seen this jam.

Exceptionally well put together for your first 3D game too. So many mechanics, and clever use of the theme.

This is fantastic.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Very nice game, good job.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Very strange but fun game. I feel like there wasn't much of a relation between each of the game's elements, but it was fun none the less. Good job!

lase says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I enjoyed this game, but I eventually had to quit because the gravity change room was making me nauseous. I liked most of the mechanics indvidually (bridge building, bouncy platforms, etc.), but using them all at once felt sorta jumbled. I think that there could be more focus on the theme, besides the subversion with the TV.

Tifu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Is... that a darkbasic icon? I don't think I've seen a DB entry before =o
This is really impressive, I was fully expecting a "oh, two games? yeah, and neither one is going to be much, right?" but mind blown! This is really good.
That first bit with "also: snowman" made me laugh out loud, good jobs :P

killthealias says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:12am

This is actually really awesome. I got some serious Portal/Antichamber vibes from the 3D sections of the game. The 2D parts don't really work, but the jumping and gravity switching works perfectly, and feels incredible. I think if you were to develop this further (which you really should) you should take out the 2D part and replace it with some sort of story elements as reward for the puzzles. Also, you own a rollercoaster because rollercoasters are AWESOME!

Gandalf1209 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:49pm

That was really good! Very unique, how the levels intertwined. Mouse sensitivity would have been a nice option, but other than that, it was a great game! Nice job!

grid96 says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Awesome game :D would have been nice if you could relieve my mouse if I minimize the game...

nosfer says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:45pm

craaaazy, i liked it, made it to the end:)

Warpgames says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Good idea, graphics may be better I think, but still, good.

reheated says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Very clever, both games have nice mechanics! I enjoyed building bridges.

greytram says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Very original game, with lots of ideas!
The snowman game is simple but fun. The "outer" game is even better... I enjoyed wandering inside the labyrinth looking for the exit or jumping around!
Well done!

Dec 20, 2014 @ 11:05pm

This game is amazing!
The physics and camera control gives me the UT99 feel, perfect! The level design reminds me of Portal. The concept and execution is near perfect.

I'm astonished that you managed to make this within 48 hours.

Also that laugh is the best thing in the world

caporaltito says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Excellent! The default wall texture made me sick but the rest is excellent.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:27pm

You've successfully recreated the experience of playing Monkey Island on an Amiga, congrats ;)

Love this game. Great idea, amazing execution, lots of humor and yes, there are some surprises. I actually even like the grid-like textures, but that might just be me...

victorljs says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Good theme to use. good job

Si1ver says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:40pm

I love this entry! =)

Dans17 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Very fun and unique entry!

ramoncb says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:39am

Have a unique presentation with it, is two games in one!! Quite complex for a compo entry!

Good job! =D

stasss says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 1:09am

Great job for compo, interesting play with theme. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]