Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Galaxia

by greysphere - Compo Entry

How much can you fit on one screen? How about the entire galaxy! Starting from a single planet, do you have what it takes to conquer it all?!?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#108Theme4.09
#140Overall3.69
#200Fun3.51
#313Humor2.88
#322Mood3.21
#456Graphics3.24
#601Innovation3.07

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:35am

I like :D very fun idea

daftcube says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

The idea is hilarious. I love idle-styled games. Nice execution and idea!

stephenhaney says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:07am

I enjoyed Galaxia - nice interface, and really nice twist on the theme. The initial grind to get some resources was a bit long (I AFK'd to let my numbers grow, but then science became a bottle neck). Overall a great entry!

pixelguff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12am

This is great!

FerraWare says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:33am

Nice!

pleepleep23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56am

Love it. Gave me a good cookie clicker vibe.

bnmkt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:19am

THE SECOND cookie-clicker-like i've see today :3 the concept is really interessant ! :3

igneousmoon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:27am

I'm really enjoying this, I've been compulsively playing for nearly 40 mins. I want to control the galaxy!

greysphere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

@igneousmoon. You should post your time when you finish!

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:40am

Loved this one! I love these kind of idle management games, and I found the idea of taking over the galaxy one minuscule percentage point at a time hilarious!

liquidminduk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:00am

I finished! would be nice to have a (yey you win, 100%_ also the higher numbers cover almost the entire screen/

Some visual representation on the image of the galaxy for the "spread" would be nice too, altogether very well executed!

liquidminduk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:02am

^ took me about an hour

Shivur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:03am

That's what we call a factorial factory! Nice game, took a while by I finally got 100%.

greysphere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:06am

@liquid - Thanks for playing! Awesome that you control the whole galaxy! Yep, victory screen is at the top of my list (followed by audio, large number display - something better than 'a lot', better factory of factories ui and filling in the tech tree after 100k science). I finished what's in there just in time so a few things didn't quite make the cut. I hadn't even finished the game legit w/o cheat keys before the deadline, haha. Thanks for the feedback!

greysphere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:09am

@shivur: "Factorial Factory" - that sounds like a great name for tech upgrade. Grats on controlling the entire galaxy!

Jqmfg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:30am

Very fun game. Haven't played all the way through it yet, but I really enjoy the game and the progression. I would really like to see the ability to make AT LEAST factories of colony ship factories because you have to really grind out those colony ship factories. Great game overall though.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:37am

Damn, i've played this for too long. Nice interface!

Lynx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:40am

I played this for WAY too long! Lol! Good job

greysphere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:48am

@jqmgf - factories of colony ship factories you say... ;)

victorafael says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:52am

I usually doesn't like idle games..
but I really enjoyed the way you made me keep on the game... TO increase the dawn percentage! really liked the game!

Mopz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54am

Didn't run in my browser (Internet Explorer 11, Windows 8). Did not score the game, of course :)

greysphere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:06am

@Mopz: Interesting. I just tried it in IE 11/win 7 and it just worked. Hmm... I uploaded a Windows build for folks who are having trouble with the web version.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:08am

Fun idea, well implemented. Would be nice with a more graphical growth for each planet discovered! Though overall a very good game! Thanks for making it!

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:31am

This is really good man, keep it up!

uvwar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57am

Where are the cookies?! Cool game though, just needs some mellow music and perhaps some more frantic clicking/numbers flying everywhere!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:06am

I ended up getting sucked into this game for like 45 mins lol. Great work!

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28am

Wow I love it, I never liked cookies. But you had to use my fav genre. Please let me know, if you do any more work or updates on this. @JaysonWerner twitter.

Needs some relaxing music :P

Keep up the good work.

Windows:
log.txt - Can't load xpack file: 'Space.xpack'

Soron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:06am

I have a mine factory factory factory factory factory (...I think). Recursion ftw!

btw, download the standalone version. Depending on your browser, the web version might not play in the background :(.

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05am

WELP, there goes all my free time...
I'm in love with this~

Maurogik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:23am

Just my kind of game, gathering ressources for the sake of... well gathering ressources ! Great job !

Aisland says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:10am

The concept is great, well done!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:19am

Interesting idea. Would be better if the waiting time was reduced.

Johan Blade says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:19am

Great Take on the cookie clicker typpe game.

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:37am

I really really like it. Very well done!
Nice interface. Simple and intuitive.


Some suggestion for improvements:
- make numbers more readable (delimiter!)
- needs a challenging gameplay element (events? some game parameters to balance?)
- help texts for building and research (it's not always clear what effects a research has)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:10am

Haha this made me laugh, it makes you feel very small :)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:13am

Spent a lot more time on this than I should... Great work! actually, I am going to confess here, I am leaving it running whilst I rate other games :D I am on 0000...0028% at the moment and aiming for ALL THE SCIENCE! with a bit of audio clicking and a nice subtle soundscape song over it, this would be incredible. Still amazing though. great execution

peeweek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:46am

Awesome, It totally stole away about 20 minutes of my life. I ended up doubling my empire. VICTORY!!!! Tonight ill be at 100% according to the plan :D

Great Job btw i totally love the gameplay.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:54am

Minimalistic and well done!

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Playing almost for an hour and counting :D Addicting as hell! And very very well done!

gre says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Cool idea.
Interesting simulation of the spacial conquest.
Very addictive actually.

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:36pm

This is too much addictive! i played by hours!
I love this type game! but lacks music and sound! Simple and intuitive interface. =) great!

Todnut says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Wow this is fun. So much for getting any work done today!

NightRavn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I love therse kinds of games, but one vital part is to have them going when the the browser/tab is not active. It pauses when I am using another tab in the same browser.

Otherwise it's an interesting take on these games. :)

Jayson says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:25pm

I have a tendency to go overboard...
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3YZUKrCmCmNdVBuOEdZNjY0aEk/view?usp=sharing

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:49pm

I don't know if it's normal, but I had an overflow with planets, which suddenly dropped to zero, after factory^25 I think :(

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Nice Galaxy, I'll take it

PAO says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Played a lot, well done!
Maybe a small bug in the 'change factory type' after everthing is avaiable. tha last line is 'factory' and you can't click on it.
very good anyway.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Great entry, the graphics are very neat and the gameplay is very addictive
But I encoutered no production bottlenecks and I have been clicking rather randomly without much planning

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:54pm

*ahem* current progress....:

http://i285.photobucket.com/albums/ll44/Critical-/lolthatsscience_zps91edfa61.png

I guess i'd better give you 5 stars, lol!!

Kevin_twenty7 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Its like cookie clicker but awesomer.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Ridiculously addictive, and the saying that you control so little of the galaxy puts an interesting mood. Very solid (though I would've liked more animations

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Nice little time waster game, shame that the web version won't play in the background - pretty much a must for this kind of game.

S0rax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:52pm

This set me thinking about cookie clicker, and I like that

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Brilliant idea! Execution is pretty good as well. Awesome job on this one

Sundry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Sorry but I found this boring. I think I have missed the point!

koujaku says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Ooooh, I love these games, got me hooked!

Sublustris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Great !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Clicks. Lots of clicks. Click click click.

Sublustris says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:15pm

One of the best clickers i've ever seen :)

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:47pm

I got to a number of colony ships that went through the Research, but it stopped growing and now I am unable to send out colony ships. My number of planets now says "0".

Beerman says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Excellent, really enjoyed playing this. The nested factory factory factories are a great idea.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Now that I've played it for a while, i ran into a bug where the planets suddenly drops to 0. Maybe the numbers are just overloading the system, lol

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Great idea! Really enjoyed conquering the galaxy bit by bit!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Fun little game. It's a bit grindy. It was hard to see what was having an effect on what. Did launching probes increase science?

Quylthulg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:19pm

The beginning was a slog. Factories of factories were amusing, but overall presentation broke down as game progressed as numbers overflowed all boundaries and jumped around due to the variable width font.

IzaacRogers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24pm

super addicting

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

I like it! Really unique concept!

greysphere says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:03pm

There seems like a case where you have colonized all your scouted planets and are unable to build probes because you are building colony ships and filling up your launch pads. (I thought I handled this by having probes build before colony ships, but I must have screwed it up). If you build launch pads though you can normally get out of this trap.

Thanks for the feedback, I'll look into correcting that case for a post-compo build.

error031 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:20pm

I never thought i will spend this much time playing this. Great job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Pure and neat. I like it. Well done ++

spazzarama says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:01pm

lots of clicking, not sure if there are limits to # mines, great take on the theme. Would've liked some mellow music to chill to.

Xe11os says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19pm

100%, can I stop the Factories now? Otherwise the Galaxy will be overrun by Probes and ships.
I liked the game a lot. It took me a few minutes to realize, that "A Lot" didn't mean I could not build it, but that was just me (It was not greyed out, so I could have seen it).

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:22pm

I'm a sucker for these kinds of games. Nice work!

mechabit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

nice idle game, bit too much clicking though

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:59pm

I liked it a lot. The concept definitely deserves expanding!

goblin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:13am

Hey! it's little "spore"! haha nice game, look mi idea!! :)

greysphere says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:30am

@goblin - funny you should mention that, I worked on Spore and wrote a bunch of the code for the galaxy view (though I can't take that much credit for the art itself, that was our art directory Ocean). It was a huge inspiration for the look of this galaxy though!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:53am

What a tremendously addictive game! nice work!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:02am

This is really inspiring! It has much more depth than every other idle game.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:09am

Factory Factory seems to be bugged, just fyi.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29am

nevermind; figured it out

Kitch says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:45am

Certainly interesting.. Little candy box meets conquering the galaxy kind of thing.

Only criticism would on the pacing. I could see a faster pace, and that might work... but a slower pace would be awesome, so I could have this running in my other window while I played other games. But.. that's just me still wishing for my perfect netflix watching game. :)

Overall good job! Thanks!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:04am

I'm still playing this game (its running in another tab :))

really impressed with this game. Mondo idea! Love games like this.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:53am

Fun, but a bit boring after waiting around a while.

erebusman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:44am

Very nice idea; game play felt a bit 'slow' paced but overall simple and easy to pick up. Nice job.

Empyrealhell says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:07am

The pacing definitely feels off. There is a lot of progress at the beginning, but I've run out of things to do, and I'm only eight digits into that percentage bar. It's going to be a lot of waiting, or just ton of buying factories on a cooldown, with nothing really interesting going on.

Other than the pacing problems, this works really well. The unfolding of the new abilities as time goes on is really nice. I like the quadratic approach to generation with the factory factories, the interface is clean and easy to read (minus the big numbers), and overall it's a good take on the idle genre.

kraln says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Must... keep... clicking...

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Great game, played for over an hour until my finger hurts, but i couldn't conquer the galaxy :(

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:05pm

This is so addictive!! Good job! :D

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Very cool. A lot of depth, and the expansion ramp feels quite smooth.

personalurban says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Nice piece of work! SImple, clean, addictive and fun. I feel its now in a position to take a good look at the progression paths to add a little more variety and pacing. I've paid a couple of quid for far far worse games, Galaxia gets a solid thumbs up

wooltech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Fun cookie clicker style game. Great use of the theme. I'll prob leave it running in the background in work tomorrow to finish it. :)

recursor says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Argh! Can't...stop...clicking. Must..close..browser.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:13pm

Played this for longer than most other LD games I've tried. I would take that as a good sign :D

komjaur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:25am

i hate u.my favorite game so far :D

RedPanda says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:44am

Such a good clicker game! So much more better than mine :D

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:50am

I can't stop clicking! Fun take on the "endless clicker" genre. I found the counter at the bottom quite amusing. Will definitely let this keep running in my browser. Graphics are clean and crisp, just the way I like it.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:01am

Nice idea. I'm not really fond of these types of games. Some sound and music would of been nice.

Anikki says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:05am

Well executed!

Mikel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:09am

:-D awesome... I control 2exp-42 of the galaxy !!! the game makes you feel great with a simple and self-explained mechanics... and get you addicted easily ... how much I have to wait to have all elements? :-)
needs a save state option :-)

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:13am

Didn't expect an idle game in here. Nice game :)

radmars says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:14am

my clicky finger hurts so much now, nice!

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:26am

How you managed to work with such big numbers system in a 48 application is beyond me, amazing job. Overall game is good although I would like more instructions on exactly what does what. Also compact theses numbers in M/B/T or evem E notation would help.

greysphere says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:33am

@LTYrosine: I ended up writing a handful of BigInt functionality (it's at the top of the source). I only implemented a handful of the operations, and ended up doing the higher level factory prices as shift-lefts rather than multiplies because I didn't have time to implement multiplication! Also in my noobity, I implemented BigInt printing at the very end and couldn't figure a good way to go from Array<Uint> -> string without going first through Array<DecimalDigit> so believe it or not I ended up with 2 BigInt implementations, one represented as uint32[5] and one as a char[64] of decimal digits, each with different instructions implemented, hahaha!

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:00am

Looks like we've got the next Cookie Clicker here. You've truly brought idling to a whole new level. I can't say I'm glad.

It seems you can't send all of your colony ships at once if you have more than millions. I don't know if that's intentional. It's disappointing though.

I think you should have all of the digits in the font be of equal width so it is easy and at later stages, possible, to determine what order of magnitude you are on. Do I have quadrillions of launch pads or septillions? I can't tell; the number keeps changing width every second.

otaviogood says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:49am

It's like progress quest combined with cow clicker!

Polyganz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:59am

lovely game!

Catwheel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:51am

This game was really fun. I felt it would be nice to see a color spread over the galaxy as you gain control. Or perhaps, an image of how big your civilization is, or both! A note though, after a while, the game seemed to become just factory making, which kind of dragged out :p still has a good time!

panda says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:02am

WOW, this game is a lot more captivating that it seems it has any right to be! I love the "factory factory" idea! I didn't get to conquer the galaxy, though, at some point I mysteriously had 0 planets! And I couldn't produce probes anymore! It looked like some sort of overflow as all the numbers were ridiculously big, to the point of covering some of the text. Overall, an awesome job!

greysphere says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:13am

@panda: I think there's a bug where if you have a ton of colony ship factories and fewer launch pad factories you can keep filling up your pads with colony ships before you produce probes. You should be able to build high tier launch pad factories to dig yourself out of it. (I had thought I handled this case by building probes before colony ships each tick but obviously i messed something up). Thanks for the feedback and ill get it fixed in the next build.

MonoS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:13am

Mhe, not a really interesting idea, at a first sight seems very interesting but after a while became boring.

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:57am

Very classic gameplay mechanic but addictive as hell :D
Great job.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Hi there. Nice implementation of clickbaited game... Really wanted to get to 0.000...02% but couldn't wait for science. Bookmarked for another play sometime when watching all of lord of the rings films or whole of breaking bad again or something like that. Shame no sounds! Scary how addictive this type of game is. Good job!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Interstellar: The game. Awesome! Got me hooked!

Aree Vanier says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Really fun and addicting. Could barely stop playing.

Pete_H says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Had me totally drawn in, loved it, still playing :) Tooltips on the buttons would be handy!

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Cool concept, like the sense of humor. I think this game would benefit from saving data locally, it seems like the kind of game that you play over a duration of time, not just in one sitting. Might be something to look into!

blackmagic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:50am

Haha got hooked quickly, and I'm glad I played until the end. It made me laugh :)

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Very addictive. Dammit clic games :-P

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Well that's a first - a clicker game I've played for more than a minute! This is actually pretty great. With some flashier graphics and maybe some ambient music I think you'd have a winner here. Think I'll leave that tab open for a bit. :)

flyingbear says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:39pm

What an awesome premise! (Who doesn't want to control 100.000000000000000000000% of the galaxy?) It's such a tantalizing and easy-to-understand goal, especially seeing that minuscule 0.000000000...00000001% number. When I first started playing, the clicks felt a bit meaningless, but I soon figured out what does what. The moment it really started to draw me in was when I realized you have to balance what ratio of mines/launchpads/probes you had. I really appreciated how it's not just mindless clicking and everything progresses you forward like it is in some other more baked goods-y games. I've been sucked in this kind of game before, and you definitely got me here.

I loled at "factory factory", and the moment you realize you can build a factory of factory factories is just gold. The underlying beauty of this game is that it really gives you an appreciation of scale, of just what all those zeros mean. Stellar job on this!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Fantastic game. Really intruiging use of recursive factories, and there's some thought provoking implications concerning the score.

Score stopped recording after 9.something%, but I did snag this shot of my score: http://i.imgur.com/wmYRLcC.png

I'd try and make more use of science in the later stages of the game. (Unless you're making a statement about the limits of scientific epistemology, in which case, kudos!)

Great work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:05am

i like this game - want to play it some more - great interface

codeapparat says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:42am

Ohh, a clicker game, wonderful! :) It's great and i love how it spirals completely out of control once you get those factory-facotries and suddenly building literally trillions of colony ships a second is no big deal. I seriously wanted to get to 100% (does anything happen when you do?) but stopped when it had my CPU running at 100% for it's computations. I had 3502770349245690982 planets at this point. :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Excellent interpretation on the theme. So huge. So many 0s.

hbocao says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:59am

I don't know why but I was willing to get 100% and see what would happen. Unfortunately the game bugged when I was about to control 0.1% of the galaxy. :) I had fun with it because I had to control and calculate what was the best thing to buy at that moment. It reminded me of an Android app called "Make It Rain: Love of Money". Nice concept! Tooltips would had been nice!

redoxkun says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Very good idea, but I would add some enemies, think that would be funnier :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Cool thing. Took me a while to figure out how what was going on, but I like the "whole galaxy on one screen" connection to the theme!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:13pm

OMG I GOT STUCK LIKE HALF AN HOUR LOOKING AT A GALAXY
I really like this game! Well done.

But.. The lack of audio is a little disappointing.. sorry ^^'

edve98 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I was playing this way too long.... Oh wait, I'm still playing it :D
Anyway, really awesome idea and game!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Nice time waster :)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:53pm

Reached 100.00...% Yeah !
Ok, that's a compulsive player game.
Well done. :D

Zambini says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:24am

Incremental games are great! You did a good job on this one (yay space!)

My one piece of feedback is it's hard to know what does what initially. Some stats/mouse-overs would be great for this style of game

tmpxyz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:40am

idle-style game, nice one.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:24pm

It certainly draws you in. Good work.

swedishbacon says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Nice UI

darthballs says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:25pm

I clicked too much and got arthritis!

good game

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I like it that the game almost always has achievement of another magnitude to reach. One thing I'd like the game to add is to put a resource limit based on how much of the galaxy you control and once resource limit is reached, mine growth and other things will slow down very significantly.

flouiz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I abandoned at 0.0000...1452643505% haha Quite nice, just missing a little music :p

phaze112 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:53am

I conquered the galaxy! Very amusing game for such simple gameplay.

monika says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:31am

At 0.0012%, all my numbers started overflowing and it stopped letting me send out colony ships. I was so close!

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Loads a bit slow.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:34pm

Nice game, played for almost one hour, didn't beat it :)

Some suggestions for improvements:
- the numbers were always displayed significant (1456e10 for instance)
- there was more research (after that the
- review the factory factory UI : auto select the factory level you can afford ?
- we could pause the colony ship building if we have no planets and no launchpad available
- more sounds/graphics :)

Vandash says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:50am

just brilliant :)

Valandre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Very fun entry, good concept!

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Neat UIs, generally a drive to control more of the galaxy - however small your portion is. Lacking sound, it got a little boring after a while. Unobtrusive, ambient noises could have been nice. Pretty nice entry, but a little slow.

MaesK says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Awesome game, I lost my sanity with the 16th factory-factory-factory-factoring :D Maybe more ten minutes and the galaxy would have been mine. Nice job, this game perfectly explains exponential growth.

Now I understand the burocratic nightmare Asimov described in the planet Trantor in Foundation series. Must be difficult to control such an empire, with 25 million worlds! Or even more! :S

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]