Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Cubenator

by Kuupu - Jam Entry

Jump, shoot, throw grenades, place cubes and destroy everything.
That is the idea.

You can place 5 different cubes.
Reflect - it shoots back to you.
Teleport - teleport the player to a random location.
Ammo - recovers the grenades.
Life - recovers the life.
Spike/Saw - causes damage on touch.

All the instruction are ingame, before you start to play.
(if your controllers doesn't work, close the game, setup your controllers, then open the game again)

Team:
Roni Silva (me) - Programming, Animation/Particles and SFX.
Carolina Porfirio - Art (almost everything).
Di Zapata - Music.

External tools:
A* Pathfinding Project - (base for our pathfinding/AI system)
Vector Chimera - (to change the Player2 sprite colors)
Tom Vian (Super Flash Bros) 2010 - (to make our SFX)

Engine: Unity3D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#10Fun(Jam)4.13
#21Overall(Jam)4.08
#30Audio(Jam)4.06
#89Graphics(Jam)4.25
#127Mood(Jam)3.65
#157Humor(Jam)3.38
#176Theme(Jam)3.93
#459Innovation(Jam)3.10

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Oh wow this game is addictive !

5you says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Prety cool ! But i didn't really understood how i can choose the object i use.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Sweet! Now I just need someone to play with :)

Slepice1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Amazing, AI stuck sometimes but thats just detail.

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Great graphics and audio! You've got the start of something interesting here. I like that there's an automatic demo with the title screen. Very old school that way.

The shooting part of the gameplay is incomplete. It's very shallow being locked horizontally like that. It's basically whoever has the highest health wins in a direct confrontation.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Absolutely incredible. The AI is surprisingly good, thought you can do a few things to exploit it.

exoddinary says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Awesome!!

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Gente! muito bom mesmo! os gráficos ficaram simples e as animações fluídas! muito show! a música e a sonorização tbm! Parabéns! é nózes kuupu!

Liam :D says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Me and a friend were talking about particle effects, and discussed one of your blog posts, which showed the blocks exploding. Wanted to play the game since then, glad I finally did! Well done, nicely polished. It feels like a finished game, or at least a vertical slice of one.

rodolfodth says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:13pm

awsome game :D continue to improve it, can be a good deal :D

vamoo :D

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:03pm

Man this game is fun!

runvs says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:13pm

This has truely towerfall style! Great gameplay and mechanics for the limited time of a gamejam. Plus writing an AI is quite impressive!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Feels nice, the movement and graphics reminded me of Cave Story.

zanenga says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Awesome! I can feel some Towerfall vibes, heheh. It could become a great party game. I hope you develop it further.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Very good game. One of my favorites!

allanolivei says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:42pm

awesome .. AI works very well and provides a good fight.

Adroitboss says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Awesome

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:44pm

It's very hard to stop playing xD Little AI improvement and maybe random generated levels and you have a great game :D

Mixer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Really fun and addicting game!

Dexyne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:00am

Great game, good graphics and sounds.

AI stop to move at times (probably to think about a devilish plan).
The gameplay is interesting too.

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13am

Holy crap! This is a lot of fun.

For some reason I just couldnt shoot anymore though? Not sure why.

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:44am

One word...amazing....

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:47am

I like the concept, but after a while there were some pretty frequent frame drops. Also, I wish health were over the player's heads so I could get a better feel of when I'm about to die, without having to look all the way at the top of the screen.

Dreii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:58am

I love it, you captured the essence of the type of game I was trying to make perfectly. Simple, quick paced, good game feel. Good job!

bakudas says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:17am

awesome :D

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:20am

Really cool game, I love the pixelart.

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

cinderous says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25am

Wow, really awesome. I had to pull myself away! I downloaded the windows version for some multiplayer fun next time I have someone over :) Art style is awesome, music is awesome, gameplay is stellar!

Andre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21am

Very fun!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52am

Very nice! And AI too!

brombatti says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44am

Jogo muito divertido! Animações bem feitas, partículas deixam o gameplay visualmente divertido e muito bem acabado. As mecânicas também ficaram bem interessantes. Parabéns pelo game! (;

UnionCorp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12am

wow, ficou bem interessante! o único ponto que eu destacaria que poderia ser aprimorado para uma versão futura é a AI do inimigo, que não consegue chegar ao topo da tela algumas vezes. E é, como alguém aqui abaixo falou, demorei um pouquinho pra perceber que bloco era o próximo que eu usaria mas ficou bem viciante! me divertindo bastante aqui xD

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:47am

Extremamente divertido! Musica viciante e gameplay viciantes, e apesar da IA travar um pouco eu ainda consegui perder pra ela =P!!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Whoa, this game is AWESOME!

stigmawall says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Imagina esse jogo com quatro pessoas, cada uma em um controle, numa tv? Ia ficar animal, hein? O jogo completo esta muito bom. A mecânica de criar blocos eu curti e a IA ta muito boa pra quem teve de implementa-la na Jam. Meus dois cents: se eu não me mexo, a IA também não, ou demora horrores para tomar uma decisão. NICE JOB!!! (y)

deyteris_team says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:33pm

One of the best at this LD Jam!

thiaguera says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:55pm

AWESOME!

Spilim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Nice entry =) Simple but fun as it should be, good thing you spend time creating an simple AI, otherwise it would have been harder to test the idea. It took me quite sometime to understand the blocks power though. The screenshake and details were what made the game a lot more entertaining also.
Bem, bom trabalho de qualquer jeito =)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Nice game - keyboard controls are hard, but xbox controller seems to be working fine. Other than that very addictive and challenging. (btw, once you downloaded my game, is it less laggy for you? Press [q] to toggle render - that might help)

Batataglin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Excelente!!!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Bloody brilliant.

rnlf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Looks and sounds beautiful!

Trixton says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:13am

2P would be more fun than that AI. I think having powerups that give more information visually as to what they are would be nice. Overall great job though.

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:05am

I had fun and the AI is really great!Have to play it with a friend!Beautiful!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:00pm

In short: This is awesome.

Long version:
Multiplayer "sandbox" platformer in 72 hours, simply amazing! This is as good as a game can be.
The graphics are nice, the audio is catchy and I'm sure it is infinite amount of fun to play with someone - I don't have anyone else here to play with at the moment.
Keep up the good work!

Purrfect, it is Kardfogú-approved.
Kardfogú of Creative Sectors, out.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:18pm

Well done, thanks.

Menesetsu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Very nice polished gameplay. I really liked it. Definetely will play it with a friend ;)

Blockers says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:38pm

woah! this is extremely fun. im gonna have to find an irl friend to try this with. love the sounds and in general this game feels great. also loving the title screen demo.

pegigante says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Fantastic! Congratulations.

Venturelli says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Best, most polished game I've seen on this LD so far! Congratulations :D

Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:46am

very creative! The block placing mechanic actually introduced quite a bit more tactical depth than I would have initially thought. Not all of the blocks made a ton of sense, though, in terms of their effects in battle.

Trite Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:56pm

What a great multiplayer game. Like the graphics, the sounds, the gameplay. The AI and to learn all the different block mechanics are a little hard for beginners, but maybe I'm just not good at this and need more practice ^^ Well done, putting it on Twitter :)

GFM says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:29am

I remember seeing some posts about the AI during the jam. Good to see you guys were able to do it. :)
Also, you guys really polished this! :)

It should be really fun when playing with friends. :)

FrederickK says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:56am

I found it very enjoyable! :)
Probably is much better with 2 players, but the CPU also works very nice for a Jam game!
Congratz!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:05pm

This looks really fun, i love the pixel art. The destructible block are awesome!

I want to plaaay, but i can't play unity games!!

igoramendola says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Pretty awesome and very well made!
Excellent work on graphics, sounds, gameplay, AI, etc.
Really nice entry :D

Vladik Plays says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Game crashed.. :C

Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:15pm

Really nicely polished, and some cool powerups

Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:18pm

^ also meant to say that particle effects and block destruction is really cool

Tuism says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:21am

Wow what a well polished set! Love the gameplay, the juice is amazing, the sounds and graphics, everything. It's basically a done deal :)

It plays a little unsophisticated though, despite all the options you have, it comes a lot down to who gets to face the opponent more often than the other, and that becomes a game of if you win the first exchange, you'll lose the next one, etc, etc.

Getting in a "lucky hit" with the grenade becomes pivotal, but it basically drifts in one direction + bounce, if you stay away from the other players' grenade zone you're likely fine...

Not sure if you can select weapons or what.

Oh and jump on the keyboard, imo, should be up (w), not space. Up is more intuitive on the keyboard.

Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:50pm

!!!!!!!!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Eventually we were both at the bottom, just shooting one another without much movement, so the fun had gone all away. Building bricks could be bigger, and restrict shooting somehow. Grenades weren't of much use, either.

Sounds are pretty good, and so are the graphics. A bit more of work refining the mechanics could go a long way. Good job!

ponk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Amazing :) !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]