Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screen of Infinite Detail

by Snicklodocus - Compo Entry

There exists a screen of infinite detail, where tiny suns shepherd tiny stars. It is the sun's duty to keep the stars in view, so the screen will stay beautiful for all. They have tools for this, such as bombs, lassos and teleporters. Guide the stars and fulfill the sun's purpose.

Get a high score by keeping stars on screen for as long as possible. This is difficult, since the stars run from you and the screen is constantly zooming in! Collect pickups for tools and score.

Move with the arrow keys or WASD.
Aim a powerup tool with the mouse, and use it with left click.

Thanks for playing! Contact me @snicklodocus on twitter or at my blog,

Downloads and Links




thopis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:16am

Beautiful!Great concept too!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:11am

Good entry, like the concept and fine-tuned controls. I expected some recursive gameplay with more and more detailed level, but still very good idea.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Hi there. I got very confused... the shimmering maze hurt my eyes... well like a good optical illusion does. Scored 27k odd first attempt... not sure how though, had two stars with me at 'end' but was that me winning or losing ? Got basically impossible to navigate maze after about first minute because all choices were zoomed out of screen range. Like the music.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Excellent concept. Hard game.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:41pm

The graphics made my eyes hurt haha, but i loved how continuous the screen was. Really smart concept. :D

Snicklodocus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Thanks for the comments so far! I went experimental with the art; sorry it hurt your eyes!

@mrexcessive: You get score for keeping the stars in view, so you want to guide the camera in such a way to keep them from going off screen. Having two with you at the end is good! I really wanted to make a better tutorial, but ran out of time!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:20am

Hmm, interesting concept, and it works pretty dang well. I especially like the feel of the artwork.

hbocao says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:22am

It was kinda confusing at firts, but it's a very interesting concept that could work on mobile. Good job!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:26am

Wasn't sure as to what powerups did or what the score meant. Graphics were nice and polished though. I really loved how it zoomed in on the player. It seemed to convey a cinematic feeling of helplessness.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Interesting game with a beautiful style. I like the scanlines, although they can make the game look like an optical illusion when zoomed out - or is that intentional?

I also think that the game seems very hard. Now I put that in such a vague way since I don't know how well players are supposed to do. I for one couldn't get past 28k points, never managed to have more than 3 stars on screen at the end and never had the time to collect even one power up. I can't judge whether the game is unbalanced or I just need practice so I'm not gonna knock off points for that.

Other than that small potential gripe, I'm loving it. Great job!

randomdragoon says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:56pm

It was a really cool concept, but the moire pattern at the intermediate zoom levels hurt my eyes :(

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Strangely compelling. At first it messed with my eyes, but I got over that and found myself enjoying the game. The music is really well matched with the game.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Awesome entry! I would just change the wall patterns to see everything better but other than that I loved the game and the mechanincs

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Really loved the art style and idea of this game, and with polished presentation like this it was great to play! Well done :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:53pm

Nice. Was a surprise the way the camera move to limit your movements and to make it more frenetic that could looks at beginning. Nice entry. Love the audio :D

killthealias says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:40am

Very well done, looks very nice, I was a little confused about the goal at first, but it made sense once I was through my first level. Very cool idea for sure!

sweenist says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Neat idea! Fun to play!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:31pm

reallly good game

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]