Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

MousyDare

by Sri Harsha Chilakapati - Compo Entry

This is my first LD, so this might not be the best, but I can assure you that you'll enjoy this. A very short 'n' sweet game.

Requires Java 7 to play.

The concept of this game is the life of a mouse, you need to satisfy your hunger and return home safe. Here are the tools I've used to make this game.

- Mercury 2D game library - http://mercurylib.com/
- Bfxr.net (audio)
- BeepBox.co (music)
- GIMP (art)
- IntelliJ IDEA 13.1 (IDE)

If you do like this game, please give me ratings.. Criticisms welcome too, I want to learn from my games, and finally, thanks LudumDare, this is the first game I've ever completed! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#626Humor2.39
#768Fun2.86
#798Audio2.24
#860Overall2.90
#927Graphics2.52
#959Mood2.44
#1022Theme3.10
#1081Innovation2.24
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:12am

Avast does not like your game at all... (blocked as a virus) sorry, couldn't play :-(

Zabuza says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:21am

Fun little collectathon game. :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:23am

@Interface:
Please try to download the .jar version. Maybe an issue with JarSplice but I'm sure it's a false positive.

http://goharsha.com/downloads/ld31/MousyDare.jar

JNyknn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Not bad, but that music hurt my ears...

Resonious says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Not the most innovative or interesting entry, but it is solid, and I have seen worse!

IcyLava says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Fun little game, I guess my best advice would be to work on the graphics a bit more. Good work :)

raincole says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Gameplay is fine, but the music gets annoying quickly.

CheeseyBob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Great little game with really cute graphics!

TimtheBo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Nice music. The game is a bit repetative and could have been more challenging.
(Also, as a personal preference, i like WASD)

atombrot says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Quite simple and quickly completed but well done for a first entry. The music is really a bit annoying. Thanks that you have implemented the window resizing. P

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:36pm

The window resizing is quite hacky, Mercury doesn't support it. So don't expect the splash screens to resize properly.

jeepracer98 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:50am

The Linux link downloaded an sh file for me, but I couldn't view its contents, it kept just crashing Scratch(text editor) for me. I ran the OSX version with the jar file instead and it worked great.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:38am

@jeepracer98, The linux link is a self-extracting shell script that contains the JAR file. That's why the editor crashed. I provided that as an easy means of running the game, since you can just use ./MousyDare.sh in the Terminal or Console and it launches automatically.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Nice first LD game. Need to have left yourself some more time for polish and testing.

shyupuff says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Really nice job on teaching the player mechanics. Some of the tutorials are a bit unnecessary imo. A "Less is More" kind of thing. Lots of levels. Nice job :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]