Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screen One

by Ranmara - Jam Entry

○-SCREEN ONE-○

You are a deer working as an usher in Screen One of a 1940's era cinema populated by badgers, bunnies, weasels, squirrels, mice and foxes. Try to keep them happy by moving them to appropriate seats and dealing with troublesome customers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#22Graphics(Jam)4.59
#22Theme(Jam)4.38
#44Overall(Jam)3.98
#51Innovation(Jam)3.98
#58Humor(Jam)3.83
#72Mood(Jam)3.82
#101Audio(Jam)3.72
#146Fun(Jam)3.58

Comments

the-arrival says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:48am

Awesome graphics, but the speech bubbles are pretty hard to read. Overall nicely done!

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:50am

That was the worst movie-going experience I've ever seen unfold. Now for the game, this thing had style for days! What an awesome submission. This is one of the highest ratings I've ever given out. You should be extremely proud of what you did here. So cool.

March says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:00am

I really like the animations. It is so smoooth :)

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

Wow, this was great! I was terrible at first (even after reading the tutorial), but I was able to quickly figure out what was going on. You had an amazing interpretation of the theme, and the graphics and sounds were fantastic. I loved the dialogue coming from the animals, especially messages like the critic's "Saw that one coming!"

Oh, and icy that snowman hiding in the back. Snowbody can hide easter eggs from my cold stare! O_O

SirOtterlot says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

Really enjoyable game! Easy to pick up but satisfying to replay and fine-tune your strategy :) Great artwork and music too. Good work!

alfadur says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50am

Quite impressive collection of behaviors for the characters! No wonder it's very replayable, with all possible combinations to sit them around. Also the best use of theme I saw so far.

mortus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:22am

Great entry! I was expecting it to go more chaotic and was surprised when most of my customers actually stayed till the end. Levels system with longer movies (actually, shorter ones in the beginning) and specific cinema-world events would benefit this game I guess.

stasss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54am

Ver very nice! Great idea and super artwork

allurious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:58am

The graphics are really amazing - love all the designs! The music is great too and I loved the concept. I was pretty bad at the start but you get used to the interactions etc. Nice set of behaviours, animations and content, love this!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:01am

Loved it, loved it, loved it, LOVED IT! I only have two gripes: one, sound effects are a little scratchy-sounding (maybe you could do a post-comp version with some clearer voice clips?), and two, the characters' comments are a little hard to read. Other than that...this is a thing of beauty, and I hope to see an enhanced version in the future. :3

talecrafter says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:03am

Lovely idea and fabulous presentation.
I like the archetypes you have chosen a lot.
Sometimes missed the right lane to enter. Visual representation of the state could be a little clearer.

Valeour says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25am

Really good game! Amazingly polished. Confusing at times, but I can imagine it being pretty great with time invested. Probably worth releasing :)
Art style is lovely.

gmaker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42am

I loved graphics. And cool idea for the theme. Good job!

Insality says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:44am

haha- nice game
so sweety to play this:D
amazing

Tonasz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Wow, amazing game. Very fun to play, innovative (never seen similar idea!), super polished, funny, ahh! Fantastic :)

jhice says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Nicely done and original. A bit stressing and confusing sometimes (going to wrong row or seeing exactly what is going on).

A good entry :)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Same of those viewers are really careless haha! Awesome Game Love everything about it! although it did seem a little too cluttered, at some points i felt like i had no idea why they were leaving

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Love it. Really good idea and the execution is excellent.

gronkwena says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Thanks for the feedback guys! Art postmortem here :- http://ludumdare.com/compo/2014/12/09/screen-one-post-mortem-sams-perspective/

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Pros:
- I love the idea! I always like this games that simulates managing real life situations
- The graphics are lovely, the characters, the scenario and specially the icons
- The background music is really good and matches with the ambient

Cons:
- All the sound effects are SO ANNOYING!! Specially the beep when you press space bar
- I think the rules in the beginning could be avoided with a mini tutorial just showing each character and its characteristic

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Interesting take on the theme, and innovative concept. Don't think I've ever seen anything where you seat customers in a movie theater. Nice job.

DA_KID says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53pm

It's a really interesting game, and a pretty good one, but it's a bit cluttered and hard to maneuver to get to the people you want to get to. Nice interpretation of the theme.

biscuitWizard says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:54pm

This game was bloody adorable. The cute animal people made it.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Nice work! Sweet artstyle and sounds. Get surprisingly hectic towards the end. Great take on the theme

MurrayL says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Great little game, although I hope no-one ever has to endure that kind of cinema experience!

Perhaps a little too hectic - it felt like I spent the entire game just fighting fires, and never had time to think about moving people around to 'better' seats.

indie4fun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Lovely art!
The sounds are a bit annoying sometimes.... but the music is cool! The deer animation is really funny.

cyrus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Great art style. Really well-rounded game. Personally, I did not enjoy the gameplay so much.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Wonderful artwork!

lemmily says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Like it :D stressful cinema experience for sure! haha. Neat idea and the graphics and audio tie really nicely together

GarethIW says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I like the music and graphics, Good game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00pm

This was great. I found that it got easier the less people there were in the theater (;

dunin says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:09am

really like the idea, it would be a cool puzzle game!
(some bugs: I don't have sound :( and the womens that move all the time are always displayed before me, so I was confused, I did not know in which row I was...)

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Very nice graphics and funny gameplay.
Also a creative idea - I like!

Well done!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Love the feels. Brilliant.

Kitch says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:19am

Really nice entry. Art and sound effects were fab, and a really cool concept. Good job!

farwyler says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:09pm

Great graphics, I realy enjoy this game!

MaesK says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Great graphics and mechanic! Those damn foxes can't stop making calls :D Even text font was really appropiate to its style

Chris M says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:38pm

We threw around an idea based in a cinema at our Beijing meetup, so glad to see not only did somebody do it, but did it so well! The art style, the sublime music, the well planned mechanics, so much of this has been knocked out the park and halfway to Jupiter. My only criticisms are around UX- sometimes it was hard to see what aisle you needed to walk down, and what creature in particular was causing a ruckus. Maybe a smaller but wider gird/ cinema would help make this clearer. Another point was that the film length was a little long. A short experience I could replay would feel more comfortable, especially while I'm trying to figure out what's going. Lastly it's hard to know how well I did with the points system. Maybe a briefing or newspaper review would add a sense of closure to the experience? Well done!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

Really cool idea! The game looks & sounds great, I'm really impressed

redoxkun says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:49am

Great idea and good graphics. When people talk was a bit difficult to see but for the rest a good game.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

The atmosphere in this game is just darling! I wish that the gameplay were a bit improved. I feel like there were too many customers, not enough empty seats, and things happened too infrequently for my input to matter. I left the game untouched for periods of time, only needing to do something when a phone started ringing. The changing seats mechanic never came into play.
Also, the movie is way too long. I'd rather do two or three short levels of escalating difficulty in the time it took to do one long one.
Still, this game has a lot of charm, so great job!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Simple idea, turned to be entertaining and just enough hard to manage to keep me on until the end of the movie. Good job. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]