Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Alt-Tab

by robopossum - Jam Entry

Alt-Tab
A game created in 72 hours for Ludum Dare 31.

Combat boredom during your work day by collecting coins in 'Super Jump Fellow' but be sure to Alt-Tab so your boss doesn't catch you.

Controls
Move Left - A
Move Right - D
Jump - Space / W
Alt-Tab - Mouse1 / Right Ctrl
Pause - Esc / P
Mute - M

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#68Theme(Jam)4.16
#73Humor(Jam)3.77
#202Innovation(Jam)3.58
#277Mood(Jam)3.36
#301Overall(Jam)3.45
#391Fun(Jam)3.20
#413Audio(Jam)2.94
#644Graphics(Jam)2.98

Comments

daesora says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

I love this, funny game c:

fueelin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:36am

Great take on the 'meta interpretation' of the them. I thought of some similar ideas, but the added element of Alt-Tabbing is awesome.

lekochen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:41am

Lol nice one.

Tokw says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:41am

Fun i can definitely relate the boredness meter was a nice touch as well. lots of balancing to be done.

iShadow says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42am

This game reminds me of an old DOS games with panic button, like Leisure suit Larry.
I like the very creative use of the theme and game itself is very good. Restarting game-in-game every time player uses alt-tab is actually a great idea, as it's builds the frustration as a real boring desk job.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44am

Really great, very fun implementation of the theme, but if the game includes the boss, doesn't that mean that it's more than just the screen?

baseteam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:45am

true story :D

flippicat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:50am

Hahah, I knew someone would take the theme literally. :) Well done, though. It's a pretty fun little game, and the audio goes a long way in making you feel like you're in an office setting.

Terrabalt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:52am

The game itself is great, being the one that goes meta. but the game inside the game is kind of glitchy. it always stuck between walls, and sometimes touching the enemies doesn't kill you. Also, the boredom meter keeps filling even when i played the game. which make this game hard because the coins only gives so little "non-boredom".

This game is good, but needs balancing

Tuism says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13am

Awesome! I really like it, the combination of a bunch of things make this a really cool little gem.

Loved:
> Hearing yourself die in the background as boss walks past, (even if that doesn't make sense)
> The clicking to return to work - very cool incidental meshing of control/theme
> So minimal :)

Crit:
> I would have liked a single unambiguous metric of success - right now you could get bored and quit or fired after X time... It feels disparate.
> The jump is a bit off - getting stuck on walls and sometimes being able to wall jump doesn't feel quite right.

Rad stuff :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:24am

haha brilliant idea, reminds me of me in class! ;)

5k0d says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:24am

Ver nice idea!! i like it

maxyan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:29am

Sound effects really make the right atmosphere.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54am

The mood is TOO good. I kept getting terrified I would be caught when I would alt-tab and one sound effect would still play from the background. Is it just me or should the boss walk back left sometimes too? Maybe I just missed it. :P

BroCade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:56am

I realy enjoyed this interpretation on the theme, good job.

xlash86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:28pm

A game on one screen in a game on one screen? Dawg! Very meta! :)
Like it very much, the combination of mouse and keyboard controls is great and the coin game feels like one of those early Flash games ^^

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Very funny approach to the theme. I found it pretty enjoyable although the game to decrease boredom was quite difficult I thought.

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Funny concept, boss walks a bit to slow for my taste but it was fun anyway.

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Cool idea! :D Very unique and fun to play.

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Fun concept, a very cute little game :D I have to say though the jump mechanic needs some work seeing as I kept getting stuck on the walls.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:20pm

This game is very interesting interpretation of "entire game in one screen" and I really LOLed first time playing it. There is some little flaws in the "game" operation, sometimes you stick on the wall and jumping is not that smooth, but the entire game is cool.

It will be better if there is a timer for how long player has stay "alive" in this game, then aiming at a better record could be a reason for me to play again.

Rothens says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Nice idea, but why the character is coated with glue? :P Anyway, I like the idea, but it needs more polish :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Very neat idea! The platformer was a bit too simplistic, and the sticking on the walls felt like a glitch, not a feature.
Also it needs some balancing.

But overall good job :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:23am

Huh! This is funny! A little bit buggy, but anyway funny))

Sublustris says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:00am

Well done, dude

wavertron says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:45am

Theme 5 stars. The character controls were a little sticky/unresponsive. But otherwise gave me a chuckle. The coins "in-game" affecting your boredom out of game, really great idea.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 9:52am

Hahahaha. Muy bueno.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Hehe, funny idea. Super Jump Fellow controls could need a bit of polishing and some sort of small animation when losing the game would be nice, but other than that it's a nice original concept and well executed. Surprisingly high tension as well, kept me on the edge of my seat as you have to act pretty quickly when the boss arrives. :)

popcorn897 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Pretty fun. The idea is very original and the game is solid. The platformer is kinda meh, but it all works, makes sense, and makes me laugh.

b2 says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 8:53pm

99sec and boss aint one..

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]