Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pink Morning (a waterdrop's journey)

by jhice - Jam Entry

The story of a waterdrop on a window.
You have to guide the drop to "eat" other drops and grow.

--------
CONTROLS
--------
- Mouse + Click to control the water drop
- Press SPACEBAR to start
- M to mute music

-----------
HELP & TIPS
-----------
- You can hit borders except if you're too small
- Avoid orange hungry drops
- You start at the center of the screen
- The more big is the drop the more slow it is
- Hit the walls to reduce size and gain speed (but not to small!)

-----
NOTES
-----
- Music made with generator "Otomata" : http://www.earslap.com/page/otomata.html
- Background picture taken on Google images
- Engine : HaxeFlixel

Created by Jean-Christophe "jhice" Guinez and Ronnie "inagun" Clouet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#104Theme(Jam)4.06
#386Audio(Jam)3.03
#411Mood(Jam)3.16
#472Graphics(Jam)3.33
#534Overall(Jam)3.18
#640Innovation(Jam)2.82
#806Fun(Jam)2.64

Comments

Mossy Frog says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53am

nice little game, feels like it could work well on mobiles. The "orbit" can get a little out of control at times, but I guess that's part of the challenge :) Very nice entry

misto423 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53am

Nice! My only complaint is that it was kinda hard to control.

jhice says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01am

Thanks! +1 for the mobile.

Concerning the difficulty, yes, there is a time to get the orb nuder control (especially when small).

Actually I can play between 10s and 1 minute (max score 63 while testing the game), so yes the difficulty level is from normal to hard ;)

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:47am

I liked the equilibrium of the game, I mean, it is easiest to control the drop when is not too big and not too small, but is hard to keep the optimum size.
Very nice ambience, it would be fun even without enemies, kind of "zen game".

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Nice game.

Lolwned says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Very soothing game and music. Great work.

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Nice chill mood, sweet little game.

Taldius says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Nice game. It become hard really fast but it's still fun to play.
Good job! :D

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Well done, like Osmos

jhice says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Thanks everybody :)

@SushiDestroy : I have Osmos on iPhone and yes, while making the game I thought often to Osmos, the ressemblance was not intended at the start of the project :)

Kind of "what if the drops get bigger when then touch" and so on.

NuSan says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:42pm

Great mood. I would love to get big enough to eat the orange dude ! Keep up the good work !

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Hi m8, please help me fix the arrow issue you had on my game by downloading the debug version and sending me the log, thanks!

Now on to your game!

Nice idea, good and simple game, though i felt the 'you' looked a bit similar to the other drops, which was quite confusing. I also felt it could use a little more feedback, maybe a bit of a warning when you get too small?

Graphics looked simple but good, audio felt a bit boring, but the mood was good!

jhice says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Thanks @NuSan and @Gemberkoeje. Perhaps I'll do a post LD version with all the comments here. I'll let you know.

@Gemberkoeje I send you a private message message for debug help.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:10am

Simple but quite fun with the motion physics, and great audio too! Very elegant.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:49am

Very good looking game with nice music and sound effect! I feel it will be the best when you play it during your leisure time. The game is a bit short though, and becomes hard quite easily. I aimed for becoming a large drop like the orange ones but soon found it nearly impossible... But overall, it's still an awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]