Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Try Saving Animals

by kneeko - Jam Entry

Try to save the animals. Slow down the conveyor using your space bar and then fling the animals out of the suitcases with your mouse.

Music by Poddington Bear.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#68Theme(Jam)4.16
#148Graphics(Jam)4.05
#157Overall(Jam)3.68
#187Fun(Jam)3.49
#201Humor(Jam)3.24
#234Mood(Jam)3.43
#382Innovation(Jam)3.22

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:39pm

I saved so many bunnies.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I like this interpretation of "one screen theme"

KeyboardCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Very fun and neat graphics ! Really good, I love the idea.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Very beautiful graphics. The style is very simple and nice.

mr_tag says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Very polished little game! It gets frantic very quickly, but that's how I like it :)

The (windows) download got blocked by chrome, said it was malicious, but I didn't believe it... I had to copy the file and rename it to .zip and as there were only the usual löve suspects in the zip and the antivir didn't complain I'd say all is well with the download!

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Great game ! I love saving skelletons !

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Neat concept. Would be good for a phone-based time-waster.

radmars says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Ha! Love this one. Nice and simple. Clean graphics, great presentation. Would love some more jarring or humorous hazardous materials! Music sets a nice tone too. Great work.

raincole says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Fit the theme perfectly. Could be a nice mobile game.

xlash86 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Nice graphics and it fits the theme. :D

Magicolo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:25pm

-Random bugs that make the game restart :(
-The penalty for clicking non-animal objects is too small; there is no reason not to be spam clicking on every package :(
-Smooth graphics :)
-Original concept :)
-Music! :)
-Not hard enough :|
-Overall nice job :D

Louisload says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Nice game! Polished graphics, fun music and concept. Would be awesome for a mobile entry

Mekuri says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:28pm

I got a bit over 194000. I found that just spamming the mouse on a suitcase with animals in it gave points multiple times. - Anyways, I enjoyed the game. It felt very polished, and the graphics and audio was very nice! Good job!

aare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:29pm

The graphics on this one are insanelly good. Clean aesthetics, and very well executed. I really had a blast playing this game. Nice music too.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Love the way you have used the theme and it feels very polished.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:39pm

I liked this concept, and the simplicity of it. Also creative use of the theme for sure, 5 stars in that department. The visuals were also very nice, clean, and felt appropriate for how the game felt. I thought the audio could have been a bit less "active", but in retrospect it also fit the game.

There were a couple of issues however. I found trying to click on specific objects a bit difficult, as the surrounding objects and ones layered underneath tend to also be selected and tossed out. This can also work as an advantage, sometimes just clicking once and saving 4 animals in one swoop. But it all felt a bit too easy, and by the end it felt pointless to try to only click on the animals.

That was mostly because the points rewarded for clicking an animal vastly outweighed any points that would be taken away by clicking anything else. After a while I found I could just click constantly in one spot an toss out nearly everything but still rack up tons of points. So the other objects probably needed to have higher penalties.

Although I liked using spacebar to slow down the conveyor and the sounds associated with it, this mechanic also felt somewhat pointless by the end since holding down spacebar permanently wasn't penalized. Also after finding out what I mentioned previously about the point values I had no need to slow down the conveyor since I was tossing objects out of peoples luggage with little care (which was humorous, so extra stars in that department).

Overall, this was a very clean and appealing game in terms of how it looked and felt. But it sort of dropped the ball in terms of providing interesting gameplay because the mechanics were easy to exploit and resulted in a lack of challenge. In order to remedy this, improve the precision of clicking certain objects, increase the point penalty for clicking "wrong" objects... and perhaps figure out a motivation for the player to not want to constantly keep the conveyor slowed down.

I enjoyed your game and it has some very good things going for it, specifically in style and all the little things you did to polish the visuals, movement, and sounds associated with the conveyor. Great job on those.

- Dylan Gallardo

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Very fun and neat graphics !

aidinviper says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:16am

nice graphics . good job

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:27am

So cute! I like how the penalty for throwing luggage out is orders of magnitude smaller than the points you earn for saving animal lives... and the penalty for not saving animals is death! This set-up really speaks for itself.

Germanunkol says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Wow, this is really awesome. Well done on all aspects of the game.

Are those real ducks or rubber ducks with a spine? O.o

Riocide says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 8:46am

hahaha nice one! Maybe have things looking like animals that give negative points?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]