Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Neural Connectivity

by Crefossus - Compo Entry

POST JAM UPDATE. Check link below! Way better movement.

The real game takes place on screen, but only the technician can hook you up.

You CAN win. Check the spoiler if you get stuck and want to make sure you saw everything :)

Movement
WASD


Changelog/Bugfix for compo:
I fixed a hole and some collisions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#425Humor2.69
#882Audio1.91
#882Mood2.55
#905Graphics2.56
#994Innovation2.43
#1152Fun2.11
#1184Overall2.25
#1194Theme2.12

Comments

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:21am

Very trippy little adventure. I enjoyed the game, even though I think the physics need work. Also, there isn't much of a challenge in the game, except just exploring and triggering two events.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33am

Pretty fun game!!!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Funny exploration game. The controls are hard, and camera work inside the room makes me hard to go out. I like way of how you point that player should change the song! :D Would be nice to show something on the screen at the end.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21am

Graphics were pretty cool. Couldn't really figure out what game was about. explored around a bit.

khahem says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:51am

That was a weird experience, liked it :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:16am

Outlandish creation! The movement is really weird though, since it feels like you are short, and sometimes you can press a button and go flying sideways for no apparent reason, I suppose until you touch the ground again. Normal FPS controls with spacebar to jump might improve this.

I like the visual style of hte beams going up into the sky.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17am

Outlandish creation! The movement is really weird though, since it feels like you are short, and sometimes you can press a button and go flying sideways for no apparent reason, I suppose until you touch the ground again. Normal FPS controls with spacebar to jump might improve this.

I like the visual style of the beams going up into the sky.

Felladrin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:01am

Curious game. The movement was strange, but works. A lot of space to explore. Also, "this song is really bad"! That was funny!

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:45am

The movement needs a bit of work. This game gives a strange mood. Overall I liked it.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:16am

Had alot of fun wanderin round, looks really nice.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:29am

I had a few issues with the physics, but i enjoyed exploring around your level, the giant legs freaked me out a little though :D haha great entry ^^

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:17am

The movement needs some work, I was flying all over the space. Also, my mouse didn't clip inside the game window, so I couldn't do full spins :(

I think if you would have had more time, you could actually make a real game from this, because the 'quest' idea could be fun. :)

Legiion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:14am

the handling is a bit weird

Jaloko says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:16am

Fun short game, I liked the dialog text. I felt the movement was too floaty. Also the wooden houses were a bit glitchy (the camera would go though the walls). Solid entry.

local minimum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Very nice little odd adventure. It would have been disturbing with the floaty controls and not too perfect collisions (e.g. turning around close to wall) if it had not been for the trippy plot. In fact, the game might even have benefited by even weirder way of walking.

Thing to consider:

The proximity to the radio to be able to interact with it was rather short, I was about to give up before I walked right up next to it. Volume could be cranked up quite a bit.

Upon completion it would have been nice with something clearly happing on the screen. Maybe actually a game like pong appearing.

More random stuff throughout the world that didn't aim towards completing the game. Like ears that wouldn't listen, some rude bears and so on. Some of them with options in the interactions, like the radio. The option don't need to mean anything. Just more stuff to explore and experience to distract away from the quite linear and straight story.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Hi there. Found the camera and movement a bit tricky. Shame no sound.

edve98 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I think that it is too unfinished also, but I have 1 question: were you planning to add some kind of minigame at the end?

edve98 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Do you see my old comment? If yes, don't mind it, because I got really confused by rating a few games at once, lol

Crefossus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I'm so confused. Yes I was planning to make the entire real gameplay portion of the game in screens, but it didn't happen.

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:03pm

A super strange experience, but I found it and the writing pretty intriguing. The controls though need some work, the player is far too floaty which makes exploration a pain.

VDZ says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:10pm

I'm afraid I can't say anything positive about this game. It's just bad. The entire game exists solely of arbitrary tasks that make little sense and don't give any emotional reward to the player.

The main problem is that this game is an adventure game that A) doesn't make any sense; and B) does not give the player any reason to care about solving the puzzles. In a good adventure game, you don't just want to 'get to the next task', you want to help the protagonist escape from his situation, or discover what's beyond that one mysterious door, or something similar.

Here, you're just dropped into a nonsensical world and there's no reason to want to solve puzzles. You could at least give the player a bare minimum of interest in solving puzzles by, for example, leaving a part of the world locked away, so the player will want to solve puzzles to see what else there is to see in this world. Or you could add some kind of story; why is the player in the world, and why does he want to see the screen? Maybe the protagonist suddenly woke up in this strange world, and the whatever-it-is tells him the screen will reveal the reason he's in this world; it would make the reader slightly curious as to what's on the screen and give him a reason to go through all the steps to see it.

The nonsensicality of the puzzles is what kills whatever fun may be left in a puzzle game without any reason to solve the puzzles. In a typical adventure game, you find an item that you can pick up, say for example a screwdriver. If the puzzles are logical, this makes the player assume 'hey, there must be something for me to do with the screwdriver', and he'll start looking for things that might contain screws. If he then attempts to use the item on something that looks screwdriverable and something happens, this gives the player a sense of accomplishment; he figured out that the screwdriver works on the other item and the game rewards him for being smart enough to figure that out.

This game completely lacks such logic, however. If you find the teddy bear first, there's no reason whatsoever to assume the tall man needs it. If you find the tall man first, he immediately gives away the answer to the puzzle ('he needs a teddy bear'), leaving only the tedious part (finding the item, and it's not hidden in a way that makes the player feel smart for finding it). Had instead the tall man been a lonely-looking fellow that just said "I'm so lonely...", remedying his loneliness by giving him the teddy bear would greatly increase the player's satisfaction upon completing the puzzle, especially if he had to manually give the teddy bear rather than automatically clearing the puzzle when approaching the lonely fellow.

In addition to not having any puzzles solvable by logic, there are also useless elements further denying players any challenge of figuring things out. What are the houses for? What's with the giant teddy bear? What do I do with the potion of strength? The complete lack of answers to these questions leaves the player further discouraged from attempting to solve anything. Furthermore, in this specific game it works against the experience further by causing disappointment; I had to double-check with you on IRC whether the game really was over because I'd expected to do something with the potion of strength and all the other unnecessary elements in the game. You know how sometimes a story ends and leaves major plot points unanswered? It's exactly like that, except almost EVERYTHING remains unanswered in this story.

All that leaves is a game in which you can walk around the world and look at stuff. The complete lack of music (aside from the radio) and sound really hurts the atmosphere which usually makes exploration interesting. As others have pointed out, the movement sucks and camera has issues (as well as the terrain hiding things in such a way you think it's not there; I didn't notice the radio until after I finished and replayed the game for the sidequest), rendering exploration not only not fun, but actively unpleasant. When exploring in this tiring way, the only things to see are a couple random objects that seem to be rather roughly modeled, mostly untextured and lacking in any consistent style. The text is the only somewhat interesting thing to see.

Two minor further remarks: The radio puzzle requiring music is inconsistent with the rest of the game having no audio. Hearing no audio after playing the game for a minute makes players conclude there's no audio at all, and they may turn off their sound altogether or turn on music of their own, leaving them unable to hear the music when it does arrive. The other remark is also about that same sidequest; as with the main game, there is no reward (emotional or otherwise) or any specific reason for the player to do it. It is literally a waste of time. You should've implemented it in the main quest so it could piggyback on the emotional payoff of solving the main quest (had there been any) or given some kind of reward to the player for solving it.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:57pm

nice, very interesting, well done

el-pepi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:04am

Kind of weird and funny. There wasn't much to do more than walk arround.

Zi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:14am

I was very absorbed in the world, but couldn't figure out what to do. I think this was a very interesting idea with great potential, but less than perfect execution. Great job nevertheless! :)

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:41pm

It took a while to figure out what I was doing (no instructions or anything) but once I did I completed it relatively quickly. There was no real challenge, or anything to explore really, and it was lacking music.
There wasn't really anything to keep my interest.
I thought the physics were decent and the controls were fine, so I don't really know what people were complaining about there.

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:28pm

I don't get the point: how do you even play the game.. It's hard to control too

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]