Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Sorry the Snowman

by Dezzles - Compo Entry

Sorry the Snowman didn't realise that Christmas wasn't exactly pleasant for a snowman and desperately wants to escape to somewhere a little colder like England or Canada or the Sahara...

Unfortunately, he's lost his teleportation device laying around somewhere and there's a whole bunch of broken ones everywhere!

Esc to quit. The game is not broken. It is behaving EXACTLY as intended. Have fun

Voxel's challenge completed. I'm so, so sorry...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#16Innovation4.37
#73Humor3.62
#140Theme4.03
#308Fun3.36
#333Audio3.08
#380Overall3.37
#577Mood2.91
#971Graphics2.45

Comments

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:45am

I shall defeat your evil maze!

lion123 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31am

Just Wow. The funniest game on the whole ld31. Also found out that my screen was not big enough :D

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:32am

Pretty fun game!!!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:34am

you may have to control-alt -delete this guy.

Dezzles says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:01am

Esc key should work for exiting :)

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:02am

Frustrating and hilarious! Hope people don't just skip past that intro music and experience it all. The presentation is ace! Good spin on the theme too.

voxel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:15am

There's a bug: the intro song should *not* be skippable. Scrambling was a touch of evil genius. Sir I salute you and your passable singing voice.

djdduty says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:54pm

I LOVE IT, I WANT TO MAKE BABIES TO IT.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Doop de doop de doop doop doop, yay I saved the Snowman :D

Cool take on maze games :)

the31 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:00am

Haha, awesome. Almost shouted when I got a radio and the windows rescrambled! Sometimes had an issue where a window wouldn't focus when I clicked on it... strange. Awesome idea, and congratulations on beating voxel's challenge. :)

dorkster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Oh that is naughty. :D

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:46am

What?! This is ridiculous! I burst out in laughter!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Fantastic take on the theme!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Brilliant.

nesis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:00pm

My brain melted, just like a snowman in the Sahara. Good game, and good god!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Wow, pretty original, best take on the theme so far. Easy to miss this game, but playing it was a great surprise :D

syawqy says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:24am

I finished the game, YAY!!!

ghostonline says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:47am

Very nice interpretation of the theme!

dkilford says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:56am

Definitely the most innovative concept I've seen, also the most creative use of the theme. Technically it's the exact opposite of the theme, but I loved the use of it. Unfortunately my screen isn't tall enough to fit all the windows, but it's a cute and novel concept. Good song, and it's good to see more Australian game devs!

DrHahn says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:00pm

That whole hundred window thing, that was cool.

jojocanard says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Missing MSVCR110.dll.
I tried to install the last Redistribuable Visual C++ but it didn't work.

voxel says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:19pm

jojocanard, read the description above: "The game is not broken. It is behaving EXACTLY as intended. Have fun"

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:57am

Om dear, THE MESS!
This is best take on the theme i've seen so far. It's genious, and your singing is brillo! :D
A truly fantastic creation of evil australian mind.

RonnyEGT says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:09pm

It was an interesting concept, and I really liked the introduction, included it in my random LD31 gameplay video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ei_gJeG5cgM

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:31pm

really nice

ianatherton says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Innovative, did not expect that really.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]