Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Space Dwarves

by CMWeissMedia - Jam Entry

Dig to the center of the asteroid and claim its heart! As you manage your dwarves and maintain their oxygen, avoid the creeping acid and find space gold to enhance your dwarves on their journey to the core.

Goal:
Mine the gem at the center of the asteroid.

Controls:
Left Click - Selects a dwarf & selects a tile for him to mine
Right Click - Builds a wall on an empty tile

Note:
Space Gold improves mining and wall building times. (Just to clarify)

Credits:
Michael Covert
CMWeissMedia

- A game by Troll Games -
http://trollgames.biz/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#165Overall(Jam)3.67
#224Innovation(Jam)3.54
#240Theme(Jam)3.85
#248Fun(Jam)3.39
#277Humor(Jam)3.05
#305Audio(Jam)3.20
#309Graphics(Jam)3.67
#437Mood(Jam)3.13

Comments

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Really cool and well made! I like the concept ! ^^

Raxsus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Pretty fun. Wasn't able to beat it though.

sharpie656 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Really nice concept, and I love the voice acting. The art is also very nice

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Fun game, really hard, good work ^^
"Ok"

Quikding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:29pm

I loved directing the autonomous miners.

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Incredible game, music was awesome, got me hooked but didnt know how to upgrade abilities, got two gold.

plauk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Awesome.

frondeus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:55pm

This is so awesome!

Taldius says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:50am

Really good game, but also quite difficult.
I like graphics a lot.
Great job! :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:51am

Pretty cool.

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:54am

Very Cool.

eerongal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:55am

Enjoyable game. Didn't realize the acid was a bad thing at first though...

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:16am

I was ONE ... BLOCK ... AWAY

This is a great concept. I think if you doubled the speed of the dwarves, it would help immensely, but man... this has a lot of potential for funtimes.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:25am

The first three time I played there was acid everywhere I looked, but finally the third time I got to the gem easily. There may have been a bit too much random variance in the level difficulty, but it was a very good game, and a very good start to an even better game. If you're going to keep working on this I'd suggest improving the dwarf path finding (so you can say mine to this, and they will path to the nearest location before digging), adding a difficult curve (start easy and then add more hazards), and purchasable upgrades (spend gold on increased vision, or a laser drill that mines multiple blocks). Gret job, you should keep working on this one.

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:05am

Absolutely fantastic: the mood and mechanics were spot-on, the game felt balanced (!), and the objective was both clear and challenging. I felt that some "sonar" to hint at where oxygen is located might be helpful. Great job overall!

JJEvil says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Good game.

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Really cool concept! Tried a few times, but either the acid or hypoxia kills my dwarfes :-( Space is hard.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:36pm

excellent, very creative gameplay, beautiful art, challenging, love it, well done :)

monika says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:33pm

I like this. I'm going to have to come back and play it more later. Lots of stars for you.

Could possibly use a little more intelligent path planning. A lot of times, my dwarves took paths to get to where I wanted them to go that required a lot more mining than was actually necessary. If you expand it any more, you might want to get them to consider going around obstacles.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:07am

I awarded you a trophy. This post explains why: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/13/my-picks-for-ld31s-top-10-best-beards-manly-mustaches/

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:48am

Ha, hey thanks for the trophy and mention! We're glad you were a fan of our dwarven droopy mustaches & beards. :)

personalurban says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:11pm

Hey good work, bit of fun and well conceived!

Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:02am

Fun polished entry, although think it would be nice to pull the player in by having the first level a bit smaller so that they can pass and get some confidence. I made it to just a few blocks from the centre but just missed out with my O2 running out. Also nice to see Dwarves leave the caves and head into space.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:10am

After 3 playthrough (I won on the 3rd) I felt there was little strategy to this, It just came down to whether you would find gold/oxygen/acid on your way or not... (The item placement was completely random right?)

It's a shame because the idea is pretty neat, and the packaging is great, I must say. It's just not really fun to me since I don't feel I influence the winning condition...

pht59x says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:38am

Several JS errors with FF. The game wouln't start.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:50am

Really fun game play. Nice work.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:44am

Rather difficult, well thought out, pretty and addictive game!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:39am

Interesting! The graphics and sound are great. It's not immediately obvious that you have to find oxygen, I guess I missed that when I read the instructions. I'm glad you can click to have your dwarves mine a "path", but ideally I'd like some indicator showing where your dwarf is trying to dig to...A mark or waypoint or something. Also, I dug through a lot of stuff that looked it was...ore or something? But I didn't get any space gold. I was expecting to be able to use that mined-out stuff in some way. How about a key showing what each of the tiles is? Anyway, good job!

Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Really hectic once you get the hang of it. Neat idea and great execution!

Tuism says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Charming game :) I really like how honestly retro it feels, it's like one of those properly old games that maximised what it had to play with :)

At first I didn't know there were 3 dwarves. So you should make it clearer.

Then the dwarf selection is kinda awkward, clicking a tiny target like that. I think a numeric selection a la Syndicate original would have been nice.

then the dwarves are a little dumb? But that's ok if they don't have pathfinding, it's a jam :P

The gold... that's supposed to increase abilities... Did that get implemented? I can't tell.

I feel like I'd like more of an indication of when acid will advance/break through. That's a big vague thing so I never know if a dwarf is about to die or not. The same with rocks, I guess.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Very fun to play. The wall building was weird. I was always building a small wall even if I wait. I had to come back to ti to buidl a large one. Not veru sure of what happen.
Appart of that the game was celar and very addictive.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Amazing job!

Canyon says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

I really liked the art, sound and mood, and the sense of progression. I'll have to come back and play this a little more because I never managed to survive very long.

Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:26am

I really like the art as well as the concept of the game. good job. Also i'm assuming that the goal is that colorful diamond in the middle gets really hard at times haha. good entry :D.

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:30am

Even though two controls are being used, its still a good game taking on a hard theme. I like the game.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:45am

Cool. It's a fun concept, but finding enough 02 felt random. I got 1 block away on my first run and didn't even get close on the others. It's tricky splitting your attention between three hard-to-control dwarves. It's a really solid concept and execution, in any case.

Gread72 says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:52am

fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]