Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Orbitalis

by acerunox - Compo Entry

Yea! I made it! It's the first time I made it for Compo, not Jam. I actually didn't have much time this weekend, so I made a really small, but hard game, because small game > no game. :)

I hope you'll like it! Don't forget to post how much you survived!

CONTROLS:
A/D to change directions.
W/S to ascend/descent.

My Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/acerunox

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#154Audio3.44
#393Overall3.35
#411Mood3.09
#451Humor2.63
#504Graphics3.16
#592Innovation3.08
#752Fun2.88
#830Theme3.38
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

obskyr says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:46pm

Isn't Orbitalis already the name of a Ludum Dare game? One that came out on Steam, even?

acerunox says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56am

Well, it looks like you're right. I really didn't have much time at the end and this was the first idea that came to my mind. I really wanted to submit it for Compo.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23am

Nice simple graphics. I wouldn't worry much about the name. It's fine ;)

Boehrsi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Simple and nice, but especially really hard!

Threef says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:49pm

I am happily surprised! It's simple and hard, but every element is polished! Great music, art and little things like end game screen.

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:32pm

An entertaining, hard-as-nails game that trolls you when you lose. Punishing but fun. My only complaint is the "3D" effect (I'm not sure if it's meant to be viewed with 3D glasses or not, but it's hard on the eyes) - it would be nice to have the option to turn it off. Otherwise, great work!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Challenging and fun game in the spirit of Super Hexagon! I really like it!
Some ideas to improve your game quality : try to display "seconds survived" on game over screen, and keep the music running.
Good work!

scnoobi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Would be nice to be able to have up/down to up arrow and down arrow. So it is not just all one hand.

Ryan Kline says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:19pm

This is awesome! extremely difficult, but awesome! Everything fits together nicely, the music and the visuals really mesh well, you have a consistent theme throughout, and on one screen no less! Neat.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

haaaaard! but good work :) played this for a good while trying to figure out the best tactic. made it past three waves but no more! :)

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Nice bit, and hard )

cardanai says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Cool game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Nice and simple.

Budi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Great clone of Flappy Bird, I can imagine it as a simple browser game. With sharing online scores onto Facebook, it could be really good "social game".

Nardom says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:27pm

The concept is interesting. But for my personal taste the game is a bit too challenging right away which takes away a bit of the fun. I rarely managed to survive longer than 10 seconds. Perhaps it would be nice to slowly increase the speed / difficulty.
The 3d effect as mentioned by someone else is a bit painful for the eyes.

That said, I really did like the concept. Good job!

resty says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:28pm

too hard...

fullmontis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35pm

For some reason I like these rhythm games but suck at them. The concept is interesting, very hard. Adding a little learning curve wuold make it a lot more fun.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:29pm

I survive 4 sec

jpmit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Nice, well done. I like the music and the moving around in particular.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Super challenging but fun, nice work!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:04pm

simple and clean graphics and gameplay. Really nice, goodjob!

killthealias says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:43am

This is my favourite type of game, one where it's incredibly hard to do well, but incredibly easy to try over and over again. Bravo, sir. This is a very good game.

Maybe a bit easier next time though?

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:57pm

I loved the "HAHAHA" game over screen most, I think. Very pretty, but I also echo the comments on allowing arrow + wasd so youre not controlling up/down and left/right with only one hand, and also continuing the music even at a game over screen - you'll start over a lot, so its kind of disruptive just to have the music start, stop, start, stop... all in all though it was fun, funny, and pretty!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]